Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 23, 2008, 09:07 AM   #1
Xilmwa
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
No coverflow in iTunes?

Ok, I recently upgraded my PowerMac G4 to Leopard. It is the Graphite Model, except with a 1.4 GHz processor upgrade and 1.38 GB of RAM.

In Tiger, I could use coverflow just fine in iTunes. Even fairly fast. Leopard is letting me use coverflow in Finder, but not iTunes.

So, what's going on?
Xilmwa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2008, 11:13 AM   #2
edgew8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
open up iTunes and press +shift+3 and then post the screenshot , maybe I can help you from there.
edgew8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2008, 11:16 AM   #3
Xilmwa
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
How about +Shift+4 Space?
Thumb resize.

Last edited by mkrishnan; Dec 24, 2008 at 01:38 PM. Reason: TIMG
Xilmwa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2008, 11:23 AM   #4
edgew8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Hmmm.. a few more questions

1) What kind of Graphics card to you have?

2) have you tried reinstalling iTunes or downloaded a new version?
edgew8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2008, 11:26 AM   #5
Xilmwa
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgew8 View Post
Hmmm.. a few more questions

1) What kind of Graphics card to you have?

2) have you tried reinstalling iTunes or downloaded a new version?
It still has it's original ATI Rage Pro 128 with 16 MB of VRAM, which I expected was the problem, except for the fact that I can do this:
Thumb resize.
at full speed.

Answer to number 2, no I haven't tried reinstalling, however, I upgraded to iTunes 8 along with Mac OS X 10.5.6 yesterday.

Last edited by mkrishnan; Dec 24, 2008 at 01:38 PM. Reason: TIMG
Xilmwa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2008, 11:35 AM   #6
edgew8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I do believe that leopard has no problem with coverflow in finder with that gfx card even if it is sluggish, but iTunes may be a different story. The ATI Rage cards might not meet the requirements for the newest version of iTunes. Try using and older version of iTunes

http://mac.oldapps.com/itunes.php
edgew8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2008, 11:40 AM   #7
Xilmwa
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgew8 View Post
I do believe that leopard has no problem with coverflow in finder with that gfx card even if it is sluggish, but iTunes may be a different story. The ATI Rage cards might not meet the requirements for the newest version of iTunes. Try using and older version of iTunes

http://mac.oldapps.com/itunes.php
Well, that's just it. I was running iTunes 8 with coverflow perfectly fine on Tiger, only after I upgraded did I start to see a bit of problem.
Xilmwa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2008, 11:51 AM   #8
edgew8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I kinda feel bad I am the only one helping you. I am trying my best.

I would do a direct download from the apple website of iTunes. Sometimes getting updates from the automatic updater can be problematic. It that does not help, I am out of ideas other than buying a little bit better graphic card

also this may be a new bug in version 10.5.6 of Leopard
edgew8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2008, 12:24 PM   #9
Xilmwa
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgew8 View Post
I kinda feel bad I am the only one helping you. I am trying my best.

I would do a direct download from the apple website of iTunes. Sometimes getting updates from the automatic updater can be problematic. It that does not help, I am out of ideas other than buying a little bit better graphic card

also this may be a new bug in version 10.5.6 of Leopard
I did try downloading straight from Apple just a few minutes ago.

Oh, I would love to get a new video card, but I don't know if it would be compatible.

Obviously, I would need one with Mac firmware, however, the video card I have has been flashed by some Sonnett utility whenever the processor upgrade was put in, so yea, I'm not 100% sure how to do that.
Xilmwa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2008, 05:54 PM   #10
slapguts
macrumors 6502a
 
slapguts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
I did the update today as well, and mine is doing the exact same thing.

I'm on a hackintosh, though. Figured that might be the problem. If you're on a Mac, and having the same problem...
__________________
2010 MacBook Air 1.86ghz, 2gb RAM  Samsung 22" external monitor  iMac G5 1.6ghz  iPhone 5 - White  Airport Extreme  2tb hard drive  Harman Kardon Soundsticks II  HP Deskjet 6540 printer.
slapguts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2008, 01:36 PM   #11
Xilmwa
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by slapguts View Post
I did the update today as well, and mine is doing the exact same thing.

I'm on a hackintosh, though. Figured that might be the problem. If you're on a Mac, and having the same problem...
There are variables for that.
What is your video card (especially VRAM)
What is your Processor?
Xilmwa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2008, 01:39 PM   #12
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Just throwing a random idea out there, but does iTunes still recognize that the cover art is there? I mean, does it show it to you in "Get Info" or in the lower left cover art pane?
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2008, 01:59 PM   #13
Xilmwa
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mkrishnan View Post
Just throwing a random idea out there, but does iTunes still recognize that the cover art is there? I mean, does it show it to you in "Get Info" or in the lower left cover art pane?
Well, it never did recognize most of it because most of it wasn't there, however, the ones that were are still there in grid mode.
Xilmwa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2008, 11:11 PM   #14
slapguts
macrumors 6502a
 
slapguts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xilmwa View Post
There are variables for that.
What is your video card (especially VRAM)
What is your Processor?
Intel Integrated 64mb VRAM, on a 1.6 Duo-Core.

Every album still has it's cover art (I'm kind of anal about it), it shows in grid, and the preview, on the iPod, and iPhone. Just not in iTunes Coverflow.
__________________
2010 MacBook Air 1.86ghz, 2gb RAM  Samsung 22" external monitor  iMac G5 1.6ghz  iPhone 5 - White  Airport Extreme  2tb hard drive  Harman Kardon Soundsticks II  HP Deskjet 6540 printer.
slapguts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2008, 09:40 AM   #15
kanihoncho
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Cover flow and ATI cards

I also recently upgraded to iTunes 8.02 and 10.5.6. Coverflow used to work fine prior to the upgrade.

I have an ATI Radeon 9000 Pro card and have researched the problem online. It seems with iTunes 7 PC users had a lot of problems with hardware acceleration. Apple discussion has been useless so far.

I'm beginning to think it's the video card. Not the card really but apple's coding for itunes and how it interfaces with the video cards. Just my theory . . .
kanihoncho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2008, 09:50 AM   #16
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by kanihoncho View Post
I'm beginning to think it's the video card. Not the card really but apple's coding for itunes and how it interfaces with the video cards. Just my theory . . .
So from your research, does everyone who has that ATI card find that they can't get coverflow, or just some people (which would suggest some changeable intervening factor)? It seems odd that Apple would be selling a card that would miss a fairly heavily advertised feature of iLife and just ignore it.
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2008, 10:33 AM   #17
Gray-Wolf
macrumors 68030
 
Gray-Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pandora, Home Tree
Send a message via MSN to Gray-Wolf
I had this problem a while back. It has nothing to do with the video card. It has EVERY thing to do with the itunes folder.

I had to delete iTunes and reinstall it. Then, from a back up copy, reimport it to get the covers back. Some how, I had trashed the original one through iTunes "Get Album Art Work" it changed things and then the screensaver quit working. After reinstalling it, and using the back up, all is working again.

If you look at your own snapshot, it gives you the answer. iTunes is unable to browse.. Which means it can't FIND the covers.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 2.png
Views:	50
Size:	651.1 KB
ID:	149957  
__________________
"And Jesus answered him, saying, It is written, That man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word of God.. "

Last edited by Gray-Wolf; Dec 25, 2008 at 10:39 AM.
Gray-Wolf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2008, 11:40 AM   #18
Xilmwa
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by slapguts View Post
Intel Integrated 64mb VRAM, on a 1.6 Duo-Core.

Every album still has it's cover art (I'm kind of anal about it), it shows in grid, and the preview, on the iPod, and iPhone. Just not in iTunes Coverflow.
Oh, Core 2 Duo. You should be completely fine. That's like a Mac without Apple EFI.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iMac-Knight View Post
I had this problem a while back. It has nothing to do with the video card. It has EVERY thing to do with the itunes folder.

I had to delete iTunes and reinstall it. Then, from a back up copy, reimport it to get the covers back. Some how, I had trashed the original one through iTunes "Get Album Art Work" it changed things and then the screensaver quit working. After reinstalling it, and using the back up, all is working again.

If you look at your own snapshot, it gives you the answer. iTunes is unable to browse.. Which means it can't FIND the covers.
Yes, but can you use Coverflow? Here's mine in Grid:
Thumb resize.

Quote:
Originally Posted by edgew8 View Post
I do believe that leopard has no problem with coverflow in finder with that gfx card even if it is sluggish, but iTunes may be a different story. The ATI Rage cards might not meet the requirements for the newest version of iTunes. Try using and older version of iTunes

http://mac.oldapps.com/itunes.php
See, that's just it. Here's a picture of dad's PowerMac G4. Same specs, except 450 MHz with....I dunna, but less than 1GB of RAM doing Coverflow in iTunes.
Thumb resize.

Last edited by Mitthrawnuruodo; Dec 25, 2008 at 05:24 PM. Reason: Merging, please use MULTIQUOTE to answer more than one post...
Xilmwa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2008, 12:05 PM   #19
basaltfd
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver BC
Send a message via Yahoo to basaltfd
any ideas for windows xp user 8.0 missing cover flow
basaltfd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2008, 12:15 PM   #20
Xilmwa
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by basaltfd View Post
any ideas for windows xp user 8.0 missing cover flow
Processor speed, graphics card, and RAM?
Xilmwa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2008, 12:20 PM   #21
basaltfd
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver BC
Send a message via Yahoo to basaltfd
320gb
2gb memory at 677mhz
intel core 2 2.2 ghz
dell vostro
basaltfd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2008, 12:26 PM   #22
Xilmwa
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by basaltfd View Post
320gb
2gb memory at 677mhz
intel core 2 2.2 ghz
dell vostro
Shouldn't be anything wrong. Try reinstalling iTunes.
Xilmwa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2008, 12:28 PM   #23
basaltfd
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Vancouver BC
Send a message via Yahoo to basaltfd
i just did missing some still
i used tuneup companions 1.1........... to get some of them but im missing like 5 more covers
basaltfd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2008, 01:05 PM   #24
Gray-Wolf
macrumors 68030
 
Gray-Wolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Pandora, Home Tree
Send a message via MSN to Gray-Wolf
Well, here's another shot of cover flow on mine.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.png
Views:	17
Size:	716.1 KB
ID:	149978  
__________________
"And Jesus answered him, saying, It is written, That man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word of God.. "
Gray-Wolf is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2008, 01:18 PM   #25
slapguts
macrumors 6502a
 
slapguts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMac-Knight View Post
Well, here's another shot of cover flow on mine.
You mean "Grid", right?



Another question: For the folks having this issue, does the visualizer work, or just a blank screen?
__________________
2010 MacBook Air 1.86ghz, 2gb RAM  Samsung 22" external monitor  iMac G5 1.6ghz  iPhone 5 - White  Airport Extreme  2tb hard drive  Harman Kardon Soundsticks II  HP Deskjet 6540 printer.

Last edited by slapguts; Dec 25, 2008 at 01:47 PM.
slapguts is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Major Bug in Finder with Coverflow, or is it just me? nexsta OS X Mavericks (10.9) 24 Mar 16, 2014 08:33 AM
CoverFlow in iTunes 11 Intelligent Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Feb 11, 2014 02:42 PM
iTunes, still no coverflow Neverywhere Mac Applications and Mac App Store 1 Feb 9, 2014 07:02 PM
Coverflow gone in iTunes 11? micke1967 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 14 Dec 22, 2012 01:07 AM
Set Coverflow icon size dakotaspurs OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 2 Aug 6, 2012 08:36 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC