Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 6, 2009, 06:55 PM   #1
simplymuzik3
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Love my new powermac G5!!!!

I just got a powermac g5 dual processor 1.8ghz, 1 gb ram, 80gb hard drive, for $400 CAD!!! I love this thing! Im using it as my main computer, and it runs circles around my dual 800mhz quicksilver!!! People say that the powermac g5's are no good, but I think they are amazing!!! They handle iLife and iWork 09' perfectly! This rant is just to tell everyone how good my new g5 is!
simplymuzik3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2009, 08:41 PM   #2
Toronto Mike
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
I love my dual 2.0 G5 that I bought used last May so I know how excited you must be.

I've decided to dig my heels in and stay on CS2 for many many years because I feel this is a solid performer with Tiger. I would rather learn the software I have more thoroughly at this point than worry about what is currently on offer.

Actually, I take that back - I'm always excited about what is rolling out, but I cannot justify spending the money for a new Mac Pro. My jaw dropped when I was looking at the prices in $CDN - add the cost of the CS4 upgrade and it's mind boggling to spend that kind of cash for what I use my machine for.

I wish they could bring a tower out for $1,700, room for 2x HDs, easily upgradable graphic card, and something greater than 8GB of ram. I'd would definately rethink my future upgrade strategy.

As it stands, I do think the G5s are great values right now if you can get the right ones and use the older software.

Mike

Last edited by Toronto Mike; Mar 6, 2009 at 08:54 PM.
Toronto Mike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 6, 2009, 09:39 PM   #3
NIPRING
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Waukesha WI
Congrats! For $140 I upped my ram to 4GB from newegg. And i got lucky that the previous owner already put in the Ati X800XT. Its wicked fast for me. I'm coming off a 1.42 mini with 1gb ram, so the Dual 1.8 G5s are a huge leap for me.
__________________
27" TB and 2.6Ghz Quad i7 Mini 16gb Ram
NIPRING is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 07:06 AM   #4
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
I miss my 2.0 dual core Powermac G5. I agree, G5s are a great bargain now. Love my quad. Has 7 gigs of ram and it ran great even before the ram upgrade. What is fascinating is that Apple has worked out any of the software bugs that the G5s had previously. Powermac G5s are stable, fast and amazing machines and finally affordable.

By the way, I run my G5s on the highest CPU settings instead of automatic. When I had my 1.8ghz G5, I learned this secret...
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 07:53 AM   #5
Toronto Mike
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by California View Post
I miss my 2.0 dual core Powermac G5. I agree, G5s are a great bargain now. Love my quad. Has 7 gigs of ram and it ran great even before the ram upgrade. What is fascinating is that Apple has worked out any of the software bugs that the G5s had previously. Powermac G5s are stable, fast and amazing machines and finally affordable.

By the way, I run my G5s on the highest CPU settings instead of automatic. When I had my 1.8ghz G5, I learned this secret...
What is the secret? Can I make my dual 2.0 go faster?

Mike
Toronto Mike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 10:01 AM   #6
dmw007
macrumors 603
 
dmw007's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Working for MI-6
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toronto Mike View Post
What is the secret? Can I make my dual 2.0 go faster?

Mike
Just make sure that under energy settings in system preferences that you have CPU performance set to Highest over Automatic. This will help boost your Power Mac G5's performance Toronto Mike.


P.S.- Glad that you are liking your RAM California.
__________________
3.2 GHz Mac Pro Nehalem
PowerBook 1400cs/133, 450MHz G4 Cube, 500MHz Pismo
iPhone 3GS, 60GB iPod
dmw007 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 10:55 AM   #7
simplymuzik3
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Does the highest setting make a big difference over automatic? I dont want my powermac to overheat or something
simplymuzik3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 11:13 AM   #8
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by dmw007 View Post


P.S.- Glad that you are liking your RAM California.
Thanks again dmw007...

for selling me that great ram for the PM!
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 11:17 AM   #9
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by simplymuzik3 View Post
Does the highest setting make a big difference over automatic? I dont want my powermac to overheat or something
You are overridding the system CPU downclock for when the system thinks you don't need to access the total CPU power.

I actually did this because I noticed the fans would run up and down on the 1.8ghz single G5 I had as it adjusted to whatever I was doing on my Powermac. It was more of a fan issue for me than power, but solved both when you override the automatic settings. Every Powermac I've owned since is quiet as a mouse. And powerful.

Just keep you case insides clean of dust. I truly think this is one of the biggest problems with them and an easy fix. Dust buildup also equals heat buildup.

I first saw this CPU automatic underclock when I bought a two year old 1 ghz Titanium Powerbook a few years back. I had Daystar's application that pushed the system to maximum CPU and was alarmed that the 1ghz Tibook was only running at 667mhz most of the time. Apple explained that automatic thing to me -- on the Tibooks heat was a big issue (that last model had two fans instead of one on the previous models because of this). I solved the Powerbook issue with the Daystar software and an elevated stand to keep the air circulating.

With the G5s, Apple was still worried about heat issues as we all know. What is great for us G5 owners now is it seems a lot of the issues have been worked out with software updates. My PM G5s run cooler now than before, quieter now and yes ram and better video cards also help. This is why they are such a good bargain, IMHO.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD

Last edited by California; Mar 7, 2009 at 11:24 AM.
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 11:19 AM   #10
simplymuzik3
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
okay thanks Im setting it to highest right now. Will it be a noticable difference?
simplymuzik3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 12:41 PM   #11
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by simplymuzik3 View Post
okay thanks Im setting it to highest right now. Will it be a noticable difference?
Let us know. How much ram again do you have maximum in that G5?
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 01:10 PM   #12
sigmadog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA - Upper Left
I'm doing the same right now to my 2.0 Dual G5. So far, it seems a bit snappier opening files, and reacting to mouse actions (clicks, etc.).

This is a great tip!

Edit to add: By the way, I've got 5.5GB RAM on mine. We'll see how much improvement there is when I'm processing images in Photoshop and handling large illustrations in Illustrator (it always seems to lag a bit with large Illustrator files).
__________________
My Mac is just a tool. People don't look at my art and congratulate me for having a great computer.
sigmadog.com
sigmadog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 01:19 PM   #13
nplima
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by simplymuzik3 View Post
I just got a powermac g5 dual processor 1.8ghz, 1 gb ram, 80gb hard drive, for $400 CAD!!! I love this thing! Im using it as my main computer, and it runs circles around my dual 800mhz quicksilver!!! People say that the powermac g5's are no good, but I think they are amazing!!! They handle iLife and iWork 09' perfectly! This rant is just to tell everyone how good my new g5 is!
yay!

what's the geekbench score?
nplima is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 02:21 PM   #14
simplymuzik3
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by California View Post
Let us know. How much ram again do you have maximum in that G5?
I just got it yesterday, and it came with 1GB ram(2 x 512). I plan on buying 2GB(2 x 1GB) sticks pretty soon. Everywhere I look, its like 90$ for 2 1GB sticks. Does anyone know where to get them cheaper(in Canada)? Thanks.
simplymuzik3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 03:14 PM   #15
NIPRING
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Waukesha WI
Quote:
Originally Posted by nplima View Post
yay!

what's the geekbench score?
Mine is 1631. I thought it was pretty good until i checked geekbench's Mac Performance page. Oh well, i'm happy with it anyway.
__________________
27" TB and 2.6Ghz Quad i7 Mini 16gb Ram
NIPRING is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 04:14 PM   #16
simplymuzik3
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
I got 1581 with the 1Gb ram and dual 1.8 processors. Im perfectly happy with mine. What do current intel Mac's get?
simplymuzik3 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 05:07 PM   #17
Toronto Mike
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
[QUOTE=dmw007;7228659]Just make sure that under energy settings in system preferences that you have CPU performance set to Highest over Automatic. This will help boost your Power Mac G5's performance Toronto Mike.

Thank you for that tip. When I checked out the setting, it was already on the "Highest" setting. I bought by machine used, so I guess the previous owner knew what he was doing.

I am hoping that when Snow Leopard comes out, that the last of the ppc G5 hold outs will want to make the jump to Intel. I am patiently waiting to pick up an identical G5 as a back up/spare parts machine for a very good price. I am so impressed with what this machine can do on my existing software that it'll be interesting how long I stay where I am without upgrading.

Mike
Toronto Mike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 05:25 PM   #18
sigmadog
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: USA - Upper Left
PowerMac Dual 2.0 G5 / 5.5GB RAM GeekBench results: 1741

Not bad. Though I've seen some of the 2008 MacPros come in in the 8500 range or better. Those were 8-core computers.
__________________
My Mac is just a tool. People don't look at my art and congratulate me for having a great computer.
sigmadog.com
sigmadog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 05:32 PM   #19
California
macrumors 68040
 
California's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by sigmadog View Post
PowerMac Dual 2.0 G5 / 5.5GB RAM GeekBench results: 1741

Not bad. Though I've seen some of the 2008 MacPros come in in the 8500 range or better. Those were 8-core computers.

Re: Geekbench scores... the ram on those scores for G5s is usually 512mb...

not really a good indication IMHO.

With 7 gigs in a Quad, I am sailing past most intels I've used.
__________________
2.66ghz 13" MBP/1.67ghz Powerbook G5 15" DLHR/iPhone 16gb/30" ACD
California is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 05:36 PM   #20
Toronto Mike
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
It makes me wonder what I am missing when I see the just recent Mac Pros post scores that are over 4x what I currently have. Yet, it really comes down to what work you need to do with which software you need to do it with that counts in the end.

I try not to get too caught up in the how far behind my G5 is now. I'll focus on learning what my current software is capable of. That should keep me busy for the next five years at least.

Mike
Toronto Mike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 06:11 PM   #21
rockinrocker
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toronto Mike View Post
I've decided to dig my heels in and stay on CS2 for many many years because I feel this is a solid performer with Tiger. I would rather learn the software I have more thoroughly at this point than worry about what is currently on offer.
This is an excellent attitude to have, and one I wish more creative types that also use lots of tech in their work would have.
Good job.
__________________
MBP 2011 15" - Mac Mini 2011 2.3
Mac Pro '08 - iP5 - iPad 3
rockinrocker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 06:29 PM   #22
fiercetiger224
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Awesome dude! I'm waiting to pop money on a G5 Quad when they get even cheaper on the used market. I just want a G5 just to have one.

There are always those who get the latest and greatest, and there are those who wait and get it used/cheap, and it becomes their "latest and greatest". Even though you lag behind in the times, it's "much faster" to you, due to your old previous machine that's probably much slower.

I always loved G5s when I used them years ago (damn has it been that long?! ). Although I still love my Mac Pro...
__________________
Mac Pro 2 x 2.8 Ghz Quad-Core Xeon, 32 GB RAM, Leopard
MacBook Pro 2.33 Ghz Core 2 Duo, 2 GB RAM, Leopard
PowerBook G4 1 Ghz, 1.5 GB RAM, Tiger
fiercetiger224 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 06:37 PM   #23
Toronto Mike
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Toronto
I think what changed my attitude about how to view all this change is the book, "Professional Photoshop" by Dan Marguils. The density of excellent knowledge contained within this book, and the required period to absorb and apply this would take years of hard work and practice. Dan states himself that most of what he explains can be done with Photoshop 7, only a few of his more cutting edge ideas use the newer features found in CS2. What makes Dan so interesting is that his focus is on the ideas of how to make an image look better - much of which can be found utilizing the tools we already have in new and different ways - like a shift in consciousness

Thinking of many of our great 20th century artists. They were using tools that have been in use for hundreds of years. Raphael was using the same chalk over 400 years ago that you can go down to any serious art store and purchase for $3.00 a stick.

So much of what takes place in our computers needs to take place between our ears.

Mike

ps - This thread is almost turning into a G5 lovefest amidst the rejoicing of our Mac Pro brothers

Last edited by Toronto Mike; Mar 7, 2009 at 10:51 PM.
Toronto Mike is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 07:17 PM   #24
Floris1994
Guest
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by simplymuzik3 View Post
Does the highest setting make a big difference over automatic? I dont want my powermac to overheat or something
My iMac G5 is the one to be worried about overheating! It is like 65Celcius Idle
Floris1994 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2009, 08:43 PM   #25
nüb
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
I'm debating getting rid of my G5 for a new MacPro. What are peoples' thoughts??
nüb is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PowerMac G5 as a server? Good idea? alexreich PowerPC Macs 35 Sep 11, 2012 04:46 PM
My new Powermac G5 2.3Ghz MacintoshMaster PowerPC Macs 9 Oct 13, 2011 05:35 AM
Trading 16gb iPad 1 for a PowerMac G5 geekindisguise Buying Tips and Advice 5 Sep 19, 2011 08:28 AM
My New PowerMac G5 is Dieing!! hob Macintosh Computers 10 Jun 11, 2005 08:21 PM
I got my new PowerMac G5 December 10 with iLife 04 now 35 days later iLife 05.. TheBunnellFarm Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive) 9 Jan 16, 2005 08:59 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:08 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC