Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

womackis

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 3, 2009
Texas
I am new to Mac and trying to figure out what I should buy with a limited budget. I am looking to start doing audio production work with programs such as reason, live and logic so I need a system with power and durability.

On one side I could buy a used system with the following specs for $1000:

G5 based Power Mac. .

Dual 2.0 gHz G5 Processors
2.5 GB RAM
2 X 250 GB SATA Hard drives
Logic Pro 8
Logic Pro 7
Adobe CS3
200 GB Professional Sound Library (sound effects)
60 GB Professional Sample Library (samples, loops, drums, etc)
Native instruments Massive, Absynth, etc.
More audio plugins, way too many to name here.

As you can see, this machine is loaded and ready for serious audio production. If you write music or do audio post, this machine will have you up and running straight away. :rolleyes:

OR

I could look into a new Mini and get some of the hard drive and memory upgrades for the same price. Obviously it would be more energy efficient and portable but how does it stack on performance? Although the extras in G5 would be nice, I am more interested in knowing how the machines would compare in reliability and efficiency from the hardware side. :cool:

Can someone please help me answer this dilemna and/or give me some good questions to ask on the used machine before making a decision?

Also, should I be considering other options as well at around $1000? As a newbie I could use all the help I can get. Thank you! :apple:

xraydoc

Contributor
Oct 9, 2005
Honestly, I think you should go for the Mac mini (or an iMac as I note below).

A 2.26GHz Core 2 Duo will be way faster than a dual 2.0GHz G5. Plus, Apple is clearly optimizing their software for the Intel platform, so you'd be locked out of future OS upgrades with a G5.

The Mac mini will take 4GB of RAM, so you're ok there.