Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > Mac Programming

Old Jan 12, 2009, 02:11 AM   #1
fab5freddy
macrumors 65816

Cocoa vs Carbon ?

I am rather new to programming and want to know
what the difference between Cocoa and Carbon are ?

thanks !
fab5freddy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2009, 02:14 AM   #2
TuffLuffJimmy
macrumors G3

carbon isn't 64bit and is going to be killed off sooner or later. Stick with cocoa.
Old Jan 12, 2009, 04:39 AM   #3
neonblue2
macrumors 6502a

Carbon ---> C, C++
Cocoa ---> Objective-C
Old Jan 12, 2009, 10:09 AM   #4
kainjow
Moderator emeritus

Quote:
Originally Posted by TuffLuffJimmy View Post
carbon isn't 64bit and is going to be killed off sooner or later. Stick with cocoa.
Yes if you're new to Mac OS X programming, skip over Carbon, at least the UI stuff. The file/alias/etc manager still applies and can be used in 64-bit but to do a UI use Cocoa.
kainjow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2009, 12:21 PM   #5
hhas
macrumors regular

Quote:
Originally Posted by TuffLuffJimmy View Post
carbon isn't 64bit and is going to be killed off sooner or later.
First bit is wrong; second is speculation. Carbon's GUI APIs are 32-bit only, as are the Carbon QuickTime APIs; avoid these for new development. Most other major Carbon APIs are present on 64-bit OS X. Quite a few provide functionality that is absent or inferior in Cocoa.

For GUI work use Cocoa. For other other things you'll likely want to stay on Cocoa where practical, but don't be put off using officially supported Carbon APIs where you need them.
Old Jan 12, 2009, 01:01 PM   #6
semicolons
macrumors newbie

Avoid carbon until you need it, as Cocoa is the future. It has been recommended by Apple, for the past few years at least, that you use Cocoa for new development. Unfortunately, there are still some things you can't do in Cocoa, for which you need Carbon, but don't bother with Carbon until you need it.