G4 Graphite hardware upgrade to new Power Mac specs - MacRumors Forums
Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 14, 2009, 10:13 AM   #1
stevoflop
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
G4 Graphite hardware upgrade to new Power Mac specs

I would like to upgrade all the hardware in a G4 Graphite case to the new Power Mac specs...or close. Any suggestions? If so, does anyone have a model/serial number for the motherboard and cpu?
Steve

Last edited by stevoflop; Feb 15, 2009 at 02:22 PM.
stevoflop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 11:36 AM   #2
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Hate to break it to you but a graphite G4 won't run Leopard without a big pricey cpu upgrade first. That and upgrading the memory wouldn't hurt either to 2gb. Hard drives are limited to 128gb unless you go the SATA/PATA PCI controller route. Don't count on it running Snow Leopard either as it's only going to be for Intel Macs.

You can always stuff CPU components in there and turn it into a Hackintosh. I did with an old Quicksilver case.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 12:01 PM   #3
chrismacguy
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: United Kingdom
Surely if you placed the guts of a Intel mac mini in there, then you could get snow leopard on a G4, otherwise, give up like the person above says, G4s have a tiny amount of RAM (2GB vs 32GB on the Mac Pros) and a silly HDD limit (120GB in practice). THeyre only use is to run OS X 10.3/10.4 and possibly Photoshop CS if youve got plenty of RAM. You could sell it on ebay and save for a Mac Pro......
__________________
Mac Pro/2.8Ghz/12GB/1TB; MacBook Air 11"/1.4Ghz/2GB/64GB;
MB 2.1CD;iPad 16GB/3G.PB G4/1.67Ghz;eMac 700Mhz;PM G4/Dual 867Mhz, PM G4/450Mhz;iMac G3;iBook G3;iPods etc.
www.youtube.com/chrismacguy
chrismacguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 12:09 PM   #4
drlunanerd
macrumors 65816
 
drlunanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
Hate to break it to you but a graphite G4 won't run Leopard without a big pricey cpu upgrade first.
Hate to break it to you, but Leopard runs just fine on a Power Mac G4 Dual 533MHz I have here
drlunanerd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 01:28 PM   #5
Earl Urly
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
Hate to break it to you but a graphite G4 won't run Leopard without a big pricey cpu upgrade first. That and upgrading the memory wouldn't hurt either to 2gb. Hard drives are limited to 128gb unless you go the SATA/PATA PCI controller route.
Running 10.5.6 on a Dual 500 MHz Gigabit Ethernet G4 (Graphite of course) with 2 GB of RAM, 250 GB WD drive, thank you LeopardAssistant and SpeedTools ATA High Capacity driver

Of course the first partition is 127.99 GB, runs just fine for light web browsing, word processing, and homemade Filemaker Pro comic book database

Last edited by Earl Urly; Feb 14, 2009 at 01:37 PM.
Earl Urly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 01:43 PM   #6
drlunanerd
macrumors 65816
 
drlunanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Yep, opting for a dual processor G4 really helps in running Leopard and was the wise choice when they were new.
drlunanerd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 01:53 PM   #7
Anonymous Freak
macrumors 68040
 
Anonymous Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cascadia
Hell, Leopard runs passably on my single-CPU 466 MHz G4 Digital Audio. A modern graphics card helps, though. Out of morbid curiosity, I thew in a Rage 128, and it becomes rather slow.

I've gone through various upgrades in it, and dual 1 GHz G4 is nice, a single 1.5 GHz is nice; the single 466 MHz is still usable, though. The Rage 128 sucks. GeForce 2 MX is passable, GeForce 4 is good.

Had 1.5 GB RAM the whole time.
__________________

20" Aluminum iMac 7,1 (mid-2007, Santa Rosa,) upgraded to 2.6 GHz Penryn, 6 GB RAM, 1 TB HD, 4 TB total external hard drive
Anonymous Freak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 02:02 PM   #8
stevoflop
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Let me clarify

I'm just wanting to use the G4 case, nothing else. Let's call it a Mac Pro barebones, using a G4 Graphite case. So, if I went this way, what could I fit in the case? I was wondering, what motherboard and processor would I order? (s/n # for both)
stevoflop is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 02:10 PM   #9
drlunanerd
macrumors 65816
 
drlunanerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevoflop View Post
I'm just wanting to use the G4 case, nothing else. Let's call it a Mac Pro barebones, using a G4 Graphite case. So, if I went this way, what could I fit in the case? I was wondering, what motherboard and processor would I order? (s/n # for both)
You won't get a Mac Pro mobo in there.
Get a Mac mini or buy an older secondhand or refurb Mac Pro.

Otherwise create a Hackintosh, but you will need to do a lot of modding of the case to get a PC mobo and PSU in there.
drlunanerd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 02:46 PM   #10
Anonymous Freak
macrumors 68040
 
Anonymous Freak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Cascadia
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevoflop View Post
I was wondering, what motherboard and processor would I order? (s/n # for both)
Well, Apple's computers have never used 'standard' motherboard form factors. You can't just go get a random motherboard and put it in.

Even among similar-looking cases, Apple's own motherboards can't be transplanted.

For example, even though the exterior of the case is the same, you can't put a G4 Digital Audio motherboard in an original graphite/PCI G4 case.

As drlunanerd says, your best bet is to make modifications to the case to fit either a modern Mac mini, or make yourself a "hackintosh" using generic PC motherboards. But either one will require modifications to the case.
__________________

20" Aluminum iMac 7,1 (mid-2007, Santa Rosa,) upgraded to 2.6 GHz Penryn, 6 GB RAM, 1 TB HD, 4 TB total external hard drive
Anonymous Freak is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 02:53 PM   #11
Lord Blackadder
macrumors G4
 
Lord Blackadder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sod off
Getting your hands on Mac Pro internals will be quite expensive, since they can only be bought as replacement parts by authorized Apple service centers - and most of them will probably refuse to sell you parts (they will only do repairs themselves).

Failing that, you have two options - buying a Mac Pro to use as a donor machine (again, expensive), or buying PC components of similar performance from Newegg and making a Hackintosh. The latter option is the easiest, but you are then faced with doing the hacking of the OS and breaking the EULA on OS X. Both paths will require fabrication to get all the components into the case and cooled properly.

It's doable, but it's not a small project.
__________________
Oh, God, God, God! What on earth was I drinking last night? My head feels like there's a Frenchman living in it. - Edmund Blackadder
Lord Blackadder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 07:18 PM   #12
OrangeSVTguy
macrumors 601
 
OrangeSVTguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Northeastern Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by drlunanerd View Post
Hate to break it to you, but Leopard runs just fine on a Power Mac G4 Dual 533MHz I have here

Quote:
Originally Posted by Earl Urly View Post
Running 10.5.6 on a Dual 500 MHz Gigabit Ethernet G4 (Graphite of course) with 2 GB of RAM, 250 GB WD drive, thank you LeopardAssistant and SpeedTools ATA High Capacity driver

Of course the first partition is 127.99 GB, runs just fine for light web browsing, word processing, and homemade Filemaker Pro comic book database

Yeah it will run decently on a Dual processor that were in the Gigabit Ethernets because it's still at least 1ghz when you add the 2 processors together. Which is why I suggested the OP upgrade the processor first

He has a graphite model. If you have Leopard running on a single <400mhz model then please respond. Also the 2gb works wonders too. It did in my dual 500mhz GE model along with a better AGP video card.
__________________
Browsing the forums from my Powerbook G4
OrangeSVTguy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2009, 08:03 PM   #13
Lord Blackadder
macrumors G4
 
Lord Blackadder's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sod off
Quote:
Originally Posted by OrangeSVTguy View Post
Yeah it will run decently on a Dual processor that were in the Gigabit Ethernets because it's still at least 1ghz when you add the 2 processors together. Which is why I suggested the OP upgrade the processor first
I don't doubt that it will run, but I wonder what the differences in speed will be. I noticed, for example that while Tiger runs well on the machine in my sig, Panther ran a bit faster. I wonder if Leopard would be slower still...
__________________
Oh, God, God, God! What on earth was I drinking last night? My head feels like there's a Frenchman living in it. - Edmund Blackadder
Lord Blackadder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 15, 2009, 10:55 AM   #14
Earl Urly
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
OWC currently has a dual 800 MHz G4 processor (PowerLogix) used for sale for $150, that would be a good way to go
Earl Urly is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Mac G5 general upgrade questions Diogones PowerPC Macs 17 Nov 9, 2013 12:58 PM
Most important hardware specs for video editing? chiggywawa iMac 9 Oct 5, 2013 10:25 AM
Mac Mini Hardware Upgrade Q crboone Mac Basics and Help 7 Jun 8, 2013 02:23 PM
Power Mac G5 with an ATI 9600 XT 128MB Upgrade macnerd93 PowerPC Macs 6 Feb 14, 2013 03:57 AM
[Free] Graphite and Graphite Lite: Pencil Tracing and Sketching SteppingStone iPad Apps 4 Sep 25, 2012 07:53 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC