Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 13, 2009, 03:36 AM   #1
ansirone
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: City of Angeles
Which OS for a powerbook ti 400 mhz???

yo all,

just got me a powerbook g4 ti 400 mhz for 80 bux!!!

runs ok and still in great condition except for the bottom pan is looks, other then that its a great lil addition to my collection for light web surfing, email and music. just wondering what os is suggested to run on this mac seeing is its almost 9 years old! im just wondering if tiger is kinda pushing it? thanks!
__________________
Mac Pro 2 x 2 Ghz Dual-Core Intel Xeon, MacBook Pro 2.4 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo Unibody,iPad wifi 16 gb, iPhone 4 32 gb
ansirone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 03:40 AM   #2
DAMNiatx
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
mac os 4
DAMNiatx is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 03:56 AM   #3
raymondu999
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Mac OS 9 would be a good bet. Or 10.1. Tiger.. errm... not so much, methinks.
__________________
iPhone 5 64GB black
iPad Air Wifi+3G 64GB black
15" 2.6GHz Core i7 Retina MBP
11" 1.3GHz Core i5 2013 MBA
raymondu999 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 03:58 AM   #4
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
jaguar.
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 10:04 AM   #5
dannomac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Mac OS 10.3 was the fastest one for my G3 iBook 600mhz. It'll probably be the same for a TiBook 400.
__________________
17" Unibody MBP 2.66GHz, 4GB RAM, 320 GB 7200 RPM HD; 16 GB iPod Touch
dannomac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 10:28 AM   #6
cal6n
macrumors 68000
 
cal6n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
Tiger will be fine, as long as you give it enough RAM. 1 GB will be fine.

If you're not able to put this much in, then I'd recommend Panther.
__________________
Is your internet experience tainted by trolls, shills, bigots & fools?
Select "User CP" > "Edit Ignore List" > Add [username] to Your Ignore List > Save List
Every little helps.
cal6n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 10:31 AM   #7
polaris20
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by raymondu999 View Post
Mac OS 9 would be a good bet. Or 10.1. Tiger.. errm... not so much, methinks.
I've got Tiger running on my 400Mhz TiBook with 768MB of RAM. Runs great.
__________________
2.4Ghz i7 15" rMBP | 1.7Ghz Haswell 13" MBA
iPad Air 32GB, 32GB iPhone 5 | HP XW4600 Ubuntu 12.04
VMWare ESXi 5.1, Thinkpad w/ Win8 Pro
polaris20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 11:00 AM   #8
ansirone
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: City of Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by polaris20 View Post
I've got Tiger running on my 400Mhz TiBook with 768MB of RAM. Runs great.
do you just mainly use it as a secondary machine to surf and email?
__________________
Mac Pro 2 x 2 Ghz Dual-Core Intel Xeon, MacBook Pro 2.4 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo Unibody,iPad wifi 16 gb, iPhone 4 32 gb
ansirone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 01:39 PM   #9
ansirone
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: City of Angeles
ill try out panther seeing as i still have the original retail version of it if not ill upgrade it to tiger. hope itunes work just fine on it tho
__________________
Mac Pro 2 x 2 Ghz Dual-Core Intel Xeon, MacBook Pro 2.4 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo Unibody,iPad wifi 16 gb, iPhone 4 32 gb
ansirone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 03:27 PM   #10
Kevlar
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Great White North
Quote:
Originally Posted by ansirone View Post
ill try out panther seeing as i still have the original retail version of it if not ill upgrade it to tiger. hope itunes work just fine on it tho
I ran tiger on my Powerbook 667mhz G4 with 512mb of ram for the last couple of years. Was my only machine. Wasn't the best but definitely could do the basics without any problems. Also did some programming on it, while compiling was a bit slow it still could do it.
Kevlar is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 03:56 PM   #11
Solo13
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2008
I'd go for Panther too, even easier choice if you already have the disks! Runs ok on my old 400mhz G3 iMac, with a paltry 256MB of RAM.
Solo13 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 04:15 PM   #12
cal6n
macrumors 68000
 
cal6n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brighton, UK
It really is a matter of how much RAM you have, in my experience.

Tiger (with more than 512 MB) is faster than Panther (with more than 256 MB) is faster than Jaguar (with more than 128 MB), all on the same hardware, as long as that hardware is PPC with firewire.

I hope that makes sense. I knew what I meant...
__________________
Is your internet experience tainted by trolls, shills, bigots & fools?
Select "User CP" > "Edit Ignore List" > Add [username] to Your Ignore List > Save List
Every little helps.
cal6n is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 04:38 PM   #13
MattZani
macrumors 68020
 
MattZani's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Weymouth, UK
I Would stay at 10.3, unless you have alot of RAM, my 600Mhz iMac G3 has 256Mb Ram, and it runs 10.4, but not well enough for regular use.
__________________
Matthew Dear Photography
Automotive & Documentary Photographer
MattZani is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2009, 09:56 PM   #14
Davy.Shalom
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Yes 10.3 on 512 MB RAM, 10.4 on 1 GB RAM. 400 mhz is very slow, and you will not be able to do very complex things. I mean I used to have a 500 mhz g4 tibook, and using safari, itunes, and word at the same time gave that notebook trouble. That was with only 512 MB RAM and tiger tho.

YOU NEED THE RAM IT IS A MUST!
__________________
-Macbook Pro 13" 2.9 GHz i7, 16 GB RAM, 750 GB HD
-Mac Pro 8 core (3 GHz Xeon), 10 GB RAM, ATI Radeon X1900
-PowerMac G5: 2 x 2.3 GHz, 14 GB RAM, 1.5 TB HD
Davy.Shalom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 12:36 AM   #15
ansirone
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: City of Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davy.Shalom View Post
Yes 10.3 on 512 MB RAM, 10.4 on 1 GB RAM. 400 mhz is very slow, and you will not be able to do very complex things. I mean I used to have a 500 mhz g4 tibook, and using safari, itunes, and word at the same time gave that notebook trouble. That was with only 512 MB RAM and tiger tho.

YOU NEED THE RAM IT IS A MUST!
will be getting another stick of ram so it should get up to 768 mb. i just want to make sure itunes will be running fine.
__________________
Mac Pro 2 x 2 Ghz Dual-Core Intel Xeon, MacBook Pro 2.4 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo Unibody,iPad wifi 16 gb, iPhone 4 32 gb
ansirone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 01:40 AM   #16
shigzeo
macrumors 6502a
 
shigzeo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Japan
Send a message via Skype™ to shigzeo
i too found that tiger was faster than panther on the same hardware but needed more ram. at first, before 10.4.3 update, tiger was dragging and then after the update, the whole computer felt new. i never had more than 768 meg of ram in my ibook: fast in tiger and still fast in tiger.
__________________
TouchMyApps All Things iPhone for Those Who Like to Touch
Ω image - headphone and desktop audio photography
shigzeo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 02:11 PM   #17
polaris20
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ansirone View Post
do you just mainly use it as a secondary machine to surf and email?
It's fine for that, but I've also recorded hour long podcasts with it for work, stereo 24-bit tracks. So it's not just for internet.
__________________
2.4Ghz i7 15" rMBP | 1.7Ghz Haswell 13" MBA
iPad Air 32GB, 32GB iPhone 5 | HP XW4600 Ubuntu 12.04
VMWare ESXi 5.1, Thinkpad w/ Win8 Pro
polaris20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 10:43 PM   #18
ansirone
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: City of Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by polaris20 View Post
It's fine for that, but I've also recorded hour long podcasts with it for work, stereo 24-bit tracks. So it's not just for internet.
What version iTunes are you running off it??
__________________
Mac Pro 2 x 2 Ghz Dual-Core Intel Xeon, MacBook Pro 2.4 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo Unibody,iPad wifi 16 gb, iPhone 4 32 gb
ansirone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2009, 09:00 AM   #19
polaris20
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ansirone View Post
What version iTunes are you running off it??
Whatever's current, I do believe. I'll have to look to make sure though.
__________________
2.4Ghz i7 15" rMBP | 1.7Ghz Haswell 13" MBA
iPad Air 32GB, 32GB iPhone 5 | HP XW4600 Ubuntu 12.04
VMWare ESXi 5.1, Thinkpad w/ Win8 Pro
polaris20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2009, 09:27 AM   #20
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Get the full gig of ram and the 250gb Western Digital 5400 rpm hard drive and disable Dashboard in Tiger and you will be happy. Also with a latter tibook optical drive connector, you can put a new superdrive in it.

Love that Tibook.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2009, 09:34 AM   #21
polaris20
macrumors 68020
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by California View Post
Get the full gig of ram and the 250gb Western Digital 5400 rpm hard drive and disable Dashboard in Tiger and you will be happy. Also with a latter tibook optical drive connector, you can put a new superdrive in it.

Love that Tibook.
Yeah I forgot to mention I disabled Dashboard and that definitely made a favorable difference.
__________________
2.4Ghz i7 15" rMBP | 1.7Ghz Haswell 13" MBA
iPad Air 32GB, 32GB iPhone 5 | HP XW4600 Ubuntu 12.04
VMWare ESXi 5.1, Thinkpad w/ Win8 Pro
polaris20 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 18, 2009, 05:25 PM   #22
ansirone
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: City of Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by polaris20 View Post
Yeah I forgot to mention I disabled Dashboard and that definitely made a favorable difference.
thanks for the tip, i love the powerbook ti and have always wanted it even till now, but was way to expensive at the time. now its just my toy to play around with!
__________________
Mac Pro 2 x 2 Ghz Dual-Core Intel Xeon, MacBook Pro 2.4 Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo Unibody,iPad wifi 16 gb, iPhone 4 32 gb
ansirone is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does 400 Mhz memory work in a G5 Dual Core 2.3? Mac Hammer Fan PowerPC Macs 3 Apr 11, 2013 07:58 AM
48 GB RAM 1333 MHz in flashed Mac Pro 5,1 working as 1066 MHz Spacedust Mac Pro 27 Oct 14, 2012 02:30 PM
Memory upgrade necessary on 2012 MBP 15 Base? 8GB or 16GB? 1333 MHz or 1600 MHz? cherishzm MacBook Pro 9 Jun 26, 2012 04:52 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC