Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 4, 2009, 04:27 PM   #1
jdl8422
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Louisiana
I own a Mac Pro, bought a Dual 2Ghz G5 from work.. Any suggestions for use??

I have a Dual 2.66Ghz Mac Pro, 8GB RAM, (3) 1TB HDs. The Mac Pro serves my needs well. I picked up a Dual 2.0Ghz G5 from work for very cheap. All I need to ad is RAM and HDs. Any suggestions on what to use it for? Turn it into a server? What would you guys do with it? Thanks
__________________
jdl8422 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2009, 04:29 PM   #2
robinp
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
a living room media server/player? Plug it into an LCD/Plasma tv and away you go
robinp is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2009, 05:29 PM   #3
SomeSwede
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Land of ice and snow.
Combined home server, web server and seed box perhaps?
__________________
 Spelling mistakes are due to being Swedish
SomeSwede is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2009, 05:34 PM   #4
jdl8422
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Louisiana
I thought about a home server, but the reason im hesitant is because I have the mac pro that can do that. Wouldn't it be easier to use the Mac Pro for a server instead? Maybe Im not understanding what you guys mean by server. Does anyone else have a similar setup?
__________________
jdl8422 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2009, 05:56 PM   #5
grue
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Sit there and watch until the logic board and processor simultaneously die.
__________________
Powered by rage and bitterness, the cleanest of all energy.
grue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2009, 06:34 PM   #6
simplymuzik3
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
I was also thinking of getting a powermac g5. Do they have a major problem with the logic board? My g4 still works wonderfully, and I want to know if the powermac g5 is reliable, or will it break down within 2 years.
simplymuzik3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2009, 06:36 PM   #7
grue
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by simplymuzik3 View Post
I was also thinking of getting a powermac g5. Do they have a major problem with the logic board? My g4 still works wonderfully, and I want to know if the powermac g5 is reliable, or will it break down within 2 years.
Flakier than a leper colony in a sandstorm. Obviously not ALL of them fail, but it's entirely too common.
__________________
Powered by rage and bitterness, the cleanest of all energy.
grue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2009, 06:59 PM   #8
dmw007
macrumors 603
 
dmw007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Working for MI-6
Quote:
Originally Posted by simplymuzik3 View Post
I was also thinking of getting a powermac g5. Do they have a major problem with the logic board? My g4 still works wonderfully, and I want to know if the powermac g5 is reliable, or will it break down within 2 years.
Quote:
Originally Posted by grue View Post
Flakier than a leper colony in a sandstorm. Obviously not ALL of them fail, but it's entirely too common.
The 2.3GHz DP (not dual-core) Power Mac G5's are supposedly the most reliable of the G5's from what I have heard.
__________________
3.2 GHz Mac Pro Nehalem
PowerBook 1400cs/133, 450MHz G4 Cube, 500MHz Pismo
iPhone 3GS, 60GB iPod
dmw007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2009, 07:15 PM   #9
grue
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmw007 View Post
The 2.3GHz DP (not dual-core) Power Mac G5's are supposedly the most reliable of the G5's from what I have heard.
Anecdotally that's abotu right. The 1.8s are the spawn of satan. 2.0s I can't actually remember how those are.
__________________
Powered by rage and bitterness, the cleanest of all energy.
grue is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2009, 07:19 PM   #10
dmw007
macrumors 603
 
dmw007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Working for MI-6
Quote:
Originally Posted by grue View Post
Anecdotally that's abotu right. The 1.8s are the spawn of satan. 2.0s I can't actually remember how those are.
I had a 2.3GHz DP Power Mac G5 for about 1.5 years, then sold it for a first-generation MacBook Pro. Still, when I owned it, it was a rock solid machine and plenty fast for my uses - I just wanted mobility for college.
__________________
3.2 GHz Mac Pro Nehalem
PowerBook 1400cs/133, 450MHz G4 Cube, 500MHz Pismo
iPhone 3GS, 60GB iPod
dmw007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2009, 07:31 PM   #11
JBmac
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Eastern, PA
Legacy this, and legacy that

Quote:
Originally Posted by grue View Post
Anecdotally that's abotu right. The 1.8s are the spawn of satan. 2.0s I can't actually remember how those are.
I have the dp 2.0 G5, and it has been running 24/7 for 4 years. I was running Folding at Home at 100% on both processors until about 3-4 months ago. Use yours for legacy hardware (pci cards) ,cheap legacy hardware of any kind, and legacy software that won't upgrade or the developers won't upgrade anymore.
JBmac is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2009, 07:50 PM   #12
simplymuzik3
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
The powermac g5 that I am looking at is the Dual 1.8 with 4 ram slots for a maximum of 4GB. So you guys are saying that the dual 1.8 is NOT reliable? What goes wrong, the PSU, logic board? How long until something usually goes wrong? The one that I am looking at is I believe the second revision (June or late 2004, i dont remember). Thanks.
simplymuzik3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 4, 2009, 08:40 PM   #13
Dr.Pants
macrumors 65816
 
Dr.Pants's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Well, until it decides to run itself into a wall (which I do not know if it will happen), it should be a good server. Or, if you are into Linux, there are some PowerPC distrobutions that would run on it. I dunno, I'd like one to run Final Cut Server with and tend to archived data.... But that is just me. I'd probably have the thing die on me just as I got it intergrated into the workflow.

Still, running it as a server with drives in JBOD (if you can/if it makes sense), then you could potentially reclaim data if she did decide to push up pansies.... or have a couple large, seperate discs.
Dr.Pants is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Barefeats tests Dual X5690 Maxed Out Mac Pro, with Dual D700s...check it out MacVidCards Mac Pro 4 Oct 30, 2013 03:48 PM
2008 Mac Pro 3.2Ghz for $500 - Good Deal? MacPoulet Mac Pro 15 Apr 26, 2013 02:58 PM
Does Mac Pro 2009 Dual CPU heatsinks fit on Mac Pro 2010 Dual CPU board ? Spacedust Mac Pro 2 Sep 9, 2012 02:45 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC