Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 23, 2009, 12:29 AM   #1
macomac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: New Mexico, USA
iDVD not adding sound to Menus

I'm really hoping someone can bail me out here. I'm trying to add sound in the background of a iDVD 7 menu, and it's driving me crazy. I've tried dragging the audio file from the media pane to the dvd menu, to the inspector window and to the menu drop box several times (just like the manual instructs) and it won't work. It doesn't play back or burn with the sound in the menu.

Any ideas as to why?

Thanks a bunch!
macomac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 23, 2009, 06:39 AM   #2
sickmacdoc
macrumors 68020
 
sickmacdoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Hampshire
I imagine this is a dumb question after everything you have tried, but I've got to ask-- the loop duration is not set at "00:00" is it (when you add the sound into the menu info inspector)?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Picture 2.jpg
Views:	125
Size:	36.4 KB
ID:	159211  
sickmacdoc is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 3, 2010, 07:11 PM   #3
Tamaracboy
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Same menu sound problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by sickmacdoc View Post
I imagine this is a dumb question after everything you have tried, but I've got to ask-- the loop duration is not set at "00:00" is it (when you add the sound into the menu info inspector)?
I have same problem as macomac.
Main menu will NOT accept any sound.
Have been able to remove original sound from theme exactly as expected.
Have tried every possible combination of dragging and dropping into menu background or well.
Loop slider is at max, adjusted length of sound file, tried both mp3 and aiff formats and every possible combination.
iDVD just stops responding & have to force quit.
Also volume slider likes to reset to 0.0 and not move.
Any help out there ?
Thanks.
Tamaracboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2010, 09:19 PM   #4
blanco47
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Try this:

1. Open the menu where you are having audio problems
2. Click on the drop zone icon to open the drop zones
3. Move the music (the iTunes music notes) that you've placed here out of the menu box
4. By getting the music icon out of the way, you will reveal a tiny black sound/audio icon
5. If you strain your eyes and look real close you will see that there are no sound waves coming out of the sound icon
6. Click on the icon and tiny black sound waves will appear
7. You have now "unmuted" your menu
8. Drop your music selection back into the menu drop zone
9. You now have sound!
blanco47 is offline   2 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 22, 2010, 07:27 PM   #5
McGonogle
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Thank You

blanco47, thank you so much! I had been struggling with this for hours and tried all the other suggestions I had found but none seemed to work. It was that little tiny image of the sound being muted was the issue - I had seen the image but it didn't occur to me that it was indicated that it was muted, I just thought it was indicating that sound could be added.

It would have been nice to have that in the options screen. Maybe next version...

Thanks again!
McGonogle is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2010, 01:59 PM   #6
b_scott
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
I am having the same issue, and the above solution does not work. There is no way to "unmute" the audio by removing the added audio, because you cannot adjust the volume when there is no file added.



edit: I just made a completely new project and it worked fine. No idea.

Last edited by b_scott; Dec 14, 2010 at 03:06 PM.
b_scott is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2011, 01:21 AM   #7
Culpface
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Worked Great!

Thanks for the help Blanco47, I was frustrated and looked at a number of online links that gave me simple 'help menu' suggestions. This actually fixed my problem. b_scott, you need to click the drop zone menu again after taking the music out and it will fix the problem (hopefully). Back to my DVD.
Culpface is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2011, 10:10 PM   #8
Sakic10
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Calgary, Alberta
thank you!

just saved my slideshow
Sakic10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2011, 03:27 PM   #9
MaryBoog
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Netherlands
Where is the drop zone icon?

Can someone please show me where that drop zone icon is? I still have the same problem in iDVD but just cannot get it solved...
and... when I've added my own music in the menu and I deleted it again, the original iDVD menu sound is below it again?

Edit: after staring and staring I've figured it out and found the tiny black icon. Jeee... why do they make this so difficult???
__________________
15" MBP, 500Gb 7200, 8GB RAM, Hi-res glossy

Last edited by MaryBoog; Dec 25, 2011 at 03:54 PM.
MaryBoog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2012, 09:05 PM   #10
PBLRDom
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by blanco47 View Post
Try this:

1. Open the menu where you are having audio problems
2. Click on the drop zone icon to open the drop zones
3. Move the music (the iTunes music notes) that you've placed here out of the menu box
4. By getting the music icon out of the way, you will reveal a tiny black sound/audio icon
5. If you strain your eyes and look real close you will see that there are no sound waves coming out of the sound icon
6. Click on the icon and tiny black sound waves will appear
7. You have now "unmuted" your menu
8. Drop your music selection back into the menu drop zone
9. You now have sound!
god among men! Thanks!!!
PBLRDom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2012, 07:54 PM   #11
HawaiiMac
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2012
Mahalo!

Quote:
Originally Posted by blanco47 View Post
Try this:

1. Open the menu where you are having audio problems
2. Click on the drop zone icon to open the drop zones
3. Move the music (the iTunes music notes) that you've placed here out of the menu box
4. By getting the music icon out of the way, you will reveal a tiny black sound/audio icon
5. If you strain your eyes and look real close you will see that there are no sound waves coming out of the sound icon
6. Click on the icon and tiny black sound waves will appear
7. You have now "unmuted" your menu
8. Drop your music selection back into the menu drop zone
9. You now have sound!
Thank you so much! We had spent hours (using every trick we could imagine). Your solution took less than two minutes to work!!
HawaiiMac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2012, 05:24 PM   #12
LiveLife2012
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
iDVD rotating pictures

I'm sure this is an easy fix, but I don't know where to go / look. I have several pictures in a completed iDVD that were fine outside of the iDVD program, but once I put them into a slide show, they laid on their side so instead of being vertical pictures they are now horizontal / sideways. How do I rotate them?
LiveLife2012 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2013, 07:36 AM   #13
emolly
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Still have problem

I did all the step but still I can't hear any music when preview. How to make sure there is background music in the meun before I burn the DVD?
Thank you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by blanco47 View Post
Try this:

1. Open the menu where you are having audio problems
2. Click on the drop zone icon to open the drop zones
3. Move the music (the iTunes music notes) that you've placed here out of the menu box
4. By getting the music icon out of the way, you will reveal a tiny black sound/audio icon
5. If you strain your eyes and look real close you will see that there are no sound waves coming out of the sound icon
6. Click on the icon and tiny black sound waves will appear
7. You have now "unmuted" your menu
8. Drop your music selection back into the menu drop zone
9. You now have sound!
emolly is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2014, 04:59 PM   #14
Riley3
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Thank you!!

I have been trying to figure this out for hours. Thank you so much blanco47 for posting how to fix the problem!!!!
Riley3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iStat Menus Does it Do Anything? augustya Mac Applications and Mac App Store 22 Jan 18, 2014 12:33 AM
Adding a Custom Phone Label when adding or Editing contacts Chris Kavanagh iOS 7 0 Oct 20, 2013 04:28 PM
Square settings menus or curved menus? iOSOS iOS 7 4 Aug 7, 2013 01:21 PM
iStat Menus dasx Mac Applications and Mac App Store 20 May 23, 2013 05:33 PM
iStat Menus The DRis Mac Applications and Mac App Store 0 Nov 29, 2012 10:10 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:17 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC