Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 6, 2009, 01:18 PM   #26
Divindude
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
i don't think my ps3 has a gigabit. mine is almost 2 years old however.
Divindude is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2009, 01:44 PM   #27
Jurwin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: On the other side of crazyness. You know, the sane part.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Divindude View Post
i don't think my ps3 has a gigabit. mine is almost 2 years old however.
All PS3 have gigabit ethernet port.
__________________
MR's Intel Fanguy
15" MacBook Pro 2.5 GHz
Times on time-out: 5
Jurwin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2009, 02:42 PM   #28
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurwin View Post
All PS3 have gigabit ethernet port.
ok that's what i thought. now why is it taking me 20 hours to copy 48 GB? could it be ubuntu that's slowing it down? or Vista?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 01:07 AM   #29
jhsfosho
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
This is very intriguing to me...

Is there a way to do this without a gigabit ethernet router? Can I connect the ps3 directly to my MBP's ethernet port and do internet connection sharing? That would be much handier for me, and a lot of other people as well I'm sure.
__________________
2011 Mac Mini Server, 2009 iMac, 2009 13" MacBook Pro, iPhone 5S, ATV2
jhsfosho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 06:45 AM   #30
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhsfosho View Post
This is very intriguing to me...

Is there a way to do this without a gigabit ethernet router? Can I connect the ps3 directly to my MBP's ethernet port and do internet connection sharing? That would be much handier for me, and a lot of other people as well I'm sure.
i am not sure. your ps3 would be running ubuntu, so this might be a question over at their forums?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 08:52 AM   #31
jhsfosho
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Quote:
Originally Posted by twoodcc View Post
i am not sure. your ps3 would be running ubuntu, so this might be a question over at their forums?
Ok, I will install Ubuntu and check over there. Then report back here with any findings.
__________________
2011 Mac Mini Server, 2009 iMac, 2009 13" MacBook Pro, iPhone 5S, ATV2
jhsfosho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 06:36 PM   #32
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhsfosho View Post
Ok, I will install Ubuntu and check over there. Then report back here with any findings.
yeah let us know what you find.

also, i decided to try and copy the bd file to the mac side of my mbp, just to see if it was windows.....sure enough. it works great copying to leopard! why can't vista copy files at least close to 1 GB/s? instead of 599 kb/s?
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 08:27 PM   #33
jhsfosho
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
I'm trying to set up a SMB share using OS X on my MBP. I have file sharing, SMB sharing enabled. My ip is 192.168.1.110. What am I not doing right that the ps3 ubuntu can't connect in terminal?

The part with 192.168.1.110 --> Do I need to make a folder called "NetShare"? If so does it go in my home directory or the lowest level of my harddrive?
__________________
2011 Mac Mini Server, 2009 iMac, 2009 13" MacBook Pro, iPhone 5S, ATV2
jhsfosho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 08:58 PM   #34
jhsfosho
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Quote:
Originally Posted by guywoodman7 View Post
Disregard the last post! I FINALLY got past mounting my SMB shared folder as a local folder.

To be honest I'm not sure what I did different. I think mounting the smb directory first, and THEN issuing the command to use it as a local folder did it, but I could be totally wrong.

Either way I am dumping my first disc over to my mac, and so far all is looking good.

Lets just hope the next few steps don't gimme issues.
This is the same error/response I am getting when I try to set up the netshare. Could you try to give me any pointers to anything you might have changed? When I connect to the share using the connect to server command under Places, it connects no problem.
__________________
2011 Mac Mini Server, 2009 iMac, 2009 13" MacBook Pro, iPhone 5S, ATV2
jhsfosho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 09:11 PM   #35
jhsfosho
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
I think I got it to work...

I went to this website.

I put the folder "NetShare" in the list of public folders in OS X's file sharing panel. Then with this command I verified Ubuntu could see the share:
Code:
smbclient -L 192.168.1.110 -U%
After I saw that "NetShare" was listed, I typed in this command:
Code:
sudo smbmount //192.168.1.110/NetShare /home/username/netshare -o username=username,password=mysecretpassword,uid=1000,mask=000
I am now transferring the file to my MBP.


Is there anyway to tell how much progress has been made with the file transfer? Or do I have to right click the file --> get info, then judge how much of the file has been transferred?
__________________
2011 Mac Mini Server, 2009 iMac, 2009 13" MacBook Pro, iPhone 5S, ATV2

Last edited by jhsfosho; Apr 7, 2009 at 11:14 PM.
jhsfosho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 09:41 PM   #36
jhsfosho
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Here's an update as far as directly wiring the ethernet port of my MBP to the PS3:

I enabled internet connection sharing in OS X system preferences and restarted my PS3. It showed up as the OS X's router being 192.168.1.2. I then did all of the above steps with mounting the share but with using 192.168.2.1 as the ip address. It seems to be copying at a decent speed. It did about 1 GB of data in 8 minutes. Is that about right?
__________________
2011 Mac Mini Server, 2009 iMac, 2009 13" MacBook Pro, iPhone 5S, ATV2
jhsfosho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 09:59 PM   #37
Cave Man
macrumors 604
 
Cave Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neander Valley, Germany; just outside of Duesseldorf
That seems a bit slow. It takes about 30 min for me to transfer a 20 gb file over my 100 mbps AEBSn.
__________________
2012 Mac Mini; i5 Quad Core ITX Hackintosh with Blu-ray playback HTPC; 1 TB eSATA Apple TV; 3.8 gHz i7 Quad Core Hackintosh, 2GB HD5870; MacBook Pro i7; MacBook Air; iPhone 4s; 1st Mac=Centris 610
Cave Man is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 11:13 PM   #38
jhsfosho
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Turns out it is a lot faster for me just to do the transfer over my 100mb/s ethernet network than to mess with internet sharing in OS X. With the 100mb/s connection I was able to transfer 1GB in about 3 minutes.

If anyone else figures out if a 1GB internet sharing connection is possible, please post it.
__________________
2011 Mac Mini Server, 2009 iMac, 2009 13" MacBook Pro, iPhone 5S, ATV2
jhsfosho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2009, 08:27 AM   #39
twoodcc
macrumors P6
 
twoodcc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Right side of wrong
Send a message via AIM to twoodcc Send a message via MSN to twoodcc
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhsfosho View Post
Turns out it is a lot faster for me just to do the transfer over my 100mb/s ethernet network than to mess with internet sharing in OS X. With the 100mb/s connection I was able to transfer 1GB in about 3 minutes.

If anyone else figures out if a 1GB internet sharing connection is possible, please post it.
oh ok. well at you got it working. for some reason in Vista it took me 20 hours to copy 45 GB - basically 600 kb/s. doing everything the same, but copying to leopard, i was doing 9 mb/s. flying!
__________________
tville
Smarter than the average bear
twoodcc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2009, 04:49 PM   #40
littfam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
In Step 3a of the original post, is it possible to direct the transfer to an external HDD via FireWire and if so what would the path be.
__________________
2 iMacs - 2.5 Ghz i5, 500 gig HD's
MacBook Air - 2.0 Ghz i7, 256 SSD, 8 Gb ram
White Crackbook 2.16 Ghz C2D 500 gig HDD
MLion 10.8.2 etc... etc... And all that good stuff!
littfam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2009, 06:31 PM   #41
jhsfosho
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Quote:
Originally Posted by littfam View Post
In Step 3a of the original post, is it possible to direct the transfer to an external HDD via FireWire and if so what would the path be.
I'm assuming your talking about an external HDD connected to your mac via firewire? You should be able to do that by setting up a folder on the external harddrive to share. Then go into system preferences --> sharing on os X. In the file sharing option you can add the folder on the external HDD to the shared folder list.

As far as setting it up on the ps3 side, you can use the command I used earlier on
Code:
smbclient -L 192.168.1.110 -U%
to verify that the share is listed. After that it should just be a matter of using
Code:
sudo smbmount //192.168.1.110/NetShare /home/username/netshare -o username=username,password=mysecretpassword,uid=1000,mask=000
Where "NetShare" is the folder on the external HDD that you set in the system preferences.
__________________
2011 Mac Mini Server, 2009 iMac, 2009 13" MacBook Pro, iPhone 5S, ATV2
jhsfosho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2009, 08:08 PM   #42
northy124
macrumors 68020
 
northy124's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by littfam View Post
In Step 3a of the original post, is it possible to direct the transfer to an external HDD via FireWire and if so what would the path be.
If it is HFS+ formatted and connected to the PS3 (can the PS3 take Firewire):

1. Make a mount point for it, that you can call as you like, e.g. 'hfsplus', where you like (usually on /mnt or /media).
You need to run this commands always with root privileges
Code:
sudo mkdir /mnt/hfsplus
2. Mount it, specifying file system, device and mount point
Code:
sudo mount -t hfsplus /dev/sda1 /mnt/hfsplus
An icon will appear on your desktop.

3. To unmount the HD
Code:
sudo umount /mnt/hfsplus
4. In order to avoid to repeat this step every time you start your computer, edit the file /etc/fstab (the file system table), so that the Drive will be always mounted.
Code:
sudo nano /etc/fstab
You can add a line for each partition, you want to be mounted at startup.
Following our example:
Code:
# <file system> <mount point> <type>  <options>    <dump><pass>
/dev/sda1     /mnt/hfsplus       hfsplus  defaults      0       0
Exit (ctrl+X)
and save


The options 'defaults' are 'rw, suid, dev, exec, auto, nouser, and async'.
There are a lot of options that you can specify. May be you can have a look to the man pages of 'mount'
Code:
man mount
northy124 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2009, 08:56 AM   #43
littfam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Another question........in step 3b, what ip address do I use. Where do I find it exactly on my mac or AEBS utility? Do I use the address as I see it in that step. A basic question probably, but am just trying to get all this right.

Also steps 3a,b,c are being done on my mac through terminal? And username and password is my admin username and password?

Thanks.
__________________
2 iMacs - 2.5 Ghz i5, 500 gig HD's
MacBook Air - 2.0 Ghz i7, 256 SSD, 8 Gb ram
White Crackbook 2.16 Ghz C2D 500 gig HDD
MLion 10.8.2 etc... etc... And all that good stuff!

Last edited by littfam; Apr 9, 2009 at 09:04 AM. Reason: not done
littfam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2009, 11:54 AM   #44
jhsfosho
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Quote:
Originally Posted by littfam View Post
Another question........in step 3b, what ip address do I use. Where do I find it exactly on my mac or AEBS utility? Do I use the address as I see it in that step. A basic question probably, but am just trying to get all this right.
The ip address you should use can be found in the System preferences --> Network preference pane. The exact location will depend on your connection type. Assuming your connected via ethernet, click on "ethernet" from the list of connections available. Here it should say "Ethernet is currently active and has the IP address XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX" If your using airport, "AirPort is connected to NETWORK and has the IP address XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX"

Quote:
Originally Posted by littfam View Post
Also steps 3a,b,c are being done on my mac through terminal? And username and password is my admin username and password?
Step 3a,b,c are all done on the ps3 in linux's Terminal application. The username and password is your mac's username and password that you need to connect to the shared folder.
__________________
2011 Mac Mini Server, 2009 iMac, 2009 13" MacBook Pro, iPhone 5S, ATV2
jhsfosho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2009, 09:29 PM   #45
littfam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
When I type the command to copy the bd-movie.iso, it is placing it in the netshare folder I created in my home folder in ubuntu. Of course I only partitioned 10 gigs so it runs out of room. How do I communicate "send the file" to my mac through the network (SMB). I am connected via ethernet through an AEBS that is also connected to the ps3.

I would really appreciate any help
__________________
2 iMacs - 2.5 Ghz i5, 500 gig HD's
MacBook Air - 2.0 Ghz i7, 256 SSD, 8 Gb ram
White Crackbook 2.16 Ghz C2D 500 gig HDD
MLion 10.8.2 etc... etc... And all that good stuff!
littfam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 9, 2009, 11:36 PM   #46
jhsfosho
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Quote:
Originally Posted by littfam View Post
When I type the command to copy the bd-movie.iso, it is placing it in the netshare folder I created in my home folder in ubuntu. Of course I only partitioned 10 gigs so it runs out of room. How do I communicate "send the file" to my mac through the network (SMB). I am connected via ethernet through an AEBS that is also connected to the ps3.

I would really appreciate any help
When you tell the ps3 to mount the NetShare folder that is shared from your mac, do you see the icon on the desktop of the ps3? If not then something isn't happening correctly.

I was wrong before when I said that steps 3a,b,c where done on the ps3. They can actually be done on either the ps3's terminal application or the mac's terminal application. If done on the mac, you need to know how to SSH into your ps3 before issuing the commands. If you do it on your ps3, then you can use the commands I posted earlier.
__________________
2011 Mac Mini Server, 2009 iMac, 2009 13" MacBook Pro, iPhone 5S, ATV2
jhsfosho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 10, 2009, 09:00 AM   #47
littfam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
No there isn't an icon on the desktop, but there is an icon called netshare in Places/Home Folder. Is the icon mounted on my mac desktop? I guess I am really needing to know how to mount my SMB share (finder/go/connect to server then type smb//what address?) Am I on the right track here? I will try again today and see if I missed something. Thanks for taking the time to answer my questions.
__________________
2 iMacs - 2.5 Ghz i5, 500 gig HD's
MacBook Air - 2.0 Ghz i7, 256 SSD, 8 Gb ram
White Crackbook 2.16 Ghz C2D 500 gig HDD
MLion 10.8.2 etc... etc... And all that good stuff!

Last edited by littfam; Apr 10, 2009 at 09:16 AM.
littfam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2009, 09:13 PM   #48
littfam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
At step 3b in original post is there a particular command I need to type to mount my mac smb share. I get to this point in this guide, and am stuck. I would be one happy camper if someone could please help me.
__________________
2 iMacs - 2.5 Ghz i5, 500 gig HD's
MacBook Air - 2.0 Ghz i7, 256 SSD, 8 Gb ram
White Crackbook 2.16 Ghz C2D 500 gig HDD
MLion 10.8.2 etc... etc... And all that good stuff!
littfam is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2009, 11:02 PM   #49
jhsfosho
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Quote:
Originally Posted by littfam View Post
At step 3b in original post is there a particular command I need to type to mount my mac smb share. I get to this point in this guide, and am stuck. I would be one happy camper if someone could please help me.
The icon should be on your ps3 linux's desktop. You will need to know the ip address of your mac. Make sure you have SMB sharing enabled in your mac's system preferences. If you type this code into terminal on the ps3, it will tell you if your ps3 is seeing your macs SMB share:

Code:
smbclient -L 192.168.1.110 -U%
where 192.168.1.110 is the IP address of your mac. Once you know your ip address and the name of the share on your mac and know that SMB sharing is enabled, type this into the ps3:

Code:
sudo smbmount //192.168.1.110/NetShare /home/ps3username/netshare -o username=Macusername,password=myMacssecretpassword,uid=1000,mask=000
Of course, change the ip address again, and the name of "NetShare" to whatever folder you are sharing on your mac. Also
ps3username= whatever name you log into ps3 linux with
Macusername= your mac administrator username
myMacssecretpassword= administrator password

Good luck! Ask if you have any more questions.
__________________
2011 Mac Mini Server, 2009 iMac, 2009 13" MacBook Pro, iPhone 5S, ATV2
jhsfosho is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2009, 06:45 PM   #50
littfam
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
ok.....now I am getting "mount error13= Permission denied" Refer to the mount.cifs(8) manual page (e.g.man mount.cifs)

I have done everything I can think of. I have typed the code and verified that the folder "shared" is showing up on the Ubuntu side of the network. One weird thing is that if I add a folder to my shared list on my mac, it will not show up on the ubuntu side. My shared and public folders are, so I was trying to use those. Is any of the code commands case sensitive in any way? Boy I want this to work! Also When I type the mount code on page one of this thread, I get a menu with various mounting options. Is there a specific code I need at that point in order to get my shared folder to mount.
__________________
2 iMacs - 2.5 Ghz i5, 500 gig HD's
MacBook Air - 2.0 Ghz i7, 256 SSD, 8 Gb ram
White Crackbook 2.16 Ghz C2D 500 gig HDD
MLion 10.8.2 etc... etc... And all that good stuff!

Last edited by littfam; Apr 12, 2009 at 07:07 PM. Reason: add
littfam is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Having trouble streaming Blu Ray rips to my Apple TV3 jrm27 Apple TV and Home Theater 12 Jan 14, 2014 02:08 PM
Blu-Ray Rips Not Streaming jetmaster114 Apple TV and Home Theater 14 Oct 8, 2013 02:05 PM
Blu-Ray Rips and HD logo on ATV3 jetmaster114 Apple TV and Home Theater 9 Sep 28, 2013 03:18 PM
Blu-Ray for MacBook Pros - Finally, a 9.5mm Slot-Load Blu-Ray Drive! Prodo123 MacBook Pro 72 Sep 15, 2013 10:17 AM
Handbrake file sizes for Blu-ray rips drjack69 Apple TV and Home Theater 43 Aug 3, 2013 02:00 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps