Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 8, 2009, 06:42 PM   #1
eximius vir
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Hooking Ibook G4 up to 1080p LCD TV via HDMI

ok, so for the sake of the argument, I NEED this to work. I'll do anything to get it work (and already have)

I bought a 32'' 1080p tv to be an external monitor for my IbookG4. I need to hook it up via HDMI to even get the 1080p. I bought a $100 converter to get VGA to HDMI output with HDCP. 1080 didn't show up on my list, and the highest I can get is 1280x1024. I then bought DisplayConfigX and installed to get the resolution, and i still get the same thing. My vid card is a
ATIRadeon9700 pro mac edition, and should be able to go up to 1920. I've had a monitor hooked up via vga before that put out 1600x1100.

I just have no idea how to get this work. any help would be great. THANKS!

ps: I've also already run that program that make 2 monitors instead of just mirroring the 1
eximius vir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2009, 06:53 PM   #2
finnschi
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Send a message via AIM to finnschi Send a message via MSN to finnschi Send a message via Skype™ to finnschi
Quote:
Originally Posted by eximius vir View Post
ok, so for the sake of the argument, I NEED this to work. I'll do anything to get it work (and already have)

I bought a 32'' 1080p tv to be an external monitor for my IbookG4. I need to hook it up via HDMI to even get the 1080p. I bought a $100 converter to get VGA to HDMI output with HDCP. 1080 didn't show up on my list, and the highest I can get is 1280x1024. I then bought DisplayConfigX and installed to get the resolution, and i still get the same thing. My vid card is a
ATIRadeon9700 pro mac edition, and should be able to go up to 1920. I've had a monitor hooked up via vga before that put out 1600x1100.

I just have no idea how to get this work. any help would be great. THANKS!

ps: I've also already run that program that make 2 monitors instead of just mirroring the 1
you could spend 1000$ and get a new macbook and then hook it up using Mini display port to Hdmi ...

maybe try tunring off the internal monitor,... and also, why go HD? I donÄt think your ibook can play HD movies?
__________________
Macbook Unibody 2,4Ghz 2Gbram 250Gb HD
Powermac G4
iPhone 3G 16Gb
finnschi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2009, 06:58 PM   #3
eximius vir
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by finnschi View Post
you could spend 1000$ and get a new macbook and then hook it up using Mini display port to Hdmi ...

maybe try tunring off the internal monitor,... and also, why go HD? I donÄt think your ibook can play HD movies?

i need it for the resolution. I use the adobe suite for art, animation, and photo editing, and the extra size would be great.
eximius vir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2009, 07:02 PM   #4
finnschi
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Send a message via AIM to finnschi Send a message via MSN to finnschi Send a message via Skype™ to finnschi
Quote:
Originally Posted by eximius vir View Post
i need it for the resolution. I use the adobe suite for art, animation, and photo editing, and the extra size would be great.
Thats true, but I never heard of VGA beign able to deliver such great reolutions! also have you considered that on a 32" screen even Full HD will not be very usefull for Working? I mean more important than raw disply size is always Pixel/inch ! so i.e my 22" samsung has 1680x1050 , that allot mor p/inch than your does! Just try hooking up a newer pc to that screen, and you will be able to see that this will not help you for your work allot, maybe as a proof screen..
__________________
Macbook Unibody 2,4Ghz 2Gbram 250Gb HD
Powermac G4
iPhone 3G 16Gb
finnschi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2009, 07:07 PM   #5
eximius vir
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by finnschi View Post
Thats true, but I never heard of VGA beign able to deliver such great reolutions! also have you considered that on a 32" screen even Full HD will not be very usefull for Working? I mean more important than raw disply size is always Pixel/inch ! so i.e my 22" samsung has 1680x1050 , that allot mor p/inch than your does! Just try hooking up a newer pc to that screen, and you will be able to see that this will not help you for your work allot, maybe as a proof screen..
not too much less. 1920x1080 is a pretty large output, and only 10 inches bigger.
eximius vir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2009, 07:15 PM   #6
finnschi
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Send a message via AIM to finnschi Send a message via MSN to finnschi Send a message via Skype™ to finnschi
Quote:
Originally Posted by eximius vir View Post
not too much less. 1920x1080 is a pretty large output, and only 10 inches bigger.
"only 10 inches " well you will see when you make it work, i personaly don't think vga supports that big of a resolution ...
__________________
Macbook Unibody 2,4Ghz 2Gbram 250Gb HD
Powermac G4
iPhone 3G 16Gb
finnschi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2009, 07:20 PM   #7
eximius vir
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by finnschi View Post
"only 10 inches " well you will see when you make it work, i personaly don't think vga supports that big of a resolution ...
which is why i bought the converter, which on the box states that it can do 1080p
eximius vir is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2009, 07:33 PM   #8
finnschi
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Send a message via AIM to finnschi Send a message via MSN to finnschi Send a message via Skype™ to finnschi
Quote:
Originally Posted by eximius vir View Post
which is why i bought the converter, which on the box states that it can do 1080p
weird... and you can't select a higher res for the monitor in OSX settings while NOT mirroring, and also did you try to turn off the internal monitor?


just connect the 2nd scrreen, close the lid... wait... then press some keys on a external keyboard and wake it up from sleep, the internal monitor is disabled then!
__________________
Macbook Unibody 2,4Ghz 2Gbram 250Gb HD
Powermac G4
iPhone 3G 16Gb
finnschi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 8, 2009, 08:13 PM   #9
eximius vir
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Quote:
Originally Posted by finnschi View Post
weird... and you can't select a higher res for the monitor in OSX settings while NOT mirroring, and also did you try to turn off the internal monitor?


just connect the 2nd scrreen, close the lid... wait... then press some keys on a external keyboard and wake it up from sleep, the internal monitor is disabled then!
i know how to do that, but when on the 1920x1080 setting all i get is a blank screen. it flickers for a second then goes out. the resolution appears on the list, it just won't display at anything above 1200x1024
eximius vir is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hooking my Mac Mini to my TV via HDMI? EvilEvil Mac mini 9 May 8, 2013 07:13 PM
Why Do I Get Black Side Boarders On My 32" 1080p LCD? PeteJames MacBook Pro 13 Aug 18, 2012 10:27 AM
rMBP with wireless HDMI to TV @1080p? striker33 MacBook Pro 13 Jul 2, 2012 07:35 PM
I Can't Get My Macbook Air To Appear On My LCD TV Via My HDMI Adapter PaulNI MacBook Air 2 Jun 12, 2012 05:24 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC