Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery > UI Customization

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Nov 28, 2009, 12:26 AM   #1276
creator2456
macrumors 68000
 
creator2456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrbzzz View Post
Don't know if you want it to be a geektool replacement or if it doesn't matter, but I personally think the yahoo widget looks 100x better then anything you can do with geektool. Heres the link if your interested http://widgets.yahoo.com/widgets/widescapeweather
Just installed it to see if I could get it looking good with my current setup and decided against it. Not saying it doesn't look nice or have a good feture set, just doesn't fit in currently.

I did however find something odd when I installed the YahooWidget Engine. It COMPLETELY REPLACED my iSerial Reader app. Not that I use it much, just very very very odd to see.

I don't think I'll be using Yahoo Widgets again due to this.
__________________
I have stuff...but I am also lazy.
Buy some of my stuff!!!
creator2456 is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2009, 08:15 AM   #1277
cjbchris1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
oneijose can you post a link to that desktop pic, its sweet.
cjbchris1 is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2009, 12:03 PM   #1278
oneijose
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brooklyn NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by cjbchris1 View Post
oneijose can you post a link to that desktop pic, its sweet.
Sure no problem...Check link below. I think thats the ideal place for it... Enjoy!!

November Desktops
oneijose is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2009, 02:19 PM   #1279
Tweak3D
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
so I checked all of my commands manually and for some reason terminal is displaying everything in english, this is why I am getting all of my output in english. How can I change the language displayed by terminal?
Tweak3D is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2009, 04:46 PM   #1280
cjbchris1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Thanks, you the man
cjbchris1 is offline   0
Old Nov 28, 2009, 11:40 PM   #1281
Tweak3D
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
I also have a question regarding the use of foreign characters. I am trying to use a script to pull an RSS feed from a german website but it seems to not be displaying or bringing over the umlauts. Here is the script im using.

Code:
#!/bin/sh

URL="www.spiegel.de/schlagzeilen/eilmeldungen/index.rss"

if [ $# -eq 1 ] ; then
  headarg=$(( $1 * 2 ))
else
  headarg="-8"
fi

curl --silent "$URL" | grep -E '(title>|description>)' | \
  sed -n '4,$p' | \
  sed -e 's/<title>//' -e 's/<\/title>//' -e 's/<description>/   /' \
      -e 's/<\/description>//' | \
  sed -e 's/<!\[CDATA\[//g' |            
  sed -e 's/\]\]>//g' |         
  sed -e 's/<[^>]*>//g' |      
  head $headarg | sed G | fmt
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Tweak3D is offline   0
Old Nov 29, 2009, 03:39 AM   #1282
tooz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
ok, I need some help.

my script keeps coming up with this "" before the "" sign. (prefer this weatherzone script because it's more accurate for my area). anyway, I have worked out that its the sign in the last characters of the script
Code:
curl -s --connect-timeout 30 "http://webservice.weatherzone.com.au/rss/wx.php?u=13145&lt=aploc&lc=3435&obs=1&fc=1&warn=1" | grep "Temperature" | sed -e 's,.*/b> \(.*\)&.*,Now: \1 C,'
you can see the problem in the attached picture.
I know it's not the font, as I've tried others.

can anyone help?
(SL if it matters)
Attached Images
 
__________________
I support the MacRumors Blood Drive!
tooz is offline   0
Old Nov 29, 2009, 03:47 AM   #1283
creator2456
macrumors 68000
 
creator2456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by tooz View Post
ok, I need some help.

my script keeps coming up with this "" before the "" sign. (prefer this weatherzone script because it's more accurate for my area). anyway, I have worked out that its the sign in the last characters of the script
Code:
curl -s --connect-timeout 30 "http://webservice.weatherzone.com.au/rss/wx.php?u=13145&lt=aploc&lc=3435&obs=1&fc=1&warn=1" | grep "Temperature" | sed -e 's,.*/b> \(.*\)&.*,Now: \1 C,'
you can see the problem in the attached picture.
I know it's not the font, as I've tried others.

can anyone help?
(SL if it matters)
Change the Output Encoding to UTF8.
__________________
I have stuff...but I am also lazy.
Buy some of my stuff!!!
creator2456 is offline   0
Old Nov 29, 2009, 04:29 AM   #1284
tooz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by creator2456 View Post
Change the Output Encoding to UTF8.
sorry to be a n00b, but I can't see any setting to do that.
I'm using geektool 2.1.2
__________________
I support the MacRumors Blood Drive!
tooz is offline   0
Old Nov 29, 2009, 04:34 AM   #1285
vrede
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimckimmel View Post
I have no idea (really) what I'm doing, but I somehow managed to pull together this script (based on others in this thread, mostly) to get the latest quote of the day from an RSS feed I had in Google Reader. If anyone can make it better, please do so - for example, I can't figure out how to remove the blank lines at the top of each section when it's returned...

Code:
#!/bin/sh

url="http://feeds.feedburner.com/quotationspage/qotd"


if [ $# -eq 1 ] ; then
  headarg=$(( $1 * 2 ))  # $(( )) specifies that you're using an equation
else
  headarg="-8"  # default is four headlines 
fi

curl --silent "$url" | grep -E '(<description>)' | \
	sed '/^$/d' |\
	sed -n '2,$p' |\
	sed -e 's/<description>//' \
 	    -e 's/[^][^]*logo<\/description>//' \
            -e 's/&lt;a href=[^][^]*description>//' |\
	head $headarg | fmt -w 115

curl --silent "$url" | grep -E '(title>|<description)' | \
	sed -n '4,$p' |\
	sed -e 's/<title>/-/' \
            -e 's/<description[^][^]*description>//' \
	    -e 's/<\/title>//' |\
 	head $headarg | fmt
Hey,
I'm sort of new to this so I'm in need of help. Could somebody be so patient to update the quote of the day-script? The quoted above almost works but sadly only almost
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Bildschirmfoto 2009-11-29 um 11.33.42.png
Views:	83
Size:	122.8 KB
ID:	205110  
vrede is offline   0
Old Nov 29, 2009, 05:28 AM   #1286
creator2456
macrumors 68000
 
creator2456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by tooz View Post
sorry to be a n00b, but I can't see any setting to do that.
I'm using geektool 2.1.2
I think the setting is only in 3.0 RC5.

To anyone, is there a reason to use 2.1.2 over 3.0 RC5?
__________________
I have stuff...but I am also lazy.
Buy some of my stuff!!!
creator2456 is offline   0
Old Nov 29, 2009, 05:34 AM   #1287
tooz
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by creator2456 View Post
I think the setting is only in 3.0 RC5.

To anyone, is there a reason to use 2.1.2 over 3.0 RC5?
I went for the 2.1.2 because my internet's capped to 64 kbps and it was a smaller download.

I'll upgrade to 3.0 once my internet goes back up to 1.5Mbps and I get my 12GB back (geez I hate Australia and it's broadband)

but thanks for your help, I really appreciate it
__________________
I support the MacRumors Blood Drive!
tooz is offline   0
Old Nov 29, 2009, 11:32 AM   #1288
steezy1337
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Carlisle, UK
Send a message via MSN to steezy1337
i'm having problems finding a script to just display my CPU usage without showing what processes are actually running. i tried using the script below in the geektool command window but it says it won't work, any ideas why?

Quote:
uptime| awk '{print "UPTIME: " $3 " " $4 " " $5 " "}'; tp[-|1| awk'/PhysMem/{print "RAM : " $8 " "}'
also the scripts i've found to display ram & cpu usage never seem to work for me, does anyone have a working one i could use?
steezy1337 is offline   0
Old Nov 29, 2009, 12:27 PM   #1289
elykl33t
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
im trying to find a way to get processes sorted by %CPU, but are there any codes that will make the columns align? so that the PIDs are listed below "PID", etc?

http://forums.mactalk.com.au/18/5106...-part-2-a.html

the first one these, the process one, works, but it doesnt line up. can anyone help?
elykl33t is offline   0
Old Nov 29, 2009, 01:52 PM   #1290
coops
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Well, I prefer to keep my desktop pretty clean and dark... and don't really 'use' it much.. but couldn't resist the Geek - added date and time to my desktop - font is Gill Sans.

Fun tool - took some rummaging and trial and error to find out how to use it.. and some time to line those geeklets up nicely so it'll be ok when the 'January' and etc with lower descenders (? is that the correct font stylee term? ) come round....

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot GeekTool_30nov.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	64.9 KB
ID:	205150  
coops is offline   0
Old Nov 29, 2009, 02:05 PM   #1291
Chartreux
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quotes of the day

Quote:
Originally Posted by vrede View Post
Hey,
I'm sort of new to this so I'm in need of help. Could somebody be so patient to update the quote of the day-script? The quoted above almost works but sadly only almost
Maybe this helps:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/ruby

require 'rss'

rss = RSS::Parser.parse 'http://feeds.feedburner.com/quotationspage/qotd'

puts rss.channel.title,""

rss.items.each do |item|
  puts "#{item.description.sub(/<.*/m,'').strip} - #{item.title}"
end
Output:
Code:
Quotes of the Day

"Fallacies do not cease to be fallacies because they become fashions." - G. K. Chesterton
"The only sure thing about luck is that it will change." - Bret Harte
"Life is a long lesson in humility." - James M. Barrie
"The case has, in some respects, been not entirely devoid of interest." - Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
"The lion and the calf shall lie down together but the calf won't get much sleep." - Woody Allen
"A hotel isn't like a home, but it's better than being a house guest." - William Feather
"The world is full of willing people, some willing to work, the rest willing to let them." - Robert Frost
"Misery no longer loves company. Nowadays it insists on it." - Russell Baker
"It is only the great men who are truly obscene. If they had not dared to be obscene, they could never have dared to be great." - Havelock Ellis
"College isn't the place to go for ideas." - Helen Keller
"A celebrity is a person who works hard all his life to become well known, then wears dark glasses to avoid being recognized." - Fred Allen
"I have a rock garden. Last week three of them died." - Richard Diran

Last edited by Chartreux; Nov 29, 2009 at 05:12 PM.
Chartreux is offline   0
Old Dec 1, 2009, 11:39 AM   #1292
i person
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: UK
Was just wondering if anyone else was having issues with next month's calendar.
Mine shows this month but not next month.
I'm new to geektool and don't have a clue how to sort this so any help would be great.

Also i'd like to thank everyone who has posted code up on this thread, it's helped me to get a unique desktop.
__________________
"If a cat had fingers ... i'd give it a high five ..."
i person is offline   0
Old Dec 1, 2009, 12:57 PM   #1293
Seshan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Thanks for some of the scripts guys.
Here's mine.

Thumb resize.

Last edited by Seshan; Dec 1, 2009 at 02:52 PM.
Seshan is offline   0
Old Dec 1, 2009, 01:07 PM   #1294
oneijose
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Brooklyn NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seshan View Post
Thanks for some of the scripts guys.
Here's mine.

Thumb resize.
Where did you get that dock? I had it too and I delete it by accident. A friend of mines forward it to me and now i cant find it. BTW put a "T" In the [IMG] it makes ur pic smaller. ex. [TIMG]
oneijose is offline   0
Old Dec 1, 2009, 02:53 PM   #1295
Seshan
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneijose View Post
Where did you get that dock? I had it too and I delete it by accident. A friend of mines forward it to me and now i cant find it. BTW put a "T" In the [IMG] it makes ur pic smaller. ex. [TIMG]
I got the dock from leoparddocks.com and the indicators I found on deviant art.
Seshan is offline   0
Old Dec 1, 2009, 03:39 PM   #1296
jatlas
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
I was using the script posted a few pages back to 'highlight' the current date on a calendar. As it rolled over into December the script stopped working. Am I alone in this or is anyone else having the same problem?

Formerly working code:
Code:
cal | perl -wne 'BEGIN{chomp($d = `date "+%e"`)} if (/^ *\d/) {s/\b$d\b/"#" x length($d)/e; s/\d/ /g; s/#+/$d/g; print}'
jatlas is offline   0
Old Dec 1, 2009, 07:00 PM   #1297
Chartreux
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by jatlas View Post
I was using the script posted a few pages back to 'highlight' the current date on a calendar. As it rolled over into December the script stopped working. Am I alone in this or is anyone else having the same problem?

Formerly working code:
Code:
cal | perl -wne 'BEGIN{chomp($d = `date "+%e"`)} if (/^ *\d/) {s/\b$d\b/"#" x length($d)/e; s/\d/ /g; s/#+/$d/g; print}'
Well, the problem is that `date +%e` returns " 2", not "2" (note the leading space).
The substitute command "s/\b$d\b/" searches for $d surrounded by \b (word boundaries), meaning a-z, a digit or an underscore. Not a space!
But $d contains a space, so it does not match...
So: you need a date format without the leading space, but unfortunately such a format does not exist (%d prints the day with a leading zero if necessary).
Another solution is to strip the leading space from $d with a sed:
Code:
cal | perl -wne 'BEGIN{chomp($d = `date "+%e" | sed "s/^ //"`)} if (/^ *\d/) {s/\b$d\b/"#" x length($d)/e; s/\d/ /g; s/#+/$d/g; print}'
Chartreux is offline   0
Old Dec 1, 2009, 08:31 PM   #1298
Forsaken
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Send a message via AIM to Forsaken
I need to realign a few bits, but whatever. Yeah, it's Tiger, but I'm a late adopter, using tech until none of my personal killer apps support it.

http://img69.imageshack.us/img69/8089/picture1q.png

That thin white bar on the left is Sidenote.
Forsaken is offline   0
Old Dec 2, 2009, 12:00 AM   #1299
jatlas
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chartreux View Post
Another solution is to strip the leading space from $d with a sed:
Code:
cal | perl -wne 'BEGIN{chomp($d = `date "+%e" | sed "s/^ //"`)} if (/^ *\d/) {s/\b$d\b/"#" x length($d)/e; s/\d/ /g; s/#+/$d/g; print}'
Haha WAY over my head but the coding works perfectly. Thank you


On a similar note, has anyone figured out how to display the next month calendar correctly? All of the codes that have been posted put up January 2009 when I try them..
jatlas is offline   0
Old Dec 2, 2009, 09:31 PM   #1300
jhncbrwn
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
How to show a random line from a text file

Could somebody please help me with a script that shows a random line from a text file.
jhncbrwn is offline   0


Closed Thread
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery > UI Customization

Tags
background, desktop, geektool, time, wallpaper

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Geektool: Help with GeekTool? codyd51 UI Customization 0 Dec 6, 2013 07:01 PM
Geektool bodhi9 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Apr 1, 2013 12:30 AM
Geektool: Your Geektool scripts (II) brenm666 UI Customization 10 Dec 5, 2012 10:55 AM
GeekTool Tander Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Dec 4, 2012 10:05 AM
Geektool on rMBP LeGacY X MacBook Pro 6 Jun 30, 2012 11:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC