Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 20, 2009, 12:49 PM   #1
gixxerredliner
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Ask me any question I am the all knowing mac genie

Mac Genie, So i got my imac 2.4 last night, ordered 4 GB from crucial which should be at my apt by the time i make it home. Question is I also downloaded a few things and looked at a few PDF files. Question is i have documents popping up from Apps I downloaded such as NEO OFFICE, I have the NEO OFFICE App icon at the bottom on my doc but also in my doc folder its there is it overkill to have it in two locations? can i delete the file in my docs and still use it? Thanks
gixxerredliner is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2009, 01:04 PM   #2
Bad Paper
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: graphite clamshell
You have the application installed in your Documents folder? Why? It should be in your Applications folder.
__________________
Hurry and respond, before mods delete this post, too!
Bad Paper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2009, 05:37 AM   #3
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
Strange title. Mockery?

You applications are only in one place (where you put them during install or drag an dropping, or in the Applications folder).

The Dock is only a short cut for applications you put there, and open applications will show up there too.

Deleting something on Finder level will most likely delete it for good (if you emptied the trash of course).
Deleting something from the Dock will only remove the short cut, but the application is still there.
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2010, 09:45 AM   #4
macbkusrndhelp
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Traveling abroad?

OK, so I'm going to Europe and I purchased a plug adapter for the wall, because my understanding is that the Mac can be plugged in without any voltage converter or anything like that, but my question is, can i plug in a USB cord to my Mac to charge my other electronic devices (cell phone, ipod) from my Macbook? Will it work the same way?
Thanks in advance.
macbkusrndhelp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2010, 01:26 PM   #5
TMRaven
macrumors 68020
 
TMRaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
The dock is only a shortcut. Windows works the same way with its userbar at the bottom as well.
__________________
27" iMac i7 860 @ 2.8ghz; 8gb DDR3 1066 ram; 1tb HDD @ 7200rpm; ATI Mobility 4850, 512mb GDDR3 ram
http://www.armoredcoreuniverse.net/Fan site for Armored Core enthusiasts.
TMRaven is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 16, 2010, 02:33 PM   #6
johnschaefer
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
iMac won't play Marketwatch.com video

I have new 27" iMac that won't play video from Marketwatch.com or WSJ.com but plays fine from other sites such as CNN. I reinstalled OS but no help.
johnschaefer is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Desktops > iMac

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Netgear genie - view usage on desktop? Miqs Mac Applications and Mac App Store 2 May 26, 2014 09:13 AM
Directv Genie HE15MAN Apple TV and Home Theater 7 Jul 19, 2013 08:23 AM
Need help knowing what to buy Rlanoue MacBook 3 Sep 3, 2012 10:16 PM
Need help knowing what to buy Rlanoue MacBook Air 9 Sep 3, 2012 11:33 AM
Need help knowing what to buy Rlanoue MacBook Pro 2 Sep 2, 2012 06:22 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC