Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > iPhone/iPad Programming

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 19, 2009, 06:38 AM   #1
boyplunder
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Border control for a textView fields in IB

Hi All,

I have a text view field on a detail window in IB that always has an extra gap at the top, which I want to get rid of. The settings are all zero, and you can't set a minus value, as far as I can see. Does anyone know if there is a way to eliminate this?

Boyplunder

Added: Above the text view [selected] you can see an extra bit of space that isn't all the way round. The scroll control that appears when you scroll the text starts a few millimeters higher than the text. I would like to amend this so the border space is all the same. It looks like this is just how it is.

http://cdn.macrumors.com/vb/images/attach/png.gif
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	View.png
Views:	14
Size:	57.3 KB
ID:	158570  

Last edited by boyplunder; Feb 19, 2009 at 09:38 AM. Reason: to add an image
boyplunder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2009, 08:41 AM   #2
dejo
Moderator
 
dejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Centennial State
Not sure I understand. Can you provide us with a screenshot?

EDIT: Now that I've seen the screenshot (a new post rather than editing the original would've made this thread flow nicer), I think I see what you're talking about. Have you tried adjusting either contentInset or contentOffset?

Last edited by dejo; Feb 19, 2009 at 11:18 AM.
dejo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2009, 03:32 PM   #3
boyplunder
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: UK
Text view issue

It seems to me that this is a set issue.
I would have thought that the logical thing to do was leave the offsets and let the developer choose. What actual seems to be the case is that there is a top, left, right and bottom preset on any new text fields, but the top seems to be just big by default.

If anyone has a view on this, please post.

Boyplunder
boyplunder is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2009, 03:47 PM   #4
dejo
Moderator
 
dejo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Centennial State
Quote:
Originally Posted by boyplunder View Post
I would have thought that the logical thing to do was leave the offsets and let the developer choose
In order to better satisfy the HIG, I believe Apple likes to build in some spacing defaults so that things initially are laid out more pleasing to the eye, rather than relying on the developers to have to go in and tweak everything to get it to be pleasing.
dejo is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Programming > iPhone/iPad Programming

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Volume Control for External Displays qwerf123 MacBook Air 4 Nov 18, 2011 06:48 AM
Is it OK to put controls on top of an ImageView in IB? StevenHu iPhone/iPad Programming 0 Feb 22, 2010 04:32 PM
Script or something for copying Year field to Notes or BPM field in iTunes? devburke Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 Jun 7, 2009 01:47 PM
Create long scrolling page of controls in IB? MarcVanH iPhone/iPad Programming 8 Sep 23, 2008 07:06 AM
Good example using a UISwitch or segmented control in IB? nottooshabby iPhone/iPad Programming 2 Sep 22, 2008 05:17 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC