Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery > UI Customization

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Dec 7, 2009, 11:03 PM   #1376
RogersDA
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by DEE9299 View Post
could you post your script for the calender and date and time also do you know how i can get my hotmail email to show up on the screen like you did?
Calendar at the bottom is the great program DateLine.

Date (w/ thanks to Chartreux for injecting this easier code back to my brain again):
Code:
date +"%d %B %Y"
Time:
Code:
date +"%l:%M %p"
Hotmail: No Clue - Never used it.
RogersDA is offline   0
Old Dec 7, 2009, 11:13 PM   #1377
tozol
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Leabrooks Derbyshire UK
Send a message via Skype™ to tozol
OK guys just a few tidy up questions for me, as I think Ill leave mine for now as its my xmas theme, and first go.

But take a look at my screen shot, and you see such things as, my cpu, the battery, and trash, scripts,?
Well simple question, they don't seem to refresh on there own, what I mean is, if left on DT as they should, they just stay the numbers they were previous.

Now if i reopen geektool, and click on the box with the details in, they intsantly refresh, so its like I have to manually refresh them.
Any reason why, and how can I fix it.??

1 final point, the cpu one, always shows 100%, doesn't seem right.

thanks for any help...
(click on screeny for full size)


tozol is offline   0
Old Dec 7, 2009, 11:29 PM   #1378
libwolf
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by tozol View Post
OK guys just a few tidy up questions for me, as I think Ill leave mine for now as its my xmas theme, and first go.

But take a look at my screen shot, and you see such things as, my cpu, the battery, and trash, scripts,?
Well simple question, they don't seem to refresh on there own, what I mean is, if left on DT as they should, they just stay the numbers they were previous.

Now if i reopen geektool, and click on the box with the details in, they intsantly refresh, so its like I have to manually refresh them.
Any reason why, and how can I fix it.??
You did remember to put a time in for 'Refresh Every' in the properties window, right?
libwolf is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 12:38 AM   #1379
partyBoy
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dilligaf
Quote:
Originally Posted by Topher15 View Post
Made a bigger version for my MacBook:


where did u get that rainbow space wallpaper ?
partyBoy is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 02:46 AM   #1380
fr3ak
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Picasa script

Hi everyone, cool scripts in this threat. It has helped me allot when playing with geektool.

I've searched Google for at Picasa web album script to display the pictures of my web albums. Do anyone know if this exist?

I know that Picasa uses RSS so maybe one could extract the pictures through that? I want to take between 5 and 10 images randomly from one of my albums and display it on the desktop. Can anyone help with this?

EDIT: BTW, I'm also looking for a script to pool my appointments from Google calendar if anyone can help with this or point me in the right direction?

Last edited by fr3ak; Dec 8, 2009 at 02:49 AM. Reason: One more question
fr3ak is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 03:06 AM   #1381
tozol
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Leabrooks Derbyshire UK
Send a message via Skype™ to tozol
Quote:
Originally Posted by libwolf View Post
You did remember to put a time in for 'Refresh Every' in the properties window, right?
I left all refresh values at default (0 I think)
tozol is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 03:37 AM   #1382
creator2456
macrumors 68000
 
creator2456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Chicago
Quote:
Originally Posted by tozol View Post
I left all refresh values at default (0 I think)
That could be why they don't refresh, and definitely why the CPU is at 100%.

Put the time to refresh every 60 seconds, the date every 86400 seconds (24 hours), etc. etc.
__________________
I have stuff...but I am also lazy.
Buy some of my stuff!!!
creator2456 is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 07:26 AM   #1383
barvid
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Anyone?

Quote:
Originally Posted by barvid View Post
Iīm really new to this..

Is there anyone that like to help me to extract METARīs and TAFīs from these to sites. Iīve tried to figure out how to do it my self but.. well, I donīt have a clue!

METAR and TAF and of course select just the ones o need..

Thanks alot guys!

/Barvid
Is there anyone that can help me with this..? Pleeeease..
barvid is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 08:11 AM   #1384
RogersDA
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by barvid View Post
Is there anyone that can help me with this..? Pleeeease..
There are several posts in this thread regarding METAR and TAF. Maybe not to your specific sites, but they should help.

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...postcount=1250

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...postcount=1251

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...postcount=1253

http://forums.macrumors.com/showpost...postcount=1254
RogersDA is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 08:20 AM   #1385
barvid
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by RogersDA View Post
Thanks, Yeah. Iīve seen those posts. But the thing is that I canīt get the METARs and TAFs I need with the help of those scripts. So thatīs why I posted a question of my own.
But thanks anyway for ya help!
barvid is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 10:47 AM   #1386
Scrbzzz
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
I can't seem to get this to work for me, does anyone have any pointers.
http://www.macosxtips.co.uk/index_fi...n-desktop.html

I downloaded and installed iCalBuddy and my initial try was with the code given at the bottom but nothing came up. It said in terminal that thats where it was installed but when I go to look for the files I cant seem to find usr/local/bin
Scrbzzz is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 11:21 AM   #1387
Wowzera
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Brazil
Quote:
Originally Posted by RogersDA View Post
Based on the image you posted that person probably used two shell windows: one for the echo and one for the date. Fonts are the same, but the sizes are different. The echo shell was also moved to its current location, too, I'm sure.
Here is my quick take:


Thanks, I already got it to work. My confusion was about if he was using just one shell window or two. If any of us is interested, the font used is Neutra Text Book SC
Thanks to all who helped.

Last edited by Wowzera; Dec 8, 2009 at 11:28 AM.
Wowzera is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 01:34 PM   #1388
fr3ak
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chartreux View Post
I wrote a tiny Ruby script to display RSS-feeds.

It takes a RSS-link as the only parameter and displays the channel name + the time and title of each item.

Put something like this in the Command field of GeekTool (I saved it as "rss.rb" in my personal bin directory):

Code:
~/bin/rss.rb http://www.macrumors.com/macrumors.xml
Script:
Code:
#!/usr/bin/ruby

require 'rss'
require 'open-uri'

rss = RSS::Parser.parse open(ARGV.shift).read, false

puts rss.channel.title

rss.items.each_with_index do |item,i|
  puts "" if i.zero? or item.date.day != rss.items[i-1].date.day

  puts "#{item.date.strftime '%H:%M'}  #{item.title}"
end
Remember to turn on the executable bit: chmod +x rss.rb
No need to install Ruby by the way, it's already included in OS X, so it should work out of the box.
Thanks for the script - works great.

How do i set a limit to the amount of content that is displayed?
fr3ak is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 03:28 PM   #1389
elykl33t
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
I finally managed to make my weather script work, but whenever I try to change the unit from celsius to fahrenheit it stops showing anything at all.

Code:
curl --silent "http://xml.weather.yahoo.com/forecastrss?p=USVA0007&u=f" | grep -E '(Current Conditions:|C<BR)' | sed -e 's/Current Conditions://' -e 's/<br \/>//' -e 's/<b>//' -e 's/<\/b>//' -e 's/<BR \/>//' -e 's/<description>//' -e 's/<\/description>//' | tail -n1
whenever I try and use printer.wunderground.com like a lot of other people are, I get servers for everything around me (DC, Fairfax, Alexandria, and Ft. Belvoir). any ideas??
elykl33t is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 05:05 PM   #1390
RogersDA
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by elykl33t View Post
I finally managed to make my weather script work, but whenever I try to change the unit from celsius to fahrenheit it stops showing anything at all
There are two "f" variables that need to be changed to "c" in that script (or vice versa). You only did one.

Celcius
Code:
curl --silent "http://xml.weather.yahoo.com/forecastrss?p=USVA0007&u=c" | grep -E '(Current Conditions:|C<BR)' | sed -e 's/Current Conditions://' -e 's/<br \/>//' -e 's/<b>//' -e 's/<\/b>//' -e 's/<BR \/>//' -e 's/<description>//' -e 's/<\/description>//' | tail -n1
Fahrenheit
Code:
curl --silent "http://xml.weather.yahoo.com/forecastrss?p=USVA0007&u=f" | grep -E '(Current Conditions:|F<BR)' | sed -e 's/Current Conditions://' -e 's/<br \/>//' -e 's/<b>//' -e 's/<\/b>//' -e 's/<BR \/>//' -e 's/<description>//' -e 's/<\/description>//' | tail -n1
RogersDA is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 08:45 PM   #1391
RogersDA
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by DEE9299 View Post
...do you know how i can get my hotmail email to show up on the screen like you did?
I found this post that discusses getting hotmail into Mac Mail. Maybe if that still works then you can use the applescript to output the correct fields.

Last edited by RogersDA; Dec 8, 2009 at 08:54 PM.
RogersDA is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 08:49 PM   #1392
elykl33t
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
thanks a bunch!!!!!!!
elykl33t is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 09:03 PM   #1393
Forsaken
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Send a message via AIM to Forsaken
Quote:
Originally Posted by RogersDA View Post
There are two "f" variables that need to be changed to "c" in that script (or vice versa). You only did one.

Celcius
Code:
curl --silent "http://xml.weather.yahoo.com/forecastrss?p=USVA0007&u=c" | grep -E '(Current Conditions:|C<BR)' | sed -e 's/Current Conditions://' -e 's/<br \/>//' -e 's/<b>//' -e 's/<\/b>//' -e 's/<BR \/>//' -e 's/<description>//' -e 's/<\/description>//' | tail -n1
Fahrenheit
Code:
curl --silent "http://xml.weather.yahoo.com/forecastrss?p=USVA0007&u=f" | grep -E '(Current Conditions:|F<BR)' | sed -e 's/Current Conditions://' -e 's/<br \/>//' -e 's/<b>//' -e 's/<\/b>//' -e 's/<BR \/>//' -e 's/<description>//' -e 's/<\/description>//' | tail -n1
Was wondering the same thing. Thanks for the code.
__________________
site
Forsaken is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 09:19 PM   #1394
DEE9299
macrumors 6502a
 
DEE9299's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Boston Mass.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RogersDA View Post
I found this post that discusses getting hotmail into Mac Mail. Maybe if that still works then you can use the applescript to output the correct fields.
I think that was to get it to show up in your mail icon in the dock but I already have my hotmail to show up thru the mail icon in the dock now I need help to get it from there into geektool to the main screen
DEE9299 is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 10:20 PM   #1395
RogersDA
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by DEE9299 View Post
I think that was to get it to show up in your mail icon in the dock but I already have my hotmail to show up thru the mail icon in the dock now I need help to get it from there into geektool to the main screen
The script I use for showing mail on the desktop involves two items:
an applescript to get the information
a shell script to run the applescript

The following applescript is placed in the directory of choice. Run applescript, insert the following code, compile/save as a file; e.g., mail.scpt
I use /var/tmp to save all my geektool stuff.

The code below uses several spaces that I use to help things line up when using a fixed-width font.

Code:
set newline to ASCII character 10

set finalText to ""

tell application "Mail"
	set theMessages to (messages of inbox whose read status is false)
	repeat with i from 1 to number of items in theMessages
		set thisMessage to item i of theMessages
		set dateMsg to (date received of thisMessage as string)
		set fromMsg to (sender of thisMessage as string)
		set subjMsg to (subject of thisMessage as string)
		set finalText to finalText & " From: " & word 1 of fromMsg & " " & word 2 of fromMsg & newline & " Date: " & word 3 of dateMsg & " " & word 2 of dateMsg & " " & word 4 of dateMsg & newline & " Subj: " & subjMsg & newline & newline
	end repeat
end tell
finalText
Now, in geektools, I use the following shell to run the script:
Code:
echo Unread EMail
osascript /var/tmp/mail.scpt
RogersDA is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 11:27 PM   #1396
DEE9299
macrumors 6502a
 
DEE9299's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Boston Mass.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RogersDA View Post
The script I use for showing mail on the desktop involves two items:
an applescript to get the information
a shell script to run the applescript

The following applescript is placed in the directory of choice. Run applescript, insert the following code, compile/save as a file; e.g., mail.scpt
I use /var/tmp to save all my geektool stuff.

The code below uses several spaces that I use to help things line up when using a fixed-width font.

Code:
set newline to ASCII character 10

set finalText to ""

tell application "Mail"
	set theMessages to (messages of inbox whose read status is false)
	repeat with i from 1 to number of items in theMessages
		set thisMessage to item i of theMessages
		set dateMsg to (date received of thisMessage as string)
		set fromMsg to (sender of thisMessage as string)
		set subjMsg to (subject of thisMessage as string)
		set finalText to finalText & " From: " & word 1 of fromMsg & " " & word 2 of fromMsg & newline & " Date: " & word 3 of dateMsg & " " & word 2 of dateMsg & " " & word 4 of dateMsg & newline & " Subj: " & subjMsg & newline & newline
	end repeat
end tell
finalText
Now, in geektools, I use the following shell to run the script:
Code:
echo Unread EMail
osascript /var/tmp/mail.scpt
Oh boy now I am completely confused ......I am lost where is applescript located
DEE9299 is offline   0
Old Dec 8, 2009, 11:30 PM   #1397
Saul89
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by tozol View Post
OK guys just a few tidy up questions for me, as I think Ill leave mine for now as its my xmas theme, and first go.

But take a look at my screen shot, and you see such things as, my cpu, the battery, and trash, scripts,?
Well simple question, they don't seem to refresh on there own, what I mean is, if left on DT as they should, they just stay the numbers they were previous.

Now if i reopen geektool, and click on the box with the details in, they intsantly refresh, so its like I have to manually refresh them.
Any reason why, and how can I fix it.??

1 final point, the cpu one, always shows 100%, doesn't seem right.

thanks for any help...
(click on screeny for full size)




What is the script for battery percentage? I've scoured the internet looking for one and all I could find was someone's screenshots on flickr and they haven't answered my question on how to do it. I asked earlier in this topic if anyone had a way and didn't get an answer...

Thank you.
Saul89 is offline   0
Old Dec 9, 2009, 12:31 AM   #1398
DEE9299
macrumors 6502a
 
DEE9299's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Boston Mass.
Quote:
Originally Posted by RogersDA View Post
The script I use for showing mail on the desktop involves two items:
an applescript to get the information
a shell script to run the applescript

The following applescript is placed in the directory of choice. Run applescript, insert the following code, compile/save as a file; e.g., mail.scpt
I use /var/tmp to save all my geektool stuff.

The code below uses several spaces that I use to help things line up when using a fixed-width font.

Code:
set newline to ASCII character 10

set finalText to ""

tell application "Mail"
	set theMessages to (messages of inbox whose read status is false)
	repeat with i from 1 to number of items in theMessages
		set thisMessage to item i of theMessages
		set dateMsg to (date received of thisMessage as string)
		set fromMsg to (sender of thisMessage as string)
		set subjMsg to (subject of thisMessage as string)
		set finalText to finalText & " From: " & word 1 of fromMsg & " " & word 2 of fromMsg & newline & " Date: " & word 3 of dateMsg & " " & word 2 of dateMsg & " " & word 4 of dateMsg & newline & " Subj: " & subjMsg & newline & newline
	end repeat
end tell
finalText
Now, in geektools, I use the following shell to run the script:
Code:
echo Unread EMail
osascript /var/tmp/mail.scpt
Thanks it works I figured where and how to use apple script ......now i cant stop playing with geektools
DEE9299 is offline   0
Old Dec 9, 2009, 12:37 AM   #1399
SchneiderMan
macrumors 604
 
SchneiderMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: California
Anyway to have Geektool start automatically on startup? i find my self having to start it up again all the time.
__________________
Gdgtmac.com // TheGearGrid.com <Featuring The Best In Tech
SchneiderMan is offline   0
Old Dec 9, 2009, 01:57 AM   #1400
partyBoy
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Dilligaf
Quote:
Originally Posted by SchneiderMan View Post
Anyway to have Geektool start automatically on startup? i find my self having to start it up again all the time.
put it in the log in items in your user acct settings in your system preferences
partyBoy is offline   0


Closed Thread
MacRumors Forums > Mac Community > Picture Gallery > UI Customization

Tags
background, desktop, geektool, time, wallpaper

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Geektool: Help with GeekTool? codyd51 UI Customization 0 Dec 6, 2013 07:01 PM
Geektool bodhi9 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Apr 1, 2013 12:30 AM
Geektool: Your Geektool scripts (II) brenm666 UI Customization 10 Dec 5, 2012 10:55 AM
GeekTool Tander Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Dec 4, 2012 10:05 AM
Geektool on rMBP LeGacY X MacBook Pro 6 Jun 30, 2012 11:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC