Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 26, 2008, 06:39 PM   #1
huskerwr38
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
i just want to add one ringtone...

I have a ringtone that I want to put on my iphone 3g from my wifes computer, but when I try and sync that ringtone to my iphone it will erase all my other stuff. So how do I add just that one ringtone and keep all my videos, music, and stuff without erasing it! Thanks
huskerwr38 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2008, 06:52 PM   #2
mkrishnan
Moderator emeritus
 
mkrishnan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Grand Rapids, MI, USA
Is the ringtone purchased? If so, this is going to be tough without putting the iPhone in manual management mode.

If it's not purchased, just copy it into your own library.
__________________
Mohan
mkrishnan is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 26, 2008, 07:22 PM   #3
huskerwr38
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
no it's not purchased. I can't put it into my library cause I'm 2000 miles away from were my library is located. So I can't sync anything from this computer onto my iphone without erasing all my other stuff. Is there any other way?
huskerwr38 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2008, 04:33 AM   #4
T10HJS
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Milton Keynes
Send a message via MSN to T10HJS
i know what you mean, your iphone will only sync with one computer, think a way around this is plug your iphone in then go along the tabs "music, videos....." and make sure there not set to synch, and just sync the ringtones tab.

I have a question how do you create ringtones using iTunes 8.2 i have no option to convert to acc file
__________________
MBP 15"-2.8GHz,4Gb RAM,320Gb
Mac Mini-2.2Ghz,2Gb RAM,1Tb FW
MB Black-2.2Ghz,4Gb RAM,250Gb
G5-1.6GHz,2Gb RAM,x4 1.5Tb RAID5
iPhone 3G 16Gb
T10HJS is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2008, 04:16 PM   #5
huskerwr38
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Sorry not sure how to convert to an acc, I just downloaded the file in the ringtone format.

Okay I tried that and it said that it will erase all my stuff on my iphone, so I don't think that will work.
huskerwr38 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 28, 2008, 04:33 PM   #6
SnowLeopard2008
macrumors 603
 
SnowLeopard2008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Silicon Valley
Send a message via AIM to SnowLeopard2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by T10HJS View Post
i know what you mean, your iphone will only sync with one computer, think a way around this is plug your iphone in then go along the tabs "music, videos....." and make sure there not set to synch, and just sync the ringtones tab.

I have a question how do you create ringtones using iTunes 8.2 i have no option to convert to acc file
Quote:
Originally Posted by huskerwr38 View Post
Sorry not sure how to convert to an acc, I just downloaded the file in the ringtone format.

Okay I tried that and it said that it will erase all my stuff on my iphone, so I don't think that will work.
If you two are using a Mac with GarageBand, you can use that for ringtones. Make a new project, import the song, trim it, and export. Stick it into the iTunes library and sync. Although you still need the original computer you synced your iPhone with to add the ringtone.
__________________
YouTube | Twitter
MacBook Air | iPhone 5 | iPad mini | Apple TV | AirPort Extreme 802.11ac | iPad signed by Steve Wozniak
SnowLeopard2008 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2008, 01:20 PM   #7
Acronym
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by T10HJS View Post
I have a question how do you create ringtones using iTunes 8.2 i have no option to convert to acc file
look at my sig for a guide on making ringtones
Acronym is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2008, 10:17 PM   #8
KrazyKuul
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
to add music to my iPod touch from 2 diff computers, i have settings on my iPod info page (the main one listing the iPod's information) to manually manage music. With that setting, i can drag and drop at least music and videos, i'm not sure if you can drag and drop ringtones.

just set to manually manage music and videos, and try to drag and drop.
KrazyKuul is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Before I die I want to ___________. MarkMS Community Discussion 30 Apr 7, 2011 06:59 PM
Just want to know!!! 9C9F or 9CBD Which one is the best screen? ballistix MacBook Pro 15 Jul 12, 2009 02:38 PM
Want to add more memory (1GB) to PB... but I don't know how to add! (what to do?) diehldun Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 51 Nov 21, 2004 11:24 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC