Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Aug 27, 2013, 09:51 PM   #1
Celtic Warrior
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Metro Last Light is Coming to Mac

Hey guys, according to gamezone news, Metro Last Light will be released for Mac and it will be released for linux as well, but linux version will be released later than Mac version. Except App Store, Steam is going to allow you to download Mac version, unlike some of games. ( Rage, Lego, First Borderland etc) There's no sign from Release date, which is expected this fall.
Celtic Warrior is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2013, 03:29 AM   #2
N19h7m4r3
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Perfect!

I should have my new system up and running by then. ^_^
__________________
6,1 Mac Pro - 3.50GHz Hex Core - 32 GB RAM - Dual FirePro D700 6GB
N19h7m4r3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2013, 08:35 AM   #3
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
The release date is September 10.
Cougarcat is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2013, 05:55 PM   #4
Celtic Warrior
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Toronto, ON
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougarcat View Post
The release date is September 10.
Thank you for sharing latest new.
Celtic Warrior is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2013, 08:03 PM   #5
Solomani
macrumors 68000
 
Solomani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
I looked at sample game videos and images. Based on Unreal engine?
Solomani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2013, 09:20 PM   #6
saturnotaku
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solomani View Post
Based on Unreal engine?
No. It's based on a version of the developers' in-house 4A Engine first used in Metro 2033.
__________________
MacBook Pro 15 (Late 2011)
Core i7 2860QM | 16 GB RAM | AMD Radeon 6770M | 1 TB Samsung 840 EVO SSD | Antiglare Display | OS X + Win 7
iPhone 4S (Verizon 64 GB)
saturnotaku is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2013, 09:35 PM   #7
Solomani
macrumors 68000
 
Solomani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by saturnotaku View Post
No. It's based on a version of the developers' in-house 4A Engine first used in Metro 2033.

Ahh. Well, their in-game screenshots, the models have an eerie resemblance to the graphics style of Unreal and Unreal Tournament games of the early 2000s. It's a rendering style that I am fond of. Like below:


Solomani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 07:53 AM   #8
SingularityG
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
I thought the Metro series to be very demanding on the hardware and considering how Mac versions always run worse, who's going to enjoy this on decent framerate? Mac Pro owners?
__________________
sINGULARITY uNIVERSE
SingularityG is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2013, 07:49 AM   #9
retinagameshow
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
About time, The Metro games are great!

___________________________________________________________________

MAXED OUT MID 2012 15" RETINA MACBOOK PRO
retinagameshow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 31, 2013, 08:23 AM   #10
N19h7m4r3
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SingularityG View Post
I thought the Metro series to be very demanding on the hardware and considering how Mac versions always run worse, who's going to enjoy this on decent framerate? Mac Pro owners?
Sounds about right.

I'm going to put a GTX 660 3GB Superclocked+ card in mine. All those FPS
__________________
6,1 Mac Pro - 3.50GHz Hex Core - 32 GB RAM - Dual FirePro D700 6GB
N19h7m4r3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2013, 07:54 AM   #11
NunoBerny
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Can I play Last Light on my Mac Mini 2012, HD Graphics 4000?
Or am I aiming too high?
I don't "need" best settings (obviously), but I'm wondering if it's playable at all on average settings?

I've tried to find more info about this, but nothing concrete, so I decided to ask the people who actually (may) have the game.
NunoBerny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 05:52 PM   #12
NunoBerny
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexbro View Post
You can play with Low graphics for sure
That's what I needed to know.
While not perfect, at least I can play it.
Don't want to waste money on something that ends up being unplayable.

Thanks!
NunoBerny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 09:26 PM   #13
Solomani
macrumors 68000
 
Solomani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Metro even made it to the Mac App Store this week.

Unfortunately the devs of Metro forgot to put any information regarding recommended or required System Requirements at the MAS. Very irresponsible, since that will lead to many people downloading the game and then finding out it's almost unplayable on their Macs.
Solomani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 27, 2013, 09:35 PM   #14
Dirtyharry50
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solomani View Post
Metro even made it to the Mac App Store this week.

Unfortunately the devs of Metro forgot to put any information regarding recommended or required System Requirements at the MAS. Very irresponsible, since that will lead to many people downloading the game and then finding out it's almost unplayable on their Macs.
That is unfortunate. I am surprised the MAS does not require the posting of system requirements.
Dirtyharry50 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2013, 06:35 AM   #15
Irishman
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Solomani View Post
Metro even made it to the Mac App Store this week.

Unfortunately the devs of Metro forgot to put any information regarding recommended or required System Requirements at the MAS. Very irresponsible, since that will lead to many people downloading the game and then finding out it's almost unplayable on their Macs.
Steam does, however, post the Mac requirements and recommendations. For the benefit of those readers who might not have a chance to view that, here they are:

Minimum:
OS: 10.8.4 (Mountain Lion)
Processor: 2.7 Ghz Intel Core i5
Memory: 8 GB RAM
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT 640M 512 MB
Hard Drive: 10 GB available space

Recommended:
OS: 10.8.4 (Mountain Lion)
Processor: 3.2 GHz quad core Intel Core i5
Memory: 16 GB RAM
Graphics: NVidia Geforce GTX 680MX with 1GB
Hard Drive: 10 GB available space
Irishman is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2013, 08:52 AM   #16
NunoBerny
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irishman View Post
Steam does, however, post the Mac requirements and recommendations. For the benefit of those readers who might not have a chance to view that, here they are:

Minimum:
OS: 10.8.4 (Mountain Lion)
Processor: 2.7 Ghz Intel Core i5
Memory: 8 GB RAM
Graphics: NVIDIA GeForce GT 640M 512 MB
Hard Drive: 10 GB available space

Recommended:
OS: 10.8.4 (Mountain Lion)
Processor: 3.2 GHz quad core Intel Core i5
Memory: 16 GB RAM
Graphics: NVidia Geforce GTX 680MX with 1GB
Hard Drive: 10 GB available space
I know little about gfx cards.
Is the HD Graphics 4000 (1GB) "better" than the minimum required?

It's on sale until later today and I'd like to know more of what I can expect with my MacMini.
The processor and RAM are ok, but the gfx card is what I fear, even though I've yet to experience major problems playing similar games on my system.

I can live with lower settings, if they are at least "acceptable". Lower resolution, low detail, no problem, but not Spectrum-type graphics!
NunoBerny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2013, 09:28 AM   #17
monokitty
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by NunoBerny View Post
I know little about gfx cards.
Is the HD Graphics 4000 (1GB) "better" than the minimum required?

It's on sale until later today and I'd like to know more of what I can expect with my MacMini.
The processor and RAM are ok, but the gfx card is what I fear, even though I've yet to experience major problems playing similar games on my system.

I can live with lower settings, if they are at least "acceptable". Lower resolution, low detail, no problem, but not Spectrum-type graphics!
The HD4000 is an integrated card and below the minimum requirements. That said, take a look at this video running the game on a 13-inch, Mid 2012 MacBook Pro with HD4000 graphics:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N2KsrAUOg1o.

I picked up the game on sale as well and run it on a MacBook Pro (15-inch, Mid 2012 w/NVIDIA Geforce GT 650M 512MB) at the native 1440-by-900 resolution at low-medium settings for a steady 45-50 frames per second; the game still looks amazing at lower detail settings, surprisingly. I prefer smoother gameplay over better looking graphics.
monokitty is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2013, 09:43 AM   #18
NunoBerny
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Quote:
Originally Posted by monokitty View Post
The HD4000 is an integrated card and below the minimum requirements. That said, take a look at this video running the game on a 13-inch, Mid 2012 MacBook Pro with HD4000 graphics:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N2KsrAUOg1o.

I picked up the game on sale as well and run it on a MacBook Pro (15-inch, Mid 2012 w/NVIDIA Geforce GT 650M 512MB) at the native 1440-by-900 resolution at low-medium settings for a steady 45-50 frames per second; the game still looks amazing at lower detail settings, surprisingly. I prefer smoother gameplay over better looking graphics.
It seems good enough for me.
The gfx quality is noticeably worse than some videos I watched, but that is to be expected. Like you, I prefer smooth gameplay, that's why I rarely play at the maximum settings, even on games that would allow it with few problems.

What I would not want is for it to be unplayable even at low settings!
From what I had read in many different places (the incredibly high Last light requirements!), that was something I should be aware of.
NunoBerny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2013, 12:38 PM   #19
NunoBerny
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Bought the game!
Played around a bit.

Strangely, there is only one quality knob. No apparent way to change resolution or any other option.

Still, the game plays ok.
NunoBerny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 28, 2013, 02:16 PM   #20
Cougarcat
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by NunoBerny View Post
Bought the game!
Played around a bit.

Strangely, there is only one quality knob. No apparent way to change resolution or any other option.

Still, the game plays ok.
I don't have the game yet so I can't check, but there's got to be a .ini file somewhere.
Cougarcat is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 29, 2013, 06:58 AM   #21
NunoBerny
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Lisbon, Portugal
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougarcat View Post
I don't have the game yet so I can't check, but there's got to be a .ini file somewhere.
I saw videos of the prefs (PC) and there were multiple options. One of those was to set a different resolution.

That's why I found it strange that the Mac version only has a "all-in-one" option.
NunoBerny is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 12, 2014, 12:07 PM   #22
imacken
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cougarcat View Post
I don't have the game yet so I can't check, but there's got to be a .ini file somewhere.
Anyone worked out how to do this yet, i.e. change resolution, or edit the config file which I presume is the user.cfg one?
__________________
iMac i7 3.4GHz 27" 17" MBP iPad Air 32Gb Wi-Fi iPhone 5 32Gb Apple TV 2
Time Capsule 1Tb Airport Express
imacken is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Today, 04:55 AM   #23
insane79
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by imacken View Post
Anyone worked out how to do this yet, i.e. change resolution, or edit the config file which I presume is the user.cfg one?
Hi,
You found a way to lower the resolution in the user config file?

Thanks..
insane79 is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Today, 07:47 AM   #24
Suture
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
I thought this game was punishing on PCs (in terms of system requirements), but heard good things about it. Always happy to see more titles make their way to the Mac platform.
__________________
2013 27" iMac: 3.5GHz Quad-Core i7, 8GB RAM, GTX 780M, 3TB Fusion
2013 MacBook Air: i7 1.7GHz, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD
iPhone 5 16GB, iPad Mini Retina 64GB LTE, iPod Classic 160GB
Suture is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Today, 11:13 AM   #25
Suture
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Steam has Metro Last Light for $5 as a special, FYI.
__________________
2013 27" iMac: 3.5GHz Quad-Core i7, 8GB RAM, GTX 780M, 3TB Fusion
2013 MacBook Air: i7 1.7GHz, 8GB RAM, 250GB SSD
iPhone 5 16GB, iPad Mini Retina 64GB LTE, iPod Classic 160GB
Suture is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Mac and PC Games

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OS X: Metro Last Light or Bioshock msbisa Mac and PC Games 12 May 21, 2014 11:43 AM
OS X: Metro: Last Light Now $9.99 on Steam! Irishman Mac and PC Games 3 Mar 16, 2014 02:53 AM
OS X: Metro Last Light mrmarts Mac and PC Games 4 Nov 8, 2013 10:38 PM
'Metro: Last Light' Arriving for Mac on September 10 MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 7 Aug 30, 2013 12:36 AM
OS X: Metro : Last Light..... (now for Mac) MacRumorUser Mac and PC Games 2 Jul 14, 2013 10:32 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:29 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC