Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 17, 2009, 09:26 PM   #1
Manatee
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Washington DC
Which SSDs compatible with MacBook Pro?

Does any website keep track of which available SSDs are compatible with Apple notebook models?

I see more and more SSDs available from on-line sellers, but I don't see much information on compatibility. I'd consider getting one for my MacBook Pro, but I'd need to know which ones will work in it. As the prices of SSD fall, I guess there will be lots of threads on forums like this about swapping in a SSD -- but right not I'm not seeing much.

Thanks,
__________________
Peter -- MBP 15", MBA 13" 256GB, iPhone 4S, 5G nano, New iPad
Manatee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2009, 10:08 PM   #2
infernohellion
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KÝbenhavn
I'm on for switching SSD when prices fall as well.

However, right now different brands (and of-course different prices) of SSDs lead to very different performance. Some brands are even slower than normal HDDs.
__________________
rMBP 15", 2.6GHz, 16GB RAM, 750GB SSD; iPhone 5s
infernohellion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2009, 02:21 AM   #3
Thiol
macrumors 6502a
 
Thiol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manatee View Post
Does any website keep track of which available SSDs are compatible with Apple notebook models?

I see more and more SSDs available from on-line sellers, but I don't see much information on compatibility. I'd consider getting one for my MacBook Pro, but I'd need to know which ones will work in it. As the prices of SSD fall, I guess there will be lots of threads on forums like this about swapping in a SSD -- but right not I'm not seeing much.

Thanks,
Any 2.5" SATA SSD will work.
__________________
MacBookAir3,1, Intel Core 2 Duo 1.6 GHz
MacBookPro4,1, Intel Core 2 Duo 2.6 GHz
MacPro3,1 Quad-Core Intel Xeon 2.8 GHz
Thiol is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 02:51 AM   #4
dnjmarlboro
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thiol View Post
Any 2.5" SATA SSD will work.
Any? Not with Bootcamp!
dnjmarlboro is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 03:27 AM   #5
Thiol
macrumors 6502a
 
Thiol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnjmarlboro View Post
Any? Not with Bootcamp!
The OP didn't ask about Bootcamp. Nonetheless, isn't Parallels or VMVare a workaround to some extent?
__________________
MacBookAir3,1, Intel Core 2 Duo 1.6 GHz
MacBookPro4,1, Intel Core 2 Duo 2.6 GHz
MacPro3,1 Quad-Core Intel Xeon 2.8 GHz
Thiol is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 05:25 AM   #6
dnjmarlboro
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thiol View Post
The OP didn't ask about Bootcamp. Nonetheless, isn't Parallels or VMVare a workaround to some extent?
Of Course.
But i think it would be better to buy a SSD which is FULLY supported.
dnjmarlboro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 06:06 AM   #7
windels
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Belgium
why doesn't it work in bootcamp?
windels is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 06:06 AM   #8
infernohellion
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: KÝbenhavn
Didn't know that some SSDs are not supported in Bootcamp *o*
__________________
rMBP 15", 2.6GHz, 16GB RAM, 750GB SSD; iPhone 5s
infernohellion is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 06:16 AM   #9
dnjmarlboro
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Intels really fast X25 SSD will not work with bootcamp:
http://discussions.apple.com/thread....385&tstart=150

Must be an EFI Prob.
dnjmarlboro is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2009, 12:15 AM   #10
Manatee
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Washington DC
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnjmarlboro View Post
Any? Not with Bootcamp!
That's the sort of thing I'm concerned about. I'm not using Bootcamp right now, but I want the option to use it if I'd like.

I checked with OWC and they said they plan to start selling SSD upgrades in February. They will test for compatibility.
__________________
Peter -- MBP 15", MBA 13" 256GB, iPhone 4S, 5G nano, New iPad
Manatee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2009, 04:14 PM   #11
MacFever
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
We should have an up to date list for macbook and macbook pro's.

and a list showing also which ones are fastest - slowest from reviews and tests.

that would be real useful for others who want to upgrade to SSD's or get faster ones that work ok with Apple's bios/efi or bootcamp.
MacFever is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2009, 04:23 PM   #12
jjahshik32
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
All SSDs are compatible with the mbp.
__________________
http://www.steve-yi.com
jjahshik32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2009, 04:26 PM   #13
DaveOZ
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
I have a Patriot Warp V2 128 in mine. Been there for a few months now without issue. Much faster than the old HDD and silent.
DaveOZ is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2009, 04:15 PM   #14
kendallb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by DaveOZ View Post
I have a Patriot Warp V2 128 in mine. Been there for a few months now without issue. Much faster than the old HDD and silent.
I have this same disk in mine, and have run into some problems. For the most part the drive is AWESOME in my MacBook Pro and I love the performance. However here are the problems I have had, and I am wondering if anyone else has seen this, or if perhaps my drive is flaky:

1) Power management does not work right. If I close the lid on my MacBook, and come back a few hours later, the battery is dumped and the system has locked up. It is acting kind of like Mac OS tried to suspend the disk and failed, and then the system got stuck in a mode and dumped the battery.

2) Sometimes when I got go boot into Boot Camp, the boot fails and I have to hard shutdown the machine, and cold boot. Then it works.

3) These drives SUCK in Windows. Period. Windows has a really nasty habit of causing the entire system to get stuck for periods of time when running under boot camp, mostly when lots of writes are going on (ie: when you are using Outlook . I have read about others having the same problems with Windows on these drives, and the odd thing is, the same thing actually happens in Mac OS if you are running Windows under the emulator. If Windows is not running, there are no problems, so the disks don't like the kind of disk access patterns used by Windows, but has no problems with the way Mac OS uses it.

Anyway, I just did a fresh install and restore of my Time Machine backup onto a normal WD 7200rpm 320G disk, and it appears the power management is working flawlessly now.

Once I get everything back up and running on my new disk, I plan to do a time machine backup of it, and then put the SSD back in and do a fresh install of the OS, restore from Time Machine and see if the problem persists. It is possible something was fragged in my OS install causing this problem, so I plan to find out if it is the disk, or the OS
kendallb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2009, 05:31 PM   #15
rjt1000
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
This OCZ vertex is well reviewed including by MacBook and MacBook Pro users:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ywords=macbook

But pricey !!
rjt1000 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2009, 07:44 PM   #16
elfxmilhouse
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rjt1000 View Post
This OCZ vertex is well reviewed including by MacBook and MacBook Pro users:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ywords=macbook

But pricey !!
+1 for the vertex series.

i got a 120gb for my alum mb.

they are always developing for the vertex. there have been a few firmware updates. the latest one is very stable and they are always helping users out through their support channels and forums
__________________
MB986LL w/OCZ Vertex SSD MC238LL w/Intel X25-V SSD MC506LL-Z0JK w/OWC SSD
MB382LL MB715LL MC497LL
elfxmilhouse is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 4, 2009, 08:31 PM   #17
omegasyn
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New York
Quote:
Originally Posted by elfxmilhouse View Post
+1 for the vertex series.

i got a 120gb for my alum mb.

they are always developing for the vertex. there have been a few firmware updates. the latest one is very stable and they are always helping users out through their support channels and forums
How did you upgrade your firmwire with the vertex? From what I recall, you need a windows machine to be able to do so.
omegasyn is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2011, 08:13 PM   #18
rfurtado
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: North York, ON Canada
Question Pig backing...

Mac Book Pro mid 2009 & Kingston SSD

About 3 months after installed, the computer froze. I took it to the Apple store and they formated it. I re-installed everything from the time machine. After a couple of months, the same happened.

I never had this problem with the HDD that came with the laptop.

I never had bootcamp. I used parallels version 5.

Anyone had a similar issue?
rfurtado is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2011, 02:10 PM   #19
kendallb
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
What specific model of the Kingston drive do you have? It is one of the new 6G models, or an older 3G model? I would be wary of any 6G drives right now, in a 6G capable system as I have had a TON of problems in my PC systems with 6G drives, so I decided against upgrading my 3G drive in my MacBook Pro 17". It appears a lot of hard disk controllers that are '6G' really can't handle higher performance SSD disk. I am running the same drives that gave me fits on 6G controllers (lock ups, performance problems, dropping out of RAID arrays, blue screens etc) on a 3G channel and they work flawlessly.

The drive I am using in my MacBook Pro is the 480GB one from Other World Computing (the 3G model), and I absolutely love that thing. It has been flawless for me for a long time now:

http://eshop.macsales.com/shop/inter...lid_State_Pro/

I have two of the 240G models for my desktop which was intended to run in RAID-0 on my PC at work, and I had all kinds of issues. I sent it back to them and they sent back the same drive with firmware updates, which made it run longer (weeks instead of days) before it would crash again and blue screen Windows on a new Core i7 2600K system with an Intel motherboard.

I actually thought maybe my Mobo was at fault, so I ended up putting together a new system with a Core i7 990X CPU which does not use an Intel chipset for the 6G channels, but rather uses a Marvel one. My machine would not even run for a few hours before it blue screened with that chipset.

I then went back to the Core i7 2600K system and have the drive running on 3G, and it is flawless. Super fast, and no issues at all.

But this weekend Windows 7 decided to blue screen itself into oblivion on my MacBook Pro. After restoring it twice and having the same **** happen again, I discovered it was a bad update from Windows update. So I blew away Boot Camp, upgraded my Snow Leopard install to Lion and brought back my old Parallels install. Not as fast as native Windows, but I am sick of the crashes.

I am ditching the Core i7 system and going back to Lion and my old Mac Pro with the two drives in RAID-0 on 3G (should be flawless). I can't wait for the new Mac Pro to come out that supports 6G, but on the other hand I sure hope they solve this problem or I might have to downgrade to a couple of 3G drives
kendallb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2012, 05:36 AM   #20
samlic
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Done

Put an Vertex 3 (£139) into my merom MBP 2,2 (late 2006), Lion 10.5.3, TRIM on, which has SATA 1 with 1.5Gbps bus speed. (I thought it worth trying, if it doesn't work I could put the vertex 3 into my new iMac). So, it worked, really really well. Application startup faster, Safari performance improved, bootup time <35 sec, shut down time ~1 sec. I felt like my MBP reborned. definitely worth the money.
samlic is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2012, 08:26 AM   #21
mankymanning
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Not had the greatest luck with Vertex myself, also OCZ are very poor on Mac support with firmware upgrade tools etc.

Crucial M4 is very quick, very stable and works fine in a MBP.
__________________
Late 2013 15" 2.6GHz rMBP 16GB/1TB, 27" 3.4GHz iMac 32GB, Alu Mac mini 8GB, iPhone 4S
mankymanning is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2012, 07:28 AM   #22
T'hain Esh Kelch
macrumors 65816
 
T'hain Esh Kelch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Denmark
Send a message via ICQ to T'hain Esh Kelch Send a message via AIM to T'hain Esh Kelch Send a message via MSN to T'hain Esh Kelch
I have a late 2006 Macbook Pro.

Just wondering if there are any drives now, that aren't worth buying? Here i'm thinking about bandwith of SATA1 vs. the high read/write speeds of newer SSD's.
__________________
"There's no bigot like a religious bigot and there's no religion more fanatical than that espoused by Macintosh zealots." ~Martin Veitch, IT Week [31-01-2003]
T'hain Esh Kelch is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2012, 07:41 AM   #23
snaky69
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by T'hain Esh Kelch View Post
I have a late 2006 Macbook Pro.

Just wondering if there are any drives now, that aren't worth buying? Here i'm thinking about bandwith of SATA1 vs. the high read/write speeds of newer SSD's.
It'd probably still be faster than the old spinning platter hard drive than you have now, but you wouldn't get the "full benefits" of an SSD.

One thing to consider is that you'd be able to transplant it into a future notebook.
__________________
Early 2008 MBP 2.4Ghz Penryn, 4GB RAM, WD Scorpio Black
2012 MBP 2.6Ghz Ivy Bridge, 16GB RAM, 840EVO and 750GB Opti-bay
iPhone 3G, 16GB, Black
iPhone 4S, 32GB, Black
snaky69 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2012, 08:05 AM   #24
Wicked1
macrumors 68040
 
Wicked1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Jersey
I have the Intel 320 Model and I have 120GB, 300GB, and thinking of getting a 600GB when the price drops a bit, however Intel is not as fast as some others, but very easy to setup and get working, also keeps working well.

Can not speak about other brands
__________________
iPhone 5 16GB White
2012 MacBook Pro 13" 2.5/4GB/240GB SSD
Wicked1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 8, 2012, 01:06 PM   #25
scmguru
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1177020
scmguru is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the early 2011 Macbook Pro not support 1TB SSDs? Hydro150 MacBook Pro 2 Apr 28, 2014 03:26 PM
Macbook Pro Failing connecting with SSDs captaineddie MacBook Pro 2 Dec 28, 2013 01:55 PM
Resolved: Dual SSDs + TRIM = Overheating Macbook Pro, why? Obsidian6 MacBook Pro 8 Aug 31, 2013 10:11 AM
Sources for Macbook Pro Retina SSDs? Artagra MacBook Pro 13 May 17, 2013 06:42 AM
Install two SSDs (one OSX, one windows) on MacBook Pro masaguchi46 MacBook Pro 6 Dec 2, 2012 11:25 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC