Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 16, 2009, 08:00 AM   #1
kozay
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Send a message via MSN to kozay
Ipod touch is malfunctioning.

Recently, I plugged in my Ipod touch into my Imac to update some songs, Itunes was already open and nothing. My ipod didn't show up or mount or whatever. I resetted the Ipod, and even tried DFU. Still when I did the DFU Mode, Itunes said ,"Could not restore Ipod" When I simply tried to just restore my iPod (the hold sleep and home screen until apple logo shows then hold home screen) and it would show on Itunes saying "Has detected an ipod in recovery mode" then when I click restore, it goes away and my Ipod disappears, then I restart my iPod and my old media was restored onto my Ipod.

I have the latest Itunes (8.0.2) and alot of times it says "Cannot connect to Iphone" and its not an IPHONE at all. I've tried plugging the usb into my keyboard, and the back of the Imac.

Could it be that I'm not using the white USB that came with the Ipod?

Any advice on how to fix this?
__________________
20" Imac Intel, 2.5 GHz, 8GB iPod Touch, 20GB iPod Photo
kozay is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2009, 09:20 PM   #2
iOrlando
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
all i know is dont use keyboard slot... use the cord that came with it as well...

if all else fails...apple store is a must.
iOrlando is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2009, 09:48 PM   #3
canadagrad
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
I wish I could be more help, but I have encountered something kind of similar in that itunes will go on and off with recognizing my iPT and then booting it off, or telling me to restore it, but then it starts synching it and then boots me off again. Today it kept recognizing it as an iphone as well.

I chalk this up to the wonderful world of windoze quirks, since that's what I'm using, but I wonder why this is happening?
canadagrad is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2009, 08:06 AM   #4
kozay
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Send a message via MSN to kozay
Thanks anyways.

It keeps giving me Error 1611.
I really really need a way to fix this problem because I live on Guam, so there is no Apple Store. Just electronic stores that sell apple products.
__________________
20" Imac Intel, 2.5 GHz, 8GB iPod Touch, 20GB iPod Photo
kozay is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod touch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPod Touch 4G or wait? pchipchip iPod touch 37 Jul 21, 2012 05:11 PM
When is iPod Touch 5G coming out? pchipchip iPod touch 11 Jun 9, 2012 10:23 AM
Is a ipod touch too much for children under 6 years of age?? dmetz283 iPod touch 28 Nov 18, 2011 08:34 AM
Slim iPod Touch 4G cases? pchipchip iPod touch 15 Oct 12, 2011 11:26 PM
I think my iPod touch is broke. Dagless iPod touch 1 Dec 21, 2010 03:08 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC