Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Feb 26, 2009, 10:46 AM   #1
nutsnbolts
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
iPhone in the Philippines...with AT&T.

Ok, what's the best way to get my iPhone to work in the Philippines? I'm currently in the US (AT&T).

Should I try to unlock my iPhone or ...

Please let me know if anyone has experience with this specifically....
nutsnbolts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2009, 02:22 PM   #2
mak10
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutsnbolts View Post
Ok, what's the best way to get my iPhone to work in the Philippines? I'm currently in the US (AT&T).

Should I try to unlock my iPhone or ...

Please let me know if anyone has experience with this specifically....
im guess you will want to unlock it and then buy a prepaid sim over there... not sure that they have AT&T over there and even if they do, you'd probably rake up some ridiculous international roaming charges... best bet is a prepaid sim.
__________________
www.acslater.com
mak10 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2009, 09:57 PM   #3
Rayfire
macrumors 68020
 
Rayfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutsnbolts View Post
Ok, what's the best way to get my iPhone to work in the Philippines? I'm currently in the US (AT&T).

Should I try to unlock my iPhone or ...

Please let me know if anyone has experience with this specifically....
My friend has one of those thingies that you put on the sim, and it's working on Smart Telecom. You're going there too huh?

BTW he was only at firmware 2.2
__________________
Are you a new subscriber to AT&T? You could get a $25 gift card, pm me for details
13'' MBP iPhone 5 32GB White iPod Nano 5th Gen
Rayfire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2009, 10:02 PM   #4
Theaser
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Be sure to block data to avoid high data prepaid fee charges in the Phillipines too.
http://www.unlockit.co.nz/

Access this site with the iPhone and install the APN address, you can still use Wi-Fi and you can remove it anytime.
__________________
8 GB - iPod Nano 3G (Black)
iPhone 3G 8 GB
Theaser is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2009, 10:44 AM   #5
nutsnbolts
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rayfire View Post
My friend has one of those thingies that you put on the sim, and it's working on Smart Telecom. You're going there too huh?

BTW he was only at firmware 2.2
What is this "thing" you are talking about?
nutsnbolts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2009, 10:45 AM   #6
nutsnbolts
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Theaser View Post
Be sure to block data to avoid high data prepaid fee charges in the Phillipines too.
http://www.unlockit.co.nz/

Access this site with the iPhone and install the APN address, you can still use Wi-Fi and you can remove it anytime.

What does this exactly do?
nutsnbolts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2009, 10:56 AM   #7
dave006
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutsnbolts View Post
Ok, what's the best way to get my iPhone to work in the Philippines? I'm currently in the US (AT&T).

Should I try to unlock my iPhone or ...

Please let me know if anyone has experience with this specifically....
Well we may need more information on how long you will be there, do you need voice and data or just voice but here are the basics:
iPhone is sold and supported in the Philippines by Global. They offer both post-paid and pre-paid plans. Their versions are also SIM locked so if you plan to take your's you will need to unlock it. You will also not have any warranty support while there unless you buy one there.

Here is an information link:

http://www.iphone3g.globe.com.ph/i/i?id=2256651
Note: 1 Year Apple warranty and all support / warranty service is performed by Globe.
dave006 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2009, 10:57 AM   #8
dave006
macrumors 68000
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutsnbolts View Post
What does this exactly do?
It just changes the APN to an invalid setting which prevents your iPhone from using data, well except for WiFi. WiFi will still work.

You can read all about APN setting in the link I provided above for Globe. Including step by step instructions and Pictures...

Dave
dave006 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2009, 11:11 AM   #9
nutsnbolts
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave006 View Post
Well we may need more information on how long you will be there, do you need voice and data or just voice but here are the basics:
iPhone is sold and supported in the Philippines by Global. They offer both post-paid and pre-paid plans. Their versions are also SIM locked so if you plan to take your's you will need to unlock it. You will also not have any warranty support while there unless you buy one there.

Here is an information link:

http://www.iphone3g.globe.com.ph/i/i?id=2256651
Note: 1 Year Apple warranty and all support / warranty service is performed by Globe.

Thanks for the information...here is a bit of how I would like to use my US iPhone (ATT) in Philippines.

Every trip I have take to Philippines, I always either get lent a generic phone and all I have to do is buy a sim to pop into the generic phone and that allows me TXT messaging and voice. More TXT than voice for it's somewhat expensive for voice ability. (at least the last time I was there 2 years ago).

So, primarily, TXT is what I would see myself using it for and of course the voice I have used for emergency purposes or if my sim is about to run out of TXT's, I would then try to finish the voice up or just replenish the sim card in general.

I will only be there for two weeks so it's not like I actually need data a whole lot, however! I would like to have it if possible and if it's inexpensive to have the entire package.

I just don't know what the iPhone's capabilities and plans are in Philippines aside from buying a sim with tons of TXT and some voice and popping the sim in and from there just watch the amount of txt I use.

So...

Does this bit of information help? Obvoiusly, I would have to get my iPhone unlocked...so now I have to figure this out. Has ATT been a bit more lenient on getting it unlocked otherwise, I'll just yellowsnow it. Please advise..

Once unlocked, I guess a bit more information regarding what you have requested from me is my next steps....

Thanks in advance.
nutsnbolts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2009, 11:14 AM   #10
nutsnbolts
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by dave006 View Post
It just changes the APN to an invalid setting which prevents your iPhone from using data, well except for WiFi. WiFi will still work.

You can read all about APN setting in the link I provided above for Globe. Including step by step instructions and Pictures...

Dave
If I understood this correctly, basically, I have to unlock my iPhone so I can use the SIM in Philippines and then use that site to block the APN so that the data doesn't go crazy on me if there is anything I left on...

What's wrong with just shutting off 3g/Edge? I'm presuming the answer here is that I won't be able to send/receive txt/calls once I pop in the Philippine SIM.

The APN blocking is ensuring that specifically data doesn't go out and I'm presuming that I would have to do this before I take off from the US so that I won't get charge just going to that site which will require data?
nutsnbolts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2009, 01:17 PM   #11
northy014
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Can't you buy an international package from AT&T?
__________________
2.0 GHz Aluminium Macbook
iPod Touch 16Gb - 1g
Proud editor of ThePhoneLounge - in depth editorials about the smartphone world.
northy014 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2009, 02:37 PM   #12
slipper
macrumors 65816
 
slipper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
I have successfully unlocked and used my iPhone (1st gen) in the Philippines. Theres three main cellular services in the Philippines, Smart, Globe, or Sun.

Any sort of international service with AT&T will be ridiculously expensive.
slipper is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2009, 08:02 PM   #13
Rayfire
macrumors 68020
 
Rayfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutsnbolts View Post
What is this "thing" you are talking about?
It's the one found at eBay, I forgot what it's called, those " ____ sim" which were sold for only $12-$20. I don't know if it will work on the current 2.2.1 firmware.

Besides, having an iPhone 3G on the Philippines will get a lot of attention, and no show offs else you know what might happen over there
__________________
Are you a new subscriber to AT&T? You could get a $25 gift card, pm me for details
13'' MBP iPhone 5 32GB White iPod Nano 5th Gen
Rayfire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2009, 08:25 PM   #14
sergiuria
macrumors 6502a
 
sergiuria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Near a bunch of T-Rex
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rayfire View Post
It's the one found at eBay, I forgot what it's called, those " Proxy sim" which were sold for only $12-$20. I don't know if it will work on the current 2.2.1 firmware.

Besides, having an iPhone 3G on the Philippines will get a lot of attention, and no show offs else you know what might happen over there


By the way, you can only unlock it if you are at 2.2 or lower
sergiuria is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2009, 09:50 AM   #15
nutsnbolts
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Would it safe to say that I have to Yellowsnow the iPhone to take advantage of using this minus data in the PI.
nutsnbolts is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 1, 2009, 03:51 PM   #16
Rayfire
macrumors 68020
 
Rayfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by nutsnbolts View Post
Would it safe to say that I have to Yellowsnow the iPhone to take advantage of using this minus data in the PI.
(see post above)
As long as firmware is 2.2 or lower
__________________
Are you a new subscriber to AT&T? You could get a $25 gift card, pm me for details
13'' MBP iPhone 5 32GB White iPod Nano 5th Gen
Rayfire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2009, 09:08 AM   #17
nutsnbolts
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rayfire View Post
(see post above)
As long as firmware is 2.2 or lower
If I upgraded to 2.2.1 could I downgrade back to 2.2?

Anyone can confirm this?
nutsnbolts is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple voltage compatible in the Philippines? kpangilinan Mac Basics and Help 3 Mar 14, 2013 11:04 PM
Missing Tracks from iTunes in the Cloud AndrewLGP Mac Applications and Mac App Store 3 Jun 19, 2011 03:16 PM
Can an unlocked Aussie iPhone work in the US with AT&T? TXBDan Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 2 Jan 8, 2009 10:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:09 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC