Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Jan 19, 2009, 12:27 PM   #1
steamed.hams
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, FL
A solid plan for jailbreaking an iPhone 3G in OS X 10.5.6?

I'm running a Penryn 2.5 Ghz early '08 MBP on OS X 10.5.6

It seems that the appropriate course of action to jailbreak an iphone through this would be to:

1. Install and run pwnage for mac os x using this guide

2. Download and unzip the automator script found through this hackintosh forum link

So is this correct? I've been doing research on this for a while, and I'm just a little confused on when to run the pwnage tool and when to run the automator script...
steamed.hams is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 12:29 PM   #2
jmann
macrumors 604
 
jmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On a bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
Send a message via Skype™ to jmann
Exclamation

Quote:
Originally Posted by steamed.hams View Post
I'm running a Penryn 2.5 Ghz early '08 MBP on OS X 10.5.6

It seems that the appropriate course of action to jailbreak an iphone through this would be to:

1. Install and run pwnage for mac os x using this guide

2. Download and unzip the automator script found through this hackintosh forum link

So is this correct? I've been doing research on this for a while, and I'm just a little confused on when to run the pwnage tool and when to run the automator script...
I would be VERY VERY cautious about using the automator script. It has to me and many others; rendered the keyboard and mouse unfunctional upon a reboot. And it is is huge pain to get your computer working again. So I would recommend buying a cheap usb hub and use that instead of doing the risky automator script. But yes get the usb hub, and use pwnage tool as explained in the instructions and you should be fine.
__________________
Come to my Twitter, it's warm and has chairs.
jmann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 12:33 PM   #3
steamed.hams
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmann4489 View Post
I would be VERY VERY cautious about using the automator script. It has to me and many others; rendered the keyboard and mouse unfunctional upon a reboot. And it is is huge pain to get your computer working again. So I would recommend buying a cheap usb hub and use that instead of doing the risky automator script. But yes get the usb hub, and use pwnage tool as explained in the instructions and you should be fine.
Thank you for the warning, jamnn4489.

From my extensive readnig this morning, it seemed that only unibody MB/MBP owners suffered the keyboard/mouse problems after the automator script....

I'm definitely leaning towards picking up a cheap USB hub instead though...
steamed.hams is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 12:35 PM   #4
jmann
macrumors 604
 
jmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On a bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
Send a message via Skype™ to jmann
Quote:
Originally Posted by steamed.hams View Post
Thank you for the warning, jamnn4489.

From my extensive readnig this morning, it seemed that only unibody MB/MBP owners suffered the keyboard/mouse problems after the automator script....

I'm definitely leaning towards picking up a cheap USB hub instead though...
That probably is the case then. I was using a MacBook . But it can't hurt to play it safe with the hub though.
__________________
Come to my Twitter, it's warm and has chairs.
jmann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 01:49 PM   #5
steamed.hams
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmann4489 View Post
That probably is the case then. I was using a MacBook . But it can't hurt to play it safe with the hub though.
I'm tempted to try Pwnage without the hub tonight.

Are there any serious risks to my phone or MBP if I get stuck in DFU mode?

steamed.hams is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 01:51 PM   #6
jmann
macrumors 604
 
jmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On a bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
Send a message via Skype™ to jmann
Quote:
Originally Posted by steamed.hams View Post
I'm tempted to try Pwnage without the hub tonight.

Are there any serious risks to my phone or MBP if I get stuck in DFU mode?

Even if you try pwnage without the hub, it might stop working once it gets to the part where you have to put the phone into dfu mode. I wasn't able to get mine to work. I had to use windows..
__________________
Come to my Twitter, it's warm and has chairs.
jmann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 05:03 PM   #7
steamed.hams
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmann4489 View Post
Even if you try pwnage without the hub, it might stop working once it gets to the part where you have to put the phone into dfu mode. I wasn't able to get mine to work. I had to use windows..
Hmmm.

I think I'll just wait for that hub to come in the mail
steamed.hams is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 07:15 PM   #8
andyblila
macrumors 65816
 
andyblila's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: On My iPhone, or my iPad?
Send a message via Yahoo to andyblila
I ran the script and had absolutely no errors. I am using a early 2008 MB not the unibody.
__________________
27" iMac MacBook Air
64GB iPhone 6+
64GB iPhone 5S⃣
32 GB iPad Air
andyblila is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2009, 10:39 PM   #9
jmann
macrumors 604
 
jmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On a bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
Send a message via Skype™ to jmann
Quote:
Originally Posted by andyblila View Post
I ran the script and had absolutely no errors. I am using a early 2008 MB not the unibody.
Wow I have the same computer and it screwed up my computer. I wonder why it worked for you...
__________________
Come to my Twitter, it's warm and has chairs.
jmann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2009, 07:40 AM   #10
steamed.hams
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Miami, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmann4489 View Post
Wow I have the same computer and it screwed up my computer. I wonder why it worked for you...
That really sucks. Did you end up getting DFU mode to work at all?
steamed.hams is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iOS > Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is the iPhone 5s a solid product? I'm reading so many of your reviews and.. Krissypantz2828 iPhone 32 Sep 30, 2013 04:54 PM
Wow 0.0 (iPhone 5's ridiculously solid build quality) Random 995K iPhone 9 May 3, 2013 03:25 AM
iPhone 5 Verizon unlimited plan - keep your plan and get the new iPhone 5 for $199 Ars0n iPhone 31 Jan 1, 2013 09:37 AM
Will the 4G plan replace the 3G plan? For iPhone DBZmusicboy01 iPhone 2 Sep 10, 2012 05:12 PM
3G budget iPhone plan and 4G the regular plan? DBZmusicboy01 iPhone 2 Aug 24, 2012 12:08 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:51 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC