Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Shrike

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 26, 2004
I work in a computer lab on a college campus, and I need the computer to show a popup window with a message of my choice whenever any user logs on. Nothing fancy, simple text would be fine. I'm running OS X on a G5. Also, I'm not really experienced on Macs (sorry!), so if you could keep the explanations as simple as possible, I would really appreciate it.
Thanks in advance!

wrldwzrd89

macrumors G5
Jun 6, 2003
Solon, OH
Shrike said:
I work in a computer lab on a college campus, and I need the computer to show a popup window with a message of my choice whenever any user logs on. Nothing fancy, simple text would be fine. I'm running OS X on a G5. Also, I'm not really experienced on Macs (sorry!), so if you could keep the explanations as simple as possible, I would really appreciate it.
Thanks in advance!
I found this PDF that may be of use. However, I couldn't find a login message capability for Mac OS X users, only Mac OS 9 via Macintosh Manager. If you don't use Mac OS X Server in your lab, then disregard the PDF link (it will be of no use to you in that case).

Shrike

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 26, 2004
wrldwzrd89 said:
I found this PDF that may be of use. However, I couldn't find a login message capability for Mac OS X users, only Mac OS 9 via Macintosh Manager. If you don't use Mac OS X Server in your lab, then disregard the PDF link (it will be of no use to you in that case).

Unfortunately we aren't running Mac OS X Server, but thanks for the reply!

SpaceMagic

macrumors 68000
Oct 26, 2003
Cardiff, Wales
Interesting... here is a way I've just made up so if it doesn't work then sorry:

1) Open Script Editor in your Applications/AppleScript Folder
2) You are faced with an empty two-text-box-window...