Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 21, 2008, 02:50 AM   #1
chrono1081
macrumors 604
 
chrono1081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Isla Nublar
If you have to program for windows...which IDE do you prefer?

I have to program for windows but I love using my mac. Right now I am unable to install bootcamp and vmware and create a virtual machine to run Visual Studio so I currently have Netbeans on my mac. My question is to anyone who is in a similar situation which IDE do you prefer to use on mac if you have to do windows programming?

Apologies in advance if this is covered in another thread. I didn't see anything using forum search.
__________________
Mac Pro (2010): 3.33Ghz Intel Xeon (6 core) - 24 GB RAM - NVidia Quadro k5000
Macbook Air (2010): 2.13 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM
chrono1081 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2008, 08:19 AM   #2
lee1210
macrumors 68040
 
lee1210's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Dallas, TX
I try to to stick to cross-platform tools when available. I like netbeans and am warming up to eclipse. You weren't very precise on what you are programming, so that might change some people's responses. Windows programming means Win32 or perhaps .NET, even though the Mono project has brought it to other platforms. In some cases you may be unable to link against the libraries you need since they are unavailable on OS X.

-Lee
lee1210 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2008, 08:21 AM   #3
Eraserhead
macrumors G4
 
Eraserhead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: UK
If you are programming for .NET or Win32 you'll need to be on Windows, and I imagine Visual Studio would be the best bet.

Btw why can't you use Bootcamp? Are you still on PPC?
__________________
If they have to tell you every day they are fair you can bet they arent, if they tell you they are balanced then you should know they are not - Don't Hurt me
Eraserhead is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2008, 11:51 PM   #4
chrono1081
Thread Starter
macrumors 604
 
chrono1081's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Isla Nublar
Oops my bad. I am programming C++ using SDL. I can eventually put bootcamp and vmware but right now my windows disk is in another country on its way to me.

I will be using win32 soon so I figured I'm better of programming in windows. I just really like mac os and would rather program on it
__________________
Mac Pro (2010): 3.33Ghz Intel Xeon (6 core) - 24 GB RAM - NVidia Quadro k5000
Macbook Air (2010): 2.13 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo - 4GB RAM
chrono1081 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For which tasks do you PREFER using an iPad to a Macbook Air. jastevenson iPad 34 Apr 4, 2011 08:38 AM
Would you like to see this? EdChambo Mac Applications and Mac App Store 10 Jan 14, 2011 02:44 PM
If you had to choose, which Windows Virtualization... emp1re OS X 2 May 1, 2010 11:21 AM
If you have an idea for an app and your friend can program it agkm800 Community Discussion 12 Oct 22, 2009 08:27 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:40 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC