Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 22, 2009, 12:34 AM   #1
Sambo110
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Need help with eMac NOW!!!

I accidently put the Mac folder (forget what it is called, basically the OS) into the trash, and now when I boot it it just goes to a grey screen and says weird things. Even when I put in the Mac OS X install disc and hold "c". Someone please help me.
Sambo110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2009, 01:21 AM   #2
RKO
macrumors 6502
 
RKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Are you restarting the eMac with the power button when you press "C". This has to be done on startup!
RKO is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2009, 01:25 AM   #3
Sambo110
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
I turn it on, and keep pressing eject, it opens, I put the disc in, turn it off, then back on and hold "c". Am I meant to put in disc 1 or 2? I put in 1.
Sambo110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2009, 01:48 AM   #4
JediMeister
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
It would be disc 1. When are you letting go of "C". You shouldn't let go of that key until you see the gray screen with the Apple logo and the spinning activity wheel below it. You also mentioned that you see some odd text, what does it say? That you need to restart the computer or does it look like a coding language with a black background and white text?
JediMeister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2009, 01:50 AM   #5
Sambo110
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
I never let go of "c" until the weird text comes up. It is the grey screen that says to restart your computer, but there ir also text that mentions unix and stuff, so probably coding language.
Sambo110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2009, 01:36 PM   #6
JediMeister
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Hmm. Getting a kernel panic on startup is not a good thing...do you have a peripheral device hooked into the computer like a printer/scanner, iPod, external hard drive? If not you have some bad juju in the computer hardware itself.
JediMeister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2009, 06:05 PM   #7
Sambo110
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
I am really pissed off, cause last night I remembered that my eMac can't read DVD's anymore for some reason, so now my eMac is as good as dead . The things connected to my Mac are a wireless keyboard, a wired mouse, a speaker system, an iPod Touch charge cable and an ethernet cable. Is there any way to fix it with a broken DVD drive. I guess the only way is to ge tCD versions of Mac OS X.
Sambo110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2009, 06:43 PM   #8
ihabime
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
You should try it with a wired keyboard, wireless doesn't always work right for startup shortcuts on older Macs.

Also try option instead of C, that will let you pick your bootdisk from a list.
ihabime is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2009, 06:54 PM   #9
Sambo110
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
As I said, for some reason my eMac doesn't read DVD's anymore, so would that work? I will try with a wired keyboard, you never know.
Sambo110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2009, 07:01 PM   #10
Sambo110
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
THANK YOU THANK YOU. I booted from the other HDD, cause my other apple keyboard worked, and I am in! It is weird. Everything is still on my HDD, but the dock, desktop etc is how it was ages ago, and it is 10.4.10. But thanks.

EDIT: Now my iPod Touch won't sync, is there a reason for this? Will I have to format it to sync it again? Cause that would be so annoying.

Last edited by Sambo110; Feb 22, 2009 at 08:26 PM.
Sambo110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 22, 2009, 10:51 PM   #11
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sambo110 View Post
EDIT: Now my iPod Touch won't sync, is there a reason for this? Will I have to format it to sync it again? Cause that would be so annoying.
Yes. Count your blessings.
__________________
PIRATE PARTY OF CANADA Information leadership for the 21st century
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2009, 02:34 AM   #12
Sambo110
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
So I have to lose absolutely everything from my iPod? Cause it's all off my Mac. All the movies, music, apps etc? That sucks. But I guess I should be thankful my Mac is working.
Sambo110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2009, 02:37 AM   #13
mknawabi
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Irvine, CA
Send a message via AIM to mknawabi
Use a 3rd party app to copy your music back to your HD.
mknawabi is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2009, 06:04 AM   #14
Sambo110
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
My iPod won't sync to my Mac now! It opens iPhoto whenever I plug it in, and opens in iTunes in my mums iMac when I plug it in, but doesn't open in iTunes on my mac. Anyone know why?
Sambo110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2009, 07:37 AM   #15
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
Isn't that what it was doing before?
__________________
PIRATE PARTY OF CANADA Information leadership for the 21st century
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2009, 09:27 PM   #16
Sambo110
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
What? It wouldn't start before, now the iPod won't sync to iTunes.
Sambo110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2009, 03:14 AM   #17
Sambo110
Thread Starter
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Now when I click about this mac, more info is greyed out. Is this a problem? It isn't that bad, but could it mean something worse? I really think it's time to upgrade.

EDIT: I found everything from before hidden away, all my iTunes stuff etc. Copying it over now, I hope it fixes my iPod problem.

Last edited by Sambo110; Feb 24, 2009 at 08:18 AM.
Sambo110 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2009, 09:27 AM   #18
BlueRevolution
macrumors 601
 
BlueRevolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Montreal, QC
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sambo110 View Post
What? It wouldn't start before, now the iPod won't sync to iTunes.
By "before" I mean 4 posts before, when you said exactly the same thing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sambo110 View Post
Now when I click about this mac, more info is greyed out. Is this a problem? It isn't that bad, but could it mean something worse? I really think it's time to upgrade.

EDIT: I found everything from before hidden away, all my iTunes stuff etc. Copying it over now, I hope it fixes my iPod problem.
Try opening /Applications/Utilities/System Profiler.app instead of going through About This Mac. It's odd that it should be grayed out, though.
__________________
PIRATE PARTY OF CANADA Information leadership for the 21st century
BlueRevolution is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What to do with an eMac? onkzzz PowerPC Macs 28 Jun 11, 2014 07:17 PM
Got an eMac xtempo PowerPC Macs 31 Mar 19, 2014 11:15 PM
Possible uses for Emac Ih8reno PowerPC Macs 18 Sep 20, 2013 01:46 AM
Backing Up eMac landlover PowerPC Macs 5 Jul 13, 2013 11:35 AM
Is this possible on 2 eMac's? craisin PowerPC Macs 4 Jul 11, 2013 09:26 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:05 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC