Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Old Jan 21, 2009, 05:46 PM   #1
macman4789
macrumors regular

iPod Music Quality

Hi,

Does the quality of music produced by each iPod differ? For example does the classic sound better than the shuffle? Or the iPod nano sound better than the iPhone? I would have thought they would be made with the same 'chip' or technology.

I'm no expert but I would have thought they all sound the same with the headphones making all the difference?

Is this correct?

Thanks
macman4789 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2009, 07:02 PM   #2
Herodotis
macrumors newbie

The shuffle can't handle the higher quality music files like apple lossless. I've got a shuffle and a nano and you can definately hear the difference between the lossless file on the nano and the 128-320 version on the shuffle. I believe the other ipods are like the nano and can take the higher quality files. The headphones also make a huge difference, the included Apple ones are ok for what they are, basic. With a better set, the sound is great.

Cheers,
Herodotis
1 GB iPod Shuffle, 16 GB iPod Nano
Herodotis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2009, 07:03 PM   #3
Resist
macrumors 68030

The sound quality should be whatever the music is recorded at not the device it is played on, unless the device or speakers/headphones are damaged.
Resist is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2009, 05:38 PM   #4
macman4789
macrumors regular

Could anyone tell me why the shuffle cannot play lossless and all other ipod models can?

Thanks
macman4789 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2009, 06:09 PM   #5
nick9191
macrumors 68040

Quote:
Originally Posted by macman4789 View Post
Could anyone tell me why the shuffle cannot play lossless and all other ipod models can?

Thanks
Presumably because it's the half the size of a match box and costs $49.