Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 15, 2009, 09:41 PM   #1
MacNoobie
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Colorado
Send a message via AIM to MacNoobie Send a message via Yahoo to MacNoobie
iPhone 3G 3 way calling

I know this is another thread about 3 way calling not working but I thought I'd share my experience. I called up at&t got this awesome woman on the other end that told me that 3 way calling was enabled on my account. I explained to her that I read online that people called up at&t and they said yes its enabled but transferred me to their tech department before realizing that somewhere else it wasn't (some other application). So she offers to transfer me to the apple techs but I explain what I'd read and she offered to transfer me to at&t tech. So we go through the whole spiel, he says that he talked to the apple tech, they were having issues with the 3 way calling at this time (what do you mean at this time.. software wise or.. service). Since I have a "single line" on my account that I couldn't do 2 or 3 way calling. The Apple tech said she had 4 lines on her account and could do up to 4 people.

So is any of this ********?? or is there some truth behind having 2-3 lines on your account (maybe a family plan with 2-3 phones on it for example) to make 3 way calling work. I've actually never heard that you need 2+ lines to make it work on anything other then a land line because that was a limitation to the network and the way the phones worked.

Do I need to call back and get a different tech that would make things hunky dory or just suck up having a single line?
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II & 5D + 17-40 f/4L | 24-70 f/2.8L + 70-200 f/2.8L IS | QFlash T5dR + Turbo 2x2 battery | MP 2.8 10GB 8800GT 1.4TB HDD 30" ACD
MacNoobie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2009, 09:02 AM   #2
DPA
macrumors 65816
 
DPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: trapped as a prisoner of a purple aurora and an aluminum device
Having to have 2+ lines on your accounts does sound like a hunk of ********!!! This sounds like a lame excuse from AT&T because their crappy network is having problems.

David
__________________
iForum Rules Nazi
DPA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2009, 06:19 PM   #3
MacNoobie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Colorado
Send a message via AIM to MacNoobie Send a message via Yahoo to MacNoobie
****** service is right it works perfectly now on both EDGE & 3G.
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II & 5D + 17-40 f/4L | 24-70 f/2.8L + 70-200 f/2.8L IS | QFlash T5dR + Turbo 2x2 battery | MP 2.8 10GB 8800GT 1.4TB HDD 30" ACD
MacNoobie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2009, 10:17 PM   #4
DPA
macrumors 65816
 
DPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: trapped as a prisoner of a purple aurora and an aluminum device
Like I said, ****** up service. I was really hoping to see the unlocked iPhone for $499 and $599 at Macworld, I guess I'll just have to wait for the iPhone cycle to start in June. I would love a Verizon iPhone.

David
__________________
iForum Rules Nazi
DPA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2009, 05:49 AM   #5
MacNoobie
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Colorado
Send a message via AIM to MacNoobie Send a message via Yahoo to MacNoobie
I'd love to see one on tmobile honestly their plans are inexpensive and wtf for 35 a month unlimited data/text.. where 200/1500/Unlimited messages costs $5/15/20 extra on top of the data plans.

I dont mind paying but damn its going to end up $130 for what tmobile charges ~75 for.
__________________
Canon 5D Mark II & 5D + 17-40 f/4L | 24-70 f/2.8L + 70-200 f/2.8L IS | QFlash T5dR + Turbo 2x2 battery | MP 2.8 10GB 8800GT 1.4TB HDD 30" ACD
MacNoobie is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2009, 06:09 PM   #6
Plasity
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quick Question.. I've Been Looking For This Everywhere But.. Most People Say AT&T Has 3 Way Calling On Iphones.. Am I Right? Well Now, My Question Is... Does Rogers Have It Aswell? Or Did I Just Get Screwed? It Hadn't Said Anything About It In The Information Pack That Came With The Iphone.. I've Been Looking For This Everywhere!!
Plasity is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2009, 07:04 PM   #7
DPA
macrumors 65816
 
DPA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: trapped as a prisoner of a purple aurora and an aluminum device
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plasity View Post
Quick Question.. I've Been Looking For This Everywhere But.. Most People Say AT&T Has 3 Way Calling On Iphones.. Am I Right? Well Now, My Question Is... Does Rogers Have It Aswell? Or Did I Just Get Screwed? It Hadn't Said Anything About It In The Information Pack That Came With The Iphone.. I've Been Looking For This Everywhere!!
AT&T does offer up to 5 way calling on iPhone for free. I believe you have to pay for 3 way calling with Rogers, but I live in the US not UK so I'm not sure.

David
__________________
iForum Rules Nazi
DPA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2009, 08:03 PM   #8
Acronym
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Plasity View Post
Quick Question.. I've Been Looking For This Everywhere But.. Most People Say AT&T Has 3 Way Calling On Iphones.. Am I Right? Well Now, My Question Is... Does Rogers Have It Aswell? Or Did I Just Get Screwed? It Hadn't Said Anything About It In The Information Pack That Came With The Iphone.. I've Been Looking For This Everywhere!!
i have called done three way calling on my iphone i am with Rogers im not sure if i was charged though.
Acronym is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone > iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calling all iPhone Collectors Fralle iPhone 107 Dec 2, 2014 03:52 PM
Resolved: iPhone 5c turns off while calling... iPodJedi iPhone 3 Dec 11, 2013 08:34 PM
Calling only iPhone appleva iPhone 25 Nov 11, 2012 08:06 AM
FaceTime HD calling between iPhone 5 and mac ? enkay18 iPhone 0 Oct 11, 2012 01:24 AM
WTF, Why are people calling it the iPhone 5? XP7051V3 Wasteland 1 Jun 12, 2012 10:50 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC