Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2009, 02:49 AM   #1
john1585
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
how to activate iphone without att and itunes?

i just got this brand new iphone

i was just wonder is there any way to activate the iphone without itunes/at&t?

i already have an at&t sims card, so all i need is to activate the phone, and i dont want their data plan.

oh i forgot if i jailbreak the iphone would that automatically activate my iphone ?

Last edited by Mitthrawnuruodo; Jan 16, 2009 at 04:01 AM. Reason: Merging, threads and post, please read up on the rules...
john1585 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2009, 03:09 AM   #2
nickspohn
macrumors 68040
 
nickspohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
So how do you have this brand new iPhone again?
__________________
My Old Reviews: iPhone 4 | iPhone 3GS | iPhone 3G | iPhone
Macbook Pro 17inch Unibody Core i5
iPad 4
nickspohn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2009, 04:56 AM   #3
MikePA
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nickspohn View Post
So how do you have this brand new iPhone again?
Too bad he didn't find a Shift key.

No, jb wont activate an iPhone.
MikePA is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2009, 08:40 PM   #4
TheConfuzed1
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Send a message via AIM to TheConfuzed1
If you don't want the data plan, you will have to jailbreak it, and turn off the data, otherwise, you'll get a hefty bill.
__________________
http://www.last.fm/user/theconfuzed1
Words With Friends: theconfuzed1
Chess With Friends: theconfuzed1
GameCenter: theconfuzed1
TheConfuzed1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2009, 06:31 AM   #5
kalda01
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheConfuzed1 View Post
If you don't want the data plan, you will have to jailbreak it, and turn off the data, otherwise, you'll get a hefty bill.
If I buy online from AT&T and they ship the phone to my house, will it be activated by them or will I need to activate it?
What happens if I dont activate it ??
kalda01 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2009, 04:04 AM   #6
ohmygahitscoby
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
I think you have to activate it because you're paying for it anyways, since when you buy the phone you start paying for the plan (Included in the bill).
ohmygahitscoby is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2009, 04:33 AM   #7
Tokiopop
macrumors 68000
 
Tokiopop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: West Yorkshire, UK
Send a message via MSN to Tokiopop Send a message via Skype™ to Tokiopop
If you use PwnageTool you can activate it.
__________________
MBP 13", iPhone 3G, iPhone 4 32GB

I'm afraid your sarcasm detectors are broken, good sir.
Tokiopop is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
should i activate before with provided att sim before unlocking blakes iPhone 0 Dec 20, 2012 02:28 AM
ATT Directions to Swap Phone/Line and Activate New Iphone nostresshere iPhone 16 Oct 11, 2012 11:43 PM
Activate iPhone 5 at work without iTunes or Wifi? spurbs iPhone 1 Sep 26, 2012 11:01 AM
Cant activate new iPhone 5 in iTunes???? FooArk iPhone 2 Sep 25, 2012 03:52 PM
iPhone 2G 1.1.4 able to activate with iTunes and AT&T braddick iPhone 4 Aug 19, 2012 08:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC