Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 29, 2008, 02:46 PM   #1
jasonsowers
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
G4 powerbook failure--At start up the apple appears on the screen with the hour glass

This is my first post so disrgard me being a noob. I have had a few macs. I have a g4 1.5 powerbook that I use everyday.

Today I went to turn it on and all I am getting on the start up is the Apple symbol and the hourglass circle that just keeps spinning.

I am pretty sure the hard disc is the problem. Bc, I can't hear it spinning.

Any ideas? Thanks for the help in advance.

Regards,

Jason
jasonsowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 02:58 PM   #2
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
Are you able to boot to the DVD that came with your computer? (Or the Mac OS X DVD if you've upgraded since you bought the computer.)
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 03:01 PM   #3
jasonsowers
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueRevolution View Post
Are you able to boot to the DVD that came with your computer? (Or the Mac OS X DVD if you've upgraded since you bought the computer.)
I have the disc. I have put the os x install disc in but i dont remember how to get it started. Do you have to hit one of the function keys during the start up?

I am mostly concerned about the 60 plus gigs of my music that I think might be gone.

Thanks for your help.
jasonsowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 03:14 PM   #4
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
There are a couple of ways to boot from the DVD, but I suggest holding the option key until you get a menu of drives/partitions to boot from. Since you have a slot-loading drive, if you haven't been able to insert the disk, you can do so now and it should appear in the menu after a few seconds. Select it and hit return to boot from the disk.
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 06:31 PM   #5
jasonsowers
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueRevolution View Post
There are a couple of ways to boot from the DVD, but I suggest holding the option key until you get a menu of drives/partitions to boot from. Since you have a slot-loading drive, if you haven't been able to insert the disk, you can do so now and it should appear in the menu after a few seconds. Select it and hit return to boot from the disk.
Is there anyway to salvage my music collection. I really am not concerned about the powerbook. Mostly my music collection is my pride and joy.
jasonsowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 06:38 PM   #6
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
There may be, yes. It just depends what is wrong with your computer. Have you tried what I suggested?
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 06:50 PM   #7
jasonsowers
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueRevolution View Post
There may be, yes. It just depends what is wrong with your computer. Have you tried what I suggested?
Yes, I did do what you have suggested. I came up with an error code.

2 Mem/104/4: sod1mm1/j25upper

It say memory (which I am thinking is my ram)

Mass storage has passed.

So I am thinking my hard disc is fine.

I am going to take out my ram and reboot the system.

Am I headed in the correct direction?

Thanks!
jasonsowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 06:54 PM   #8
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
Well, aside from the fact that it won't start at all with no memory in it. You could try removing and re-inserting the memory to ensure that it's not loose or anything.

Yes, that's the way I interpret the message as well. Your music should be safe, although for the time being it is inaccessible without physically removing the drive. There are a few things left to try before we go down that road, though.
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 07:14 PM   #9
jasonsowers
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueRevolution View Post
Well, aside from the fact that it won't start at all with no memory in it. You could try removing and re-inserting the memory to ensure that it's not loose or anything.

Yes, that's the way I interpret the message as well. Your music should be safe, although for the time being it is inaccessible without physically removing the drive. There are a few things left to try before we go down that road, though.
I am doing the extended test now about a half hour it is calling for.

I took out the memory and it is still the same only no errors and everything has passed. But that was with the quick test.

So with no added ram chip in it is still showing the apple with the circling hour glass.

Thanks for helping me out you don't know how much i appreciate this.
jasonsowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 07:19 PM   #10
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
Well, that it will boot to hardware test is a good sign. You're running it with the memory in, yeah? That should show up any problems in the memory if that's where the issues lie.
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 07:31 PM   #11
jasonsowers
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueRevolution View Post
Well, that it will boot to hardware test is a good sign. You're running it with the memory in, yeah? That should show up any problems in the memory if that's where the issues lie.
I took out the EXTRA RAM. Now I am running it with just the built in RAM. Or is that the only ram that it has is the removable ram?
jasonsowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 07:33 PM   #12
jasonsowers
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I just got done. Everything passed. I am loading it right now with my fingers crossed. So I am thinking the removal RAM is what is the problem.

HOPEFULLY!
jasonsowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 07:40 PM   #13
jasonsowers
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Samething. Apple screen with spinning hourglass.

Anymore suggestions?
jasonsowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 08:10 PM   #14
toolbox
macrumors 68020
 
toolbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Australia (WA)
Can you boot of your OS X cd and run diskutility?
__________________
2009 iMac 27 inch | i7 2.8 | 1 TB | 16GB DDR3
iPhone 3gs | iPhone 4 | iPhone 4s | iPad 1 | iPad 2
toolbox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 08:22 PM   #15
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
Have you run hardware test again with the memory re-inserted?

For the record, you will also need the stick of memory in order to boot to the Mac OS X DVD.
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 08:38 PM   #16
jasonsowers
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by toolbox View Post
Can you boot of your OS X cd and run diskutility?
I am trying it right now with the stick of ram installed.
jasonsowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 08:39 PM   #17
jasonsowers
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlueRevolution View Post
Have you run hardware test again with the memory re-inserted?

For the record, you will also need the stick of memory in order to boot to the Mac OS X DVD.
So I have to have the stick of RAM installed in order for my notebook to work? I thought it had built in ram?
jasonsowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 08:40 PM   #18
toolbox
macrumors 68020
 
toolbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Australia (WA)
Same laptops had built in ram it's a physical part of the motherboard, i no my powerbook does.
__________________
2009 iMac 27 inch | i7 2.8 | 1 TB | 16GB DDR3
iPhone 3gs | iPhone 4 | iPhone 4s | iPad 1 | iPad 2
toolbox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 08:57 PM   #19
jasonsowers
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by toolbox View Post
Same laptops had built in ram it's a physical part of the motherboard, i no my powerbook does.
I am pretty sure my powerbook has a built in 512.

How do i get os x dvd to open duuring start up?
jasonsowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 09:08 PM   #20
jasonsowers
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I just realized I had 2 sticks of ram I removed the upper bc that is the one that had the error code and swapping them.

Fingers are crossed
jasonsowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 09:11 PM   #21
toolbox
macrumors 68020
 
toolbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Australia (WA)
to boot of your CD press "C" when you turn the unit on.
__________________
2009 iMac 27 inch | i7 2.8 | 1 TB | 16GB DDR3
iPhone 3gs | iPhone 4 | iPhone 4s | iPad 1 | iPad 2
toolbox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 09:21 PM   #22
jasonsowers
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by toolbox View Post
to boot of your CD press "C" when you turn the unit on.
What do I do once I am in disc utility?

BTW swapping the ram sticks did not work.
jasonsowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 09:23 PM   #23
toolbox
macrumors 68020
 
toolbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Australia (WA)
When your in disk utility you need to click on the hdd and then run verify disk. If it finds anything you need to press repair disk.

Any errors it finds will be in red. Also once that is done verify and repair the permissions too.
__________________
2009 iMac 27 inch | i7 2.8 | 1 TB | 16GB DDR3
iPhone 3gs | iPhone 4 | iPhone 4s | iPad 1 | iPad 2
toolbox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 09:47 PM   #24
jasonsowers
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by toolbox View Post
When your in disk utility you need to click on the hdd and then run verify disk. If it finds anything you need to press repair disk.

Any errors it finds will be in red. Also once that is done verify and repair the permissions too.
will this lead to loss in my media (my music)?

I am doing it right now.
jasonsowers is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 29, 2008, 10:03 PM   #25
toolbox
macrumors 68020
 
toolbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Australia (WA)
Don't believe that it will. But anything can happen with technology it pays to have backups
__________________
2009 iMac 27 inch | i7 2.8 | 1 TB | 16GB DDR3
iPhone 3gs | iPhone 4 | iPhone 4s | iPad 1 | iPad 2
toolbox is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone 5s Screen glass adhesive failure MacrumoursUser iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 1 Apr 25, 2014 11:16 AM
Mime Feather Glass Screen Protector vs iLoome Screenmate Flex Glass Screen Protector RafixPhoenix iPhone Accessories 35 Jan 20, 2014 05:14 PM
iloome screen mate flex VS Mime Feather Glass VS Spigen glass.tR nano slim Francis Escueta iPhone Accessories 8 Dec 13, 2013 07:51 AM
iPad air suddenly appears a black screen with apple logo Zentech iPad Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 8 Nov 29, 2013 11:33 AM
iPhone 5S + Apple Dock + Glass Screen Protector mypyh4ooo iPhone Accessories 3 Oct 28, 2013 10:09 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC