Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 24, 2009, 07:09 PM   #1
rdowns
macrumors Penryn
 
rdowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Safari 4 Tips and Tricks

Posts are starting to get very repetitive so I though a thread for the most common issues, so far, could be easily found.

I was going to go find all the Terminal 'hacks' and other issues and post them, but I'm too lazy. I'll post one to start.

To restore the blue progress bar. open Terminal and type these 2 commands.

defaults write com.apple.Safari DebugSafari4IncludeToolbarRedesign -bool NO


defaults write com.apple.Safari DebugSafari4LoadProgressStyle -bool NO


Then restart Safari. In addition to the blue progress bar, the reload icon is removed from next to the RSS feed button and you now have a Stop/Reload icon to place on your menu.
rdowns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2009, 07:12 PM   #2
VSMacOne
macrumors 68030
 
VSMacOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Set Your Own Top Sites

Open up a tab with Top Sites and then in a new window open the page you want. Pull up the window with Top Sites open and lick Edit. Then drag that the website image (to the left in the address bar) into the Top Sites and drop it there. Then click the Pin and it will lock it on. The Close or Pin sign will not appear at first but once you restart Top Sites it should be there.
__________________
- iBelong to Jesus -
VSMacOne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2009, 07:12 PM   #3
acfusion29
Banned
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto
Send a message via AIM to acfusion29
Just curious, did they remove the progress bar or is it a bug?
acfusion29 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2009, 07:14 PM   #4
VSMacOne
macrumors 68030
 
VSMacOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by acfusion29 View Post
Just curious, did they remove the progress bar or is it a bug?
I hope they did, because I like it better this way. hopefully in the final release they'll give you the option.
__________________
- iBelong to Jesus -
VSMacOne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2009, 07:44 PM   #5
Muncher
macrumors 65816
 
Muncher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: California
This is helpful. I think I'll add the progress bar back temporarily and see what I like better.
__________________
2.4Ghz 20" Rev. A iMac, Wii, crimson DS, intuos3 4x6, PS3
iPod touch 2G 16GB > Fiio E1 > Hifiman RE0
Muncher is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2009, 08:08 PM   #6
Chase R
macrumors 65816
 
Chase R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: PDX
Cool. My Safari now has the look of the old one but the horsepower of the new one... thanks.
__________________
iOS 7: iPhone 5, 16GB
OS X 10.9: MacBook, Aluminium, 2.4GHz C2D, 9400M, 8GB, SSD
Windows 8.1 (Plex Server): Mid, i3-3225, HD4000, 8GB, 16TB Mirrored, 128GB SSD
Chase R is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2009, 08:10 PM   #7
GGJstudios
macrumors Westmere
 
Join Date: May 2008
Here's a list of Safari 4 modifications:
http://pastie.textmate.org/398861
GGJstudios is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2009, 08:53 PM   #8
.max
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
I found a way to do this tweaking using Safari menu!



It requires replacing a single file and no Terminal hassle.
Here are instructions:
http://pointum.com/safari-tweaks.html
.max is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2009, 09:56 PM   #9
Chase R
macrumors 65816
 
Chase R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: PDX
Quote:
Originally Posted by .max View Post
I found a way to do this tweaking using Safari menu!

/snip/

It requires replacing a single file and no Terminal hassle.
Here are instructions:
http://pointum.com/safari-tweaks.html
I just did it and it works great! Thanks for the tip.
__________________
iOS 7: iPhone 5, 16GB
OS X 10.9: MacBook, Aluminium, 2.4GHz C2D, 9400M, 8GB, SSD
Windows 8.1 (Plex Server): Mid, i3-3225, HD4000, 8GB, 16TB Mirrored, 128GB SSD
Chase R is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2009, 09:58 PM   #10
AndersLangaard
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
get all previews for bookmarks

it would be awesome if you could import lots of bookmarks and safari fetches for all the preview image. is there a way to do that?

i don't understand that at least the actual website loads in the cover flow, when browsing through the bookmarks. only after a click on it the preview gets generated. any idea?
AndersLangaard is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2009, 01:29 AM   #11
voicebox
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by .max View Post
I found a way to do this tweaking using Safari menu!

[IMG]

It requires replacing a single file and no Terminal hassle.
Here are instructions:
http://pointum.com/safari-tweaks.html
Thanks for a great tip .max and for the download instructions. I just did it and everything now works even better. Thanks again!
voicebox

Last edited by Mitthrawnuruodo; Feb 28, 2009 at 05:19 PM. Reason: Snipping out quoted image
voicebox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2009, 01:41 AM   #12
ltldrummerboy
macrumors 68000
 
ltldrummerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
I would really like the option to make "Top Sites" my home page, as in when I click the home button. Is there a way to do that?
__________________
"Stay hungry, stay foolish."
-Steve Jobs
ltldrummerboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2009, 01:44 AM   #13
Peace
macrumors P6
 
Peace's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Space--The ONLY Frontier
Quote:
Originally Posted by ltldrummerboy View Post
I would really like the option to make "Top Sites" my home page, as in when I click the home button. Is there a way to do that?

Type this in the preference for the home page :

topsites://
Peace is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2009, 03:47 AM   #14
ltldrummerboy
macrumors 68000
 
ltldrummerboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Thanks. I like this much better than iGoogle.
__________________
"Stay hungry, stay foolish."
-Steve Jobs
ltldrummerboy is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2009, 04:22 AM   #15
johngordon
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Just a quick question - if you change the tabs to the tab below, do you lose the new button to add a new tab? I'm guessing you do, but would be good if not.

Moving the reload button back would be good too - as a web designer, I'm always reloading pages after editing pages, and its taking a bit of getting used to now that its moved.
johngordon is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2009, 04:39 AM   #16
Chase R
macrumors 65816
 
Chase R's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: PDX
Quote:
Originally Posted by duklaprague View Post
Just a quick question - if you change the tabs to the tab below, do you lose the new button to add a new tab? I'm guessing you do, but would be good if not.

Moving the reload button back would be good too - as a web designer, I'm always reloading pages after editing pages, and its taking a bit of getting used to now that its moved.
You do lose the "new tab" button when you go back to the tab bar at the bottom... looks identical to Safari 3.
__________________
iOS 7: iPhone 5, 16GB
OS X 10.9: MacBook, Aluminium, 2.4GHz C2D, 9400M, 8GB, SSD
Windows 8.1 (Plex Server): Mid, i3-3225, HD4000, 8GB, 16TB Mirrored, 128GB SSD
Chase R is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2009, 06:50 AM   #17
Habakuk
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Vienna Austria Europe
Quote:
Originally Posted by .max View Post
I found a way to do this tweaking using Safari menu!

It requires replacing a single file and no Terminal hassle.
Here are instructions:
http://pointum.com/safari-tweaks.html
But it lacks the very only option that I want, namely getting back the blue progress bar, doesn't it? The trick is in there:

Quote:
Originally Posted by GGJstudios View Post
Here's a list of Safari 4 modifications:
http://pastie.textmate.org/398861
And yes, even if I have to bear the odd spinning wheel in the tabs and the ancient Reload and Add buttons (you'll find the buttons in Safari's "View - Custom Toolbar" menue after doing the terminal trick). Maybe I'll change my opinion later ;-)

If somebody finds a possibility to get back the blue bar without having to buy the odd wheel in the same package please open a new thread :-) Thxinadvnc
__________________
Hurry up! Selected & time-limited iOS App Store FREEbies and sales
(German-language blog; but you'll find all links, pics and videos)
Habakuk is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2009, 07:03 AM   #18
VSMacOne
macrumors 68030
 
VSMacOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by duklaprague View Post
Just a quick question - if you change the tabs to the tab below, do you lose the new button to add a new tab? I'm guessing you do, but would be good if not.

Moving the reload button back would be good too - as a web designer, I'm always reloading pages after editing pages, and its taking a bit of getting used to now that its moved.
Did you know you could also refresh with Cmd+R? Just thought that might be handy for you since you're already typing and editing crap..
__________________
- iBelong to Jesus -
VSMacOne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2009, 07:07 AM   #19
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by duklaprague View Post
Just a quick question - if you change the tabs to the tab below, do you lose the new button to add a new tab? I'm guessing you do, but would be good if not.
Double-clicking in the open space of the old tab bar brought up a new tab.

Also Command+T is a thousand times easier.

Quote:
Moving the reload button back would be good too - as a web designer, I'm always reloading pages after editing pages, and its taking a bit of getting used to now that its moved.
Command+R is a thousand times easier.
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2009, 07:22 AM   #20
sparkyms
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Southampton UK
Tallest Skil makes web-browsing up to 2 thousand times easier! Thanks!
sparkyms is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2009, 08:59 AM   #21
VSMacOne
macrumors 68030
 
VSMacOne's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post
Double-clicking in the open space of the old tab bar brought up a new tab.
Also Command+T is a thousand times easier.
Command+R is a thousand times easier.
Quote:
Originally Posted by sparkyms View Post
Tallest Skil makes web-browsing up to 2 thousand times easier! Thanks!
Tallest, looks like you've got a new fan!!
__________________
- iBelong to Jesus -
VSMacOne is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2009, 09:01 AM   #22
rdowns
Thread Starter
macrumors Penryn
 
rdowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by VSMacOne View Post
Tallest, looks like you've got your first fan!!

Fixed that for you.
rdowns is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2009, 09:06 AM   #23
MotleyPete
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Blighty
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndersLangaard View Post
it would be awesome if you could import lots of bookmarks and safari fetches for all the preview image. is there a way to do that?

i don't understand that at least the actual website loads in the cover flow, when browsing through the bookmarks. only after a click on it the preview gets generated. any idea?
You could try right-clicking the bookmark folders and choosing "Open in Tabs".

Might take a little while if you have a lot of folders, but once they have all loaded their previews will be added to Cover flow.
MotleyPete is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 25, 2009, 07:42 PM   #24
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by VSMacOne View Post
Open up a tab with Top Sites and then in a new window open the page you want. Pull up the window with Top Sites open and lick Edit. Then drag that the website image (to the left in the address bar) into the Top Sites and drop it there. Then click the Pin and it will lock it on. The Close or Pin sign will not appear at first but once you restart Top Sites it should be there.
This works fine, but when I restart Safari, it clears all the ones that I added manually. How do I get them to ACTUALLY stay?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rdowns View Post
Fixed that for you.
Hey, now. iMacmatician follows my philosophy. Others agree with me on a regular basis.
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2009, 01:03 AM   #25
Roofy.
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by .max View Post
I found a way to do this tweaking using Safari menu!



It requires replacing a single file and no Terminal hassle.
Here are instructions:
http://pointum.com/safari-tweaks.html
Thanks for that. I had some trouble with it though. When I put the file in I didnt rename it back to the original name and I had to keep dragging them in to get it to work. Safari wasn't even working for a bit, I dunno what the hell I did but it was messing up.

Am I the only one who doesnt like the blue progress bar? Thats the one thing I HATED about safari at times. A web page would basically be fully loaded, and I would still see that dumb ass blue bar at like 90% just sitting there. It bugged the piss out of me.

EDIT: GREAT...... now I just changed one ofthe preferences to "view webless ct" or something like that, just to see what it was. NOW my safari wont load. I keep getting an error message saying "safari had to quit unexpectedly...... now what?!?!?!?! uuuugggghhhhh
__________________
macmini | iPhone 4 | iPod touch | Pearl Jam iPod nano- SOLD for $500
Roofy. is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Applications > Mac Applications and Mac App Store

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Lightroom 5 tips and tricks pilotkid Digital Photography 9 Jan 28, 2014 02:48 PM
iOS 7 Tips and Tricks cagcody iOS 7 1 Sep 18, 2013 08:59 PM
Tips/Tricks Superman041 iPhone 3 Nov 30, 2012 11:06 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC