Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery > UI Customization

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 4, 2009, 10:11 PM   #1
monke
macrumors 65816
 
monke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Your Geektool scripts

I know we already have monthly desktop threads, but Geektool is becoming more and more popular, and figured it would probably be better and easier for everyone to have a collection of their Geektool layout in one place.

Geektool
Download Here

Name:  Geektool.png
Views: 221023
Size:  29.6 KB
All using the 'Shell' selection:
Date: date +%d
Month: date +%B
Day: date +%A
Time: date +"%I:%M"
Alternatives:
Without the '0' infront of the hours 1-9, use: date +%l:%M
24 hour clock, with seconds: date '+%H:%M:%S'
24 hour clock, without seconds: date '+%H:%M'
AM/PM: date +"%p"
Font: Helvetica Neue (Regular, Bold, Light)


Weather (need Lynx) [Shell]:
Temperature: lynx -dump http://printer.wunderground.com/cgi-...OURZIPCODE|awk '/Temp/{printf $2, ": "; for (i=3; i<=3; i++) printf $i " " }'
Conditions: lynx -dump http://printer.wunderground.com/cgi-...OURZIPCODE|awk '/Cond/ && !/Fore/ {for (i=2; i<=10; i++) printf $i " " }'

Name:  iTunesGeektool.png
Views: 220130
Size:  7.3 KB
iTunes [Shell]: osascript ~/LocationOfScript.scpt
Using Script Editor:
Code:
on run
	set info to ""
	set info2 to ""
	tell application "System Events"
		set num to count (every process whose name is "iTunes")
	end tell
	if num > 0 then
		tell application "iTunes"
			if player state is playing then
				set who to artist of current track
				set what to name of current track
				set info to what & " by " & who as string
			end if
		end tell
	end if
	return info
end run
"Kohbens-esque" background for docks, see Melrose's post here.

Most people are using Bowtie to display their iTunes info though.
__________________
Yesterday it worked. Today it is not working. Windows is like that.

Last edited by monke; Feb 22, 2009 at 05:51 PM.
monke is offline   0
Old Jan 4, 2009, 11:05 PM   #2
EV0LUTION
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Florida
Your welcome, this is what the weather scripts output.
Attached Images
 
__________________
My Portfolio: JonathanHLogan.com
My first MBP died when I tried to simulate the universe
EV0LUTION is offline   0
Old Jan 5, 2009, 02:22 PM   #3
max1018
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Send a message via AIM to max1018 Send a message via Skype™ to max1018
Cheers for the info!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 1.png
Views:	2613
Size:	121.0 KB
ID:	151610  
__________________
Mac Pro (Jan 2008) 8 core 2.8ghz, 4gb RAM, 320gb HD ACD 30"
MacBook (Mid-2007) 2.0ghz, 2 GB RAM
iPhone 8 GB (O2-UK)
max1018 is offline   0
Old Jan 5, 2009, 02:37 PM   #4
andrewdale
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Memphis, TN
GREAT thread idea! Thanks for posting these. I can now begin to make my desktop this much cooler.
__________________
Lots of Apple gear, nothing that impressive. My money goes towards music gear.
andrewdale is offline   0
Old Jan 7, 2009, 05:59 PM   #5
monke
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
monke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by andrewdale View Post
GREAT thread idea! Thanks for posting these. I can now begin to make my desktop this much cooler.
Thanks.


Does anyone know if it's possible to have images displayed instead of text for the weather? Having a cloud for cloudy, sun for sunny, etc.
__________________
Yesterday it worked. Today it is not working. Windows is like that.
monke is offline   0
Old Jan 7, 2009, 06:09 PM   #6
bc008
macrumors 68000
 
bc008's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Michigan
is geektool something you have to download? if so where? i would love a large clock and weather displayed on my desktop
__________________
| iMac 21.5" - For Sale | iPhone 4 | iPad |
bc008 is offline   0
Old Jan 7, 2009, 06:41 PM   #7
monke
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
monke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by bc008 View Post
is geektool something you have to download? if so where? i would love a large clock and weather displayed on my desktop
Oh man, I should have put a link up with the main post, I'll do that right away.

Download Here
__________________
Yesterday it worked. Today it is not working. Windows is like that.
monke is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 05:09 PM   #8
ethical
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by monke View Post
Oh man, I should have put a link up with the main post, I'll do that right away.

Download Here
complete noob here, i've never done programming or coding in my life... but this looks cool

How exactly do i use the code posted above?

2Shae posted the following code in the Desktop thread:

Time: date +%l:%M
Date No.: date +%d
Month: date +%B
Day: date +%A

So how do i use this? Do i select "Shell" from the drop down and simply past it in? Does anyone have an idiots guide to pasting in pre-written code? Sorry for the noob-ness!!

Cheers,

Luke
__________________
"MacRumors IRC....it's like a conversation gangbang." - Leareth
Join the fun
irc.krono.net, #macrumors
ethical is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 05:42 PM   #9
monke
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
monke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukenn View Post
complete noob here, i've never done programming or coding in my life... but this looks cool

How exactly do i use the code posted above?

...

So how do i use this? Do i select "Shell" from the drop down and simply past it in? Does anyone have an idiots guide to pasting in pre-written code? Sorry for the noob-ness!!

Cheers,

Luke
Open GeekTool and click 'New Entry' (bottom left) and then select 'Shell' from the drop down like you said, and just paste the code.

You can change the appearance from the Colors and Fonts tab.

Hope that helps.
__________________
Yesterday it worked. Today it is not working. Windows is like that.
monke is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 05:48 PM   #10
ethical
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by monke View Post
Open GeekTool and click 'New Entry' (bottom left) and then select 'Shell' from the drop down like you said, and just paste the code.

You can change the appearance from the Colors and Fonts tab.

Hope that helps.
yeah thats what i tried, but nothing comes up (except the box it's meant to be displayed in).
it is just simply paste it exactly as it appears in my post yeah? thanks for the help by the way
__________________
"MacRumors IRC....it's like a conversation gangbang." - Leareth
Join the fun
irc.krono.net, #macrumors
ethical is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 05:53 PM   #11
monke
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
monke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukenn View Post
yeah thats what i tried, but nothing comes up (except the box it's meant to be displayed in).
it is just simply paste it exactly as it appears in my post yeah? thanks for the help by the way
They should all work, it looks identical to the code I have, except for the time function.

For time, use:
Code:
date +"%I:%M"
It might have to do with the colour of the text on your background. I think the default colour is black, so if you have a black background it wont show up. I learned it the hard way.
__________________
Yesterday it worked. Today it is not working. Windows is like that.
monke is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 05:59 PM   #12
ethical
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by monke View Post
They should all work, it looks identical to the code I have, except for the time function.

For time, use:
Code:
date +"%I:%M"
It might have to do with the colour of the text on your background. I think the default colour is black, so if you have a black background it wont show up. I learned it the hard way.
haha, oh dear. i was being a complete muppet. i was pasting in the "Date: code" bit as well, i didnt realise they were just there for reference purposes. Thank you for your help! Is much appreciated!
One other quick think while im here.. how would i get it to say "Time:" before the time? because at the moment it just says 22:59. Thanks!
__________________
"MacRumors IRC....it's like a conversation gangbang." - Leareth
Join the fun
irc.krono.net, #macrumors
ethical is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 06:09 PM   #13
monke
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
monke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by lukenn View Post
haha, oh dear. i was being a complete muppet. i was pasting in the "Date: code" bit as well, i didnt realise they were just there for reference purposes. Thank you for your help! Is much appreciated!
One other quick think while im here.. how would i get it to say "Time:" before the time? because at the moment it just says 22:59. Thanks!
It happens to the best of us.

I have no idea, hopefully someone else can help.
__________________
Yesterday it worked. Today it is not working. Windows is like that.
monke is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 06:18 PM   #14
Ljohnson72
macrumors 6502a
 
Ljohnson72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manhattan/SoCal
Is there a way to delete one of the scripts? I have something but I want to delete it and the Shell is no longer showing in GeekTool.
__________________
3x 27" ACD Mac Pro, 2.8GHz Twelve-Core, 32GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 2TB
Retina Macbook Pro, 2.6GHz, 8GB RAM, 512GB flash
32GB iPad Air
64GB iPhone 6
Ljohnson72 is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 06:20 PM   #15
monke
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
monke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ljohnson72 View Post
Is there a way to delete one of the scripts? I have something but I want to delete it and the Shell is no longer showing in GeekTool.
In the groups panel on the left, select the one you want to delete and click 'Delete Entry' (bottom left).
__________________
Yesterday it worked. Today it is not working. Windows is like that.
monke is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 06:23 PM   #16
Ljohnson72
macrumors 6502a
 
Ljohnson72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manhattan/SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by monke View Post
In the groups panel on the left, select the one you want to delete and click 'Delete Entry' (bottom left).
Thanks Sorry, one more question... Should I put each script in another command or can I just put them all in one?
__________________
3x 27" ACD Mac Pro, 2.8GHz Twelve-Core, 32GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 2TB
Retina Macbook Pro, 2.6GHz, 8GB RAM, 512GB flash
32GB iPad Air
64GB iPhone 6
Ljohnson72 is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 06:24 PM   #17
monke
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
monke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ljohnson72 View Post
Thanks Sorry, one more question... Should I put each script in another command or can I just put them all in one?
I have them in separate entries, but I doubt they would work all in one.
__________________
Yesterday it worked. Today it is not working. Windows is like that.
monke is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 07:11 PM   #18
Ljohnson72
macrumors 6502a
 
Ljohnson72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manhattan/SoCal
Thanks again.

__________________
3x 27" ACD Mac Pro, 2.8GHz Twelve-Core, 32GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 2TB
Retina Macbook Pro, 2.6GHz, 8GB RAM, 512GB flash
32GB iPad Air
64GB iPhone 6
Ljohnson72 is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 11:20 PM   #19
velvetelvis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
if somebody can help me, i cant get the temp and contitions to show up. i copy and pasted, then change to my zip code, but no text shows up...

here is what i copied...

lynx -dump http://printer.wunderground.com/cgi-...95816|awk '/Cond/ && !/Fore/ {for (i=2; i<=10; i++) printf $i " " }'
__________________
how can all this nothing happen to just one person?
velvetelvis is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 11:38 PM   #20
monke
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
monke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by velvetelvis View Post
if somebody can help me, i cant get the temp and contitions to show up. i copy and pasted, then change to my zip code, but no text shows up...

here is what i copied...

lynx -dump http://printer.wunderground.com/cgi-...95816|awk '/Cond/ && !/Fore/ {for (i=2; i<=10; i++) printf $i " " }'
You have to have the lynx browser installed.

You can download it here.

I think its Leopard only, but if anyone finds a Tiger version, point me to it.
__________________
Yesterday it worked. Today it is not working. Windows is like that.
monke is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 11:41 PM   #21
velvetelvis
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
got it installed allready.
__________________
how can all this nothing happen to just one person?
velvetelvis is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 11:45 PM   #22
monke
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
monke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by velvetelvis View Post
got it installed allready.
The links I gave don't seem to be working right now, I'll try and find a solution.
__________________
Yesterday it worked. Today it is not working. Windows is like that.
monke is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 11:49 PM   #23
Ljohnson72
macrumors 6502a
 
Ljohnson72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manhattan/SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by monke View Post
You have to have the lynx browser installed.

You can download it here.

I think its Leopard only, but if anyone finds a Tiger version, point me to it.

I have Lynx installed to and it just shows code.

Make sure when you copy the URL it's not

cgi-...958, but the entire URL - which I'm assuming is

http://printer.wunderground. com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=ZIPCODEHERE|AWK


Get rid of the space between wunderground and .com - and insert your own Zipcode. Worth a try?
__________________
3x 27" ACD Mac Pro, 2.8GHz Twelve-Core, 32GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 2TB
Retina Macbook Pro, 2.6GHz, 8GB RAM, 512GB flash
32GB iPad Air
64GB iPhone 6
Ljohnson72 is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 11:51 PM   #24
monke
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
monke's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
I figured it out.

When I copied the links from EV0LUTION's post in the January Desktop thread, it copied part of the link.

I updated the top post with a working one, but click the link then copy the full URL and paste it back in with your zip code, otherwise it won't work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ljohnson72 View Post
http://printer.wunderground. com/cgi-bin/findweather/getForecast?query=ZIPCODEHERE|AWK

Get rid of the space between wunderground and .com - and insert your own URL. Worth a try?
The full URL is:
http://printer.wunderground.com/cgi-...?query=ZIPCODE

I updated it on the first post, it was my error.

Someone let me know if this works, I can't try it.
__________________
Yesterday it worked. Today it is not working. Windows is like that.
monke is offline   0
Old Jan 11, 2009, 11:56 PM   #25
Ljohnson72
macrumors 6502a
 
Ljohnson72's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Manhattan/SoCal
Quote:
Originally Posted by monke View Post
The full URL is:
http://printer.wunderground.com/cgi-...?query=ZIPCODE

I updated it on the first post, it was my error.

Someone let me know if this works, I can't try it.
Yeah when I copied it originally it gave the ... in the middle of the URL. I just googled part of the URL to try to find the full one - but you updated it so I guess I didn't need to bother..

I will try it tomorrow my self, my laptop doesn't have Geektool or Lynx installed on it.
__________________
3x 27" ACD Mac Pro, 2.8GHz Twelve-Core, 32GB RAM, 512GB SSD, 2TB
Retina Macbook Pro, 2.6GHz, 8GB RAM, 512GB flash
32GB iPad Air
64GB iPhone 6
Ljohnson72 is offline   0


Closed Thread
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery > UI Customization

Tags
background, desktop, geektool, time, wallpaper

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Geektool: Help with GeekTool? codyd51 UI Customization 0 Dec 6, 2013 08:01 PM
Geektool bodhi9 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Apr 1, 2013 01:30 AM
Geektool: Your Geektool scripts (II) brenm666 UI Customization 10 Dec 5, 2012 11:55 AM
GeekTool Tander Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Dec 4, 2012 11:05 AM
Geektool on rMBP LeGacY X MacBook Pro 6 Jul 1, 2012 12:07 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC