Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 30, 2008, 12:52 PM   #1
starkruzr
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Why is the HDMI on my Apple TV not working?

So, I had my brand-new TV (unhacked, so far) connected to a standard-def TV via component and got it set up, synced to my MBP, etc. Everything was going along fine and dandy.

Then I took it to another room and connected it to an HDTV via HDMI. Connected the audio outputs to the surround-sound receiver.

The machine boots fine. I can hear the menu noises through the receiver.

No video. At all. When I go to select HDMI on the TV, it's greyed out. Any idea what's going on there?
starkruzr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2008, 01:00 PM   #2
mchalebk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Is it possible you set the AppleTV up for a resolution that the second TV can't accept? For instance, my previous TV could only do HD at 1080i. So, if I set up my AppleTV on a different set at 720p or 1080p, it wouldn't work on the 1080i set.
mchalebk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2008, 03:04 PM   #3
starkruzr
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by mchalebk View Post
Is it possible you set the AppleTV up for a resolution that the second TV can't accept? For instance, my previous TV could only do HD at 1080i. So, if I set up my AppleTV on a different set at 720p or 1080p, it wouldn't work on the 1080i set.
Is there some reason it shouldn't be able to deal with simple 480i? If it can't that would be a big surprise as it's been doing 480i on all the normal broadcast channels we watch on it.
starkruzr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 30, 2008, 05:28 PM   #4
jaw04005
macrumors 601
 
jaw04005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: AR
Quote:
Originally Posted by starkruzr View Post
Is there some reason it shouldn't be able to deal with simple 480i? If it can't that would be a big surprise as it's been doing 480i on all the normal broadcast channels we watch on it.
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3180
jaw04005 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2008, 12:46 AM   #5
starkruzr
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaw04005 View Post
Quote:
Note: If you do not have your Apple TV remote, you can also reset your Apple TV by unplugging the device from the power source for thirty seconds.
It was unplugged for about 5 minutes while I was setting it back up.
starkruzr is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2008, 09:17 AM   #6
mchalebk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Any HDMI capable TV should be able to handle 480i or 480p without any problems (though the AppleTV manual doesn't list 480i as an allowable output).

Have you ever hooked up the AppleTV via HDMI successfully to any device? Do you know that the HDMI cable is good? Is it compliant with the latest version of HDMI? (Not sure which version is required, 1.3a maybe.)

Have you tried resetting the AppleTV using the procedure described in the link that someone already provided? Here's how you do it:

"To reset your Apple TV using your remote control, press and hold Menu and Menu down/scroll for 6 seconds."
mchalebk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 31, 2008, 03:34 PM   #7
starkruzr
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Now the color is gone from the component feed. I checked all the cables three times and made sure the right color plugs were going to the right color sockets. So I have this beautiful black-and-white image on my color SD television.

Here is the sequence of events:

1) Connected TV to the SD TV in the basement using red, green and blue composite cables and red and white audio cables. Worked brilliantly. Set it to 480i and had no problems. Color was fine. Picture was great. Sound was fine.

2) Decided to set it up upstairs on the HDTV to show my dad the awesome. Moved it upstairs, tried to connect via an HDMI cable and a pair of RCA cables for the L and R audio jacks which were to be hooked to the surround-sound system. Audio worked fine (I could hear the noises when I hit the controls on the remote). No video at all. As far as the television was concerned, there was no video feed on the HDMI port.

3) Brought it back downstairs and connected it to the SD TV via the component cables again. Everything is fine except for the black and white video.

Performed a reset and told it to restart. No joy, still B&W. Component cables are connected correctly. This SD television is a JVC. http://www.fixya.com/support/p...manual-17453/page-13
starkruzr is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Apple TV and Home Theater

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HDMI Adapter Cable not working Mirrors Mac Peripherals 0 Oct 19, 2011 01:02 PM
Why is the IP on my Macbook (Network) different than my actual ISP mrogers MacBook Pro 6 Apr 12, 2011 10:34 PM
Why is the lettering on my mbp not crisp? (picture) cake90036 MacBook Pro 16 Apr 10, 2011 01:12 AM
lost the sound on my apple tv! spue2001 Apple TV and Home Theater 4 Apr 5, 2009 04:33 PM
Why is the internet on my iMac so slow? MK25toLife Mac Basics and Help 1 Sep 12, 2007 08:20 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC