Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 11, 2009, 07:59 PM   #1
macmee
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
[VMware Fusion] Windows shortcuts on my Mac?

I want to make shortcuts on OSX that link to programs on my Windows XP in VMware Fusion. For example I want to be able to make a shortcut to paint on my OSX desktop, and it opens it up in Windows XP on VMware Fusion. Is this possible?

Thanks,
Dave
macmee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2009, 07:37 AM   #2
mogzieee
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: London, UK
This is easy when you know how to do it.

1. Go to the "Virtual Machine Library" in VMware. Right click on the selected virtual machine and select "view in Finder"



2. Right click on the selected file (It will be something like "Windows XP Professional") in the Finder window, and select "Show Package Contents".



3. Double click on the Applications folder inside the "Windows XP" file you just opened.

4. Within this folder, look for the appropriate application (take Paint for example). Right click on the application and choose "Create Alias".



5. Rename the new 'alias' with the program name, eg. "MS Paint on Windows". Then, drag this out to either the desktop, the dock or the Mac's Applications folder.





Done. Just click on the alais and it works. It's even better if you set VMware Fusion to "Unity" view mode. Go to View > Enter Unity.

The final result (in Unity mode):



Good Luck

Moggy
__________________
Alastair 'Moggy' Mogford
Video Editor

Last edited by mogzieee; Feb 15, 2009 at 07:38 AM. Reason: spelling
mogzieee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 17, 2009, 01:55 PM   #3
elgrecomac
macrumors 65816
 
elgrecomac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: San Diego
Thanks, Moggy for the info...

Great post, very clear and much appreciated.

Too bad England lost to Argentina(?)(!) in the Sevens tournament here in San Diego this past weekend!
http://www.usasevens.com/news-manager.aspx?ArticleId=30


Last edited by elgrecomac; Feb 17, 2009 at 02:01 PM.
elgrecomac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2009, 12:57 AM   #4
cuestakid
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Fran
I hate to revive a semi old thread but I do have a similar question to this-

is there any way to get files when the image is not running ?
__________________
Mac Mini 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7,16GB RAM, 1TB HD Apple TV Hockey PuckiPhone 5S 32GB Verizon iPad3 WiFi 32GBSeagate ThunderboltDell U2711
cuestakid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2009, 07:46 AM   #5
steveza
macrumors 65816
 
steveza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: UK
I think this might be possible with Macfuse but I haven't tried it myself.
steveza is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2009, 07:50 AM   #6
macmee
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Thanks for that tutorial, helped me a lot.
macmee is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2009, 11:27 AM   #7
cuestakid
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Fran
Quote:
Originally Posted by steveza View Post
I think this might be possible with Macfuse but I haven't tried it myself.
any ideas of how to do it?
__________________
Mac Mini 2.3 GHz Intel Core i7,16GB RAM, 1TB HD Apple TV Hockey PuckiPhone 5S 32GB Verizon iPad3 WiFi 32GBSeagate ThunderboltDell U2711
cuestakid is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2009, 12:31 PM   #8
ssn637
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Switzerland
Running Mac Apps in the Windows VM?

Wow, what a great tutorial! You don't find tips like that on the VMware Fusion support site...fantastic!
Can we also use a similar procedure to run Mac applications as the default app when inside the Windows VM? For example, I'd like to open a Word document in the VM using Office for Mac 2008, which is installed on the Mac partition. This would prevent me from having to install the Windows version of MS Office 2007 parallel to the Mac suite. By the way, I'm running Windows 7 in a Boot Camp partition as the Virtual Machine, and Unity view doesn't seem to be an option.
Thanks
ssn637 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2009, 02:17 PM   #9
birdtron
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
I wanted to set my virtual XP machine's Excel as the default program to open my spreadsheets from OSX and couldn't work out how to do it, and this thread explained it clearly and easily.

It is an excellent tip and great response. It's actually rather intuitive, but I initially decided the answer had to be something much more complex and didn't figure it out myself, or by searching through the VMWare Fusion official support forums and knowlegebase. Thanks again!
birdtron is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2010, 08:53 AM   #10
quadgnim
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
missing applications in list, any ideas?

I'm missing an application that I'm trying to make a shortcut to. It's installed and runs fine manually, but when I look in finder/package contents/appliations its not there. Is there a trick or work around to this?
quadgnim is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 2, 2011, 12:24 PM   #11
helicos
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Lightbulb Workaround for missing applications in folder

I know this is an old thread but I found the answer to the last guy's question. I had the same question and someone else reading this thread might as well.

If your application is missing in the /package contents/applications location, follow these steps:

1. Run vmware
2. Start the application(s) that you are interested in creating a mac shortcut for
3. Now view in 'Unity' mode. The windows apps you are running will now show up in the Mac dock

4a. If you want to create a shortcut in the dock, right click on the windows app icon in the mac dock and then Options>Keep in Dock.

4b. If you want to create a shortcut elsewhere, right click on the windows app icon in the mac dock and then Options>Show in Finder. Now follow the steps in the instructions above starting with step 4.
helicos is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Migrating VMware Fusion Windows virtual machine to a new Mac Stratman351 Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 10 Nov 7, 2013 12:01 AM
Vmware fusion 6 and Windows 8.1 Designed4Mac Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 0 Oct 29, 2013 08:01 AM
Windows 8 with VMware Fusion 5 Designed4Mac Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac 1 Mar 9, 2013 06:07 PM
VMWare Fusion 3 doesn't work on Mountain Lion, VMWare asking full price for Fusion 4! Marc4 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 20 Jul 29, 2012 09:07 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:34 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps