Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 12, 2009, 02:11 PM   #1
pl3ppp
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK
Send a message via MSN to pl3ppp
Is over-clocking a 700mhz imac G3 possible?

Hey, first time posting on this site so go easy on me

I recently managed to pick up a Imac G3 Graphite, 700mhz, 1GB ram, 60GB HD, OSX 10.4.11 for free (Well kinda free, im repairing 2 emacs and a powermac g4) it runs pretty well for me (starts lagging with firefox/itunes/msn/transmission| running at the same time ) im one of these people who HAVE to multitask computers :L i know its old and i probebly shouldn't push it this hard but... hehehe its fun

well anyway iv been reading up and seen posts that you can over-clock other g3's (re-soldering the jumpers for the CPU clock controllers) and i was wondering if i could do the same for this one. I've had a little look around the internet and haven't found anything.

I just need that lil speed boost the current speed of it is starting to annoy me (it still has the original hard drive so maybe a new quicker one might help a bit also) Im good with soldering (modded many xbox's, repaired many things by soldering etc)

Or if there's some software that could help me fine tune the mac (i've already disabled dashboard/spotlight :P) or another way to speed this mac up a bit with out spending too much ( i could pick up a 1.4Ghz emac for 150)

Thanks for any help in advance xD
pl3ppp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2009, 02:14 PM   #2
yellow
Moderator
 
yellow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Portland, OR
Is all of it worth 33MHz?
yellow is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2009, 02:18 PM   #3
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Anything is possible, if you have the will.
__________________
Mac Pro | Mac mini | 15" MacBook Pro | iPad Air | iPhone 6
alphaod is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2009, 04:28 PM   #4
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
I'm sure there's a way. I just overclocked my 1.42 mini to 1.58ghz. I've also done it to G4 powermacs too. It's just adding or desoldering little jumpers on the motherboard.

Google "imac G3 overclocking"
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2009, 04:31 PM   #5
TSE
macrumors 68030
 
TSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: St. Paul, Minnesota
That is one loaded iMac G3. Those G3 iMacs are my favorite computers ever made.

I don't think there is much you can do, except maybe disable spotlight/dashboard, and not run as many applications at once.
__________________
MacBook Pro, 2.2ghz Quad-Core i7 Processor, 15" 1680x1050 Anti-Glare LCD, 16gbs of RAM, 500gb Samsung 840 evo SSD, AMD Radeon 6750M HD, Mac OS X + Windows 7 Ultimate
TSE is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2009, 04:39 PM   #6
TheReef
macrumors 68000
 
TheReef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: NSW, Australia.
The hardware is approaching it's limit, you'll need to look up ways to optimize the software.

Disable graphic effects, reduce the amount of icons on your desktop (I hear each icon is a separate window which sucks resources) and ensure you have plenty of free space for virtual memory.
__________________
Swing by my gallery - Photos by Reef
TheReef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 06:26 AM   #7
AlexisV
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Manchester, UK
Even if you could overclock it cheaply and easily, you'd go from very very slow to very slow

The processor is only one slow aspect - you'll still be crippled by a slow bus speed, slow hard drive and slow memory.
AlexisV is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 01:05 PM   #8
pl3ppp
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Plymouth, Devon, UK
Send a message via MSN to pl3ppp
Thanks for all the feedback iv got back off everyone xD

It seems to run 2 apps fine (safari + bitrocket) i decided to ditch transmission seeing as it kept freezing/taking up a-load of cpu -.- its just when i throw either msn or itunes it starts messing up, iv been using safari instead of firefox swell - it seems to use up alot less system resources.

I moved all my shortcuts/allias's from the desktop to a file on my hardrive (i thought it would be a good idea to put 12 of my most commonly used apps that didnt deserve a space on the dock there - but obviously not :L)

like i said i disabled spotlight/dashboard. ALtho im starting to not believe spotlight's disabled seeing at it'l search things from the bar (top right) any one got a good tutorial that actually works? the one i found blatantly doesn't -.-

i had another little look on google (my worst best friend) and couldn't find a table for where the resistors go for any slot loading imac. Iv heard that my hardware can go up to 1ghz but will need further cooling (im sure my pc doesn't need its fan THAT much ^^)

Any tuning software or further ideas people could supply me with would be greatly appreciated ( im only 14 and im using all these long words -.- im started to get worried about my self :L)

thanks

EDIT: Ok my system is running better. bitrocket - was starting to annoy me. Now im using vuze -.- system hogger but at-least it works. The thread should really be "how to overclock a g3?" not what it is. my bad. Im getting worried about it overheating as well, its been getting REALLY hot. especially on top (around the handle) and the hard drive. Not sure having it running on the floor with fluffy carpet underneath it does it any good, so i've started using the little leg thing underneath so the drives can have some air.
if any one has any idea's on what i could do to help it, i'd really appreciate it.

thanks again

Last edited by pl3ppp; Feb 14, 2009 at 08:44 AM.
pl3ppp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 04:54 PM   #9
josht
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
imac g3 233 oc

i have a rev. b imac g3 and i know how to oc it but i want to know if i have to reuse the resistors or can i just jump the gaps with solder
josht is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2009, 12:37 PM   #10
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by josht View Post
i have a rev. b imac g3 and i know how to oc it but i want to know if i have to reuse the resistors or can i just jump the gaps with solder
Solder is fine.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: iMac G4 700Mhz RAM rjcalifornia PowerPC Macs 6 Jun 26, 2013 03:51 PM
iMac G4 (700Mhz)| 512MB SDR RAM rjcalifornia PowerPC Macs 5 Feb 26, 2013 06:33 PM
Over Clocking? caymandrew Mac Pro 10 Feb 13, 2013 01:27 PM
iPhone: Over Clocking Mrg02d Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 7 Jan 26, 2013 02:21 AM
iMac G3 Snow 700mhz Click noise Zachaos PowerPC Macs 1 Aug 8, 2012 02:28 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC