Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 5, 2009, 12:14 AM   #1
NIPRING
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Waukesha WI
Crazy problem with my g5 powermac

ok, today i installed 4 brand new matched kingston 1gb mem sticks in my g5 1.8dp as well as hooked up a new lcd. upon restart the usb keyboard and BT mouse did not work, so i restarted again. everything seemed ok for a minute but then it happened again, so i plugged my wired mouse into the front of the tower, nothing. restart again this time both wired mouse and bt mouse are working as well as wired keyboard. i unplug the mouse, get a glass of water, sit back down to my mac and the mouse and keyboard are non-responsive. restart again

heres what it comes down to, if i stop moving the mouse for more than 5 seconds i lose all input to my mac. bt says its still connected but is un responsive. i tried putting the old ram back in but its the same results. i used memtest on both old and new ram, all passed. i cant figure what the hell is going on. as im typing this with one hand the other is constantly moving the mouse or ill have to restart. please dont be the logic board!

a little help please
__________________
27" TB and 2.6Ghz Quad i7 Mini 16gb Ram
NIPRING is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2009, 05:36 AM   #2
simplymuzik3
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
try switching back to old display and old ram. Then it should work like it used to. If that doesn't work then there must be another problem. Btw, ho long have you had you g5? Any problems with the logic board? I'm considering getting one tomorrow 1.8 DP. How reliable has your machine been? Tiger or leopard?
simplymuzik3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2009, 06:28 AM   #3
NIPRING
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Waukesha WI
i dont understand what the monitor would have to do with it. the previous was an apple acrylic adc and the new one is a dell sp2309w. ill have to try after work today switching those around, but last night i put the old ram back in and it was acting the same way
__________________
27" TB and 2.6Ghz Quad i7 Mini 16gb Ram
NIPRING is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2009, 07:10 AM   #4
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by NIPRING View Post
i dont understand what the monitor would have to do with it. the previous was an apple acrylic adc and the new one is a dell sp2309w. ill have to try after work today switching those around, but last night i put the old ram back in and it was acting the same way
Reseat your video card and zap your pram. Also, clean out the dust on that G5, it can actually affect logic boards. I mean really clean it. You have a dvi and adc connector on your card, right? Also check your keyboard and mouse settings and your SLEEP settings.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2009, 07:33 AM   #5
chedda
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Underwater
Re-Seat Ram

Quote:
Originally Posted by NIPRING View Post
i dont understand what the monitor would have to do with it. the previous was an apple acrylic adc and the new one is a dell sp2309w. ill have to try after work today switching those around, but last night i put the old ram back in and it was acting the same way
It could be a problem with the seating of the ram i know because it happened to me. You will have to methodically check them all and make sure they are all pushed in and secured well. Otherwise i'm afraid it looks a little more serious.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 12x2.93, 3x8 GB, ATI 5870,2x30" cinema displays, OWC SSD.
chedda is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2009, 09:24 AM   #6
Earl Urly
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Sounds like there's a chance the front panel assembly might have shorted out/become defective. It's the little removeable module that houses the power switch, USB and FireWire port on the front panel. May have been just coincidence.

Kingston RAM is good quality and they had a flap back when lots of their RAM ******* the bed on the Mac so these days they are very careful to make sure their stated models run on them.
Earl Urly is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2009, 10:29 PM   #7
NIPRING
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Waukesha WI
Well, I'm very very happy to report that I've figured out the problem. My G5 didnt come with Bluetooth built in so i was using a USB D-Link DBT-120 Rev. B3 bluetooth module. THAT was the troublemaker. I unplugged everything except the wired mouse and wired keyboard.....no freezing. I try adding the D-Link again, within 5 seconds it would freeze up. I removed it, restarted (forcibly, and i hate doing it that way) works perfectly.

On a side note i recently attempted to add the a1044 internal BT card but accidentally broke off the connector in the logic board but luckily was able to remove the piece from the socket. So naturally when i suspected that the D-link BT was the issue i feared that maybe one of the internal BT's pins got stuck in that socket and was causing this.

But i grabbed a different Kensington BT USB adapter out of my MAME cab and plugged it into my G5 Bluetooth works like a champ again. I'm sooo relieved! I cant tell you how worried i was. Especially when i was trying to research this on the web and i was reading alllll these horror stories about dying G5s .

Anyway, thanks to those who offered there assistance.


__________________
27" TB and 2.6Ghz Quad i7 Mini 16gb Ram
NIPRING is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 5, 2009, 10:35 PM   #8
voyagerd
macrumors 65816
 
voyagerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Folsom, CA
Send a message via AIM to voyagerd Send a message via MSN to voyagerd Send a message via Yahoo to voyagerd Send a message via Skype™ to voyagerd
I have the single cpu 1.8GHz G5 and I've had a similar problem a couple of times with the D-Link USB adapter. Basically, it doesn't freeze the computer, but blocks all USB input. I think I've only had it about 3 times though, and a restart fixed it, I think it happened while I was printing, at least the last time.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro / 2.6GHz C2D / 4GB / 750GB SSHD / 8600M GT
SR-2 Hackintosh / Dual Intel® Xeon® X5680@4.3GHz / 48GB RAM / 2x 480GB Intel SSDs / GeForce GTX 780
64GB iPhone 5S, 120GB iPod Classic
voyagerd is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPad: My weird Safari problem, please help driving me crazy egeek84 iPad 2 Sep 5, 2013 09:50 PM
Apple Mail 6.5 Crazy Data Usage - Downloading like Crazy?! coolspot18 OS X 10.8 Mountain Lion 1 Aug 17, 2013 05:52 PM
Crazy problem with Apple wireless keyboard. cosrocket Mac Peripherals 1 Aug 11, 2013 11:00 AM
Mac Pro huge problem - crazy fans NeilPDJ Mac Pro 6 Nov 6, 2012 07:36 AM
PowerMac G5 Problem 3Stang PowerPC Macs 2 Aug 21, 2012 09:11 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:39 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC