Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 14, 2009, 02:28 PM   #1
thebigb010
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Power supply for Cinema Display...

Have an older Apple Cinema LCD Display 22" (M5662) which is missing the power supply.

Now the back of the display says "16 vdc 3.875amp max"

The power connector is round with 3 pins (2 large and 1 small).

Would anyone have a diagram of the pinouts so as I could build my own power supply. Also where it says "3.875 amps max" what would be the normal amp load off this thing?

Thanks in advance.

B
thebigb010 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 02:31 PM   #2
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Could have sworn that it was built in and that you only need a cable.
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 03:16 PM   #3
edgew8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post
Could have sworn that it was built in and that you only need a cable.
Maybe he is talking about the power inverter?

OP you need to go to a Macparts website and see if you can dig up a new or used inverter, not a power supply. I seriously doubt you will be able to "make your own"..sorry
__________________
2ghz iMac G5 20"/ 4gb iPod nano 3rd gen:apple/ Macbook Pro 15"
edgew8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 03:18 PM   #4
thebigb010
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post
Could have sworn that it was built in and that you only need a cable.
Maybe, I am a bit confused myself.

There is a cable out of the monitor that brakes out to 3 connectors...

1 = USB
2 = DVI
3 = POWER???? (round with 3 pins - 2 large and 1 small)

I tried plugging the DVI into my MacPro thniking maybe power was included - no go.

I keep reading about ADC that did have power.

The DVI connector I have is called "DVI-D Dual Link" "Three rows of eight pins and a solitary flat blade"
Attached Images
 
thebigb010 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 03:19 PM   #5
thebigb010
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgew8 View Post
Maybe he is talking about the power inverter?

OP you need to go to a Macparts website and see if you can dig up a new or used inverter, not a power supply. I seriously doubt you will be able to "make your own"..sorry
Inverter??? Please explain.

B
thebigb010 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 04:19 PM   #6
iToaster
macrumors 68000
 
iToaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In front of my MacBook Pro
Can you post a picture of this?
__________________
MacBook Pro | 2.66 i7 | 8GB | 1TB | Matte HR | iPhone 5S | 64 GB | iPad WiFi | 64 GB
iToaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2009, 07:17 AM   #7
peskaa
macrumors 68020
 
peskaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, UK
DVI doesn't carry power - only ADC did that, which is the two models after your screen. So yes, you need a power block.

Looks like you may have to eBay one.
__________________
rMBP 15"(2012) 2.3 i7 | 16GB | 256GB | 650M
iMac 27"(2011) 3.1 i5 | 8GB | 1TB | 6970M
DS211j 2x2TB
peskaa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2009, 12:30 PM   #8
OllyW
Moderator
 
OllyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Black Country, England
You need this power supply.

One for sale here.
__________________
Some Apple stuff
Some other stuff
https://soundcloud.com/disco-tramps
OllyW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2011, 08:03 AM   #9
awab
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
want to build a powersupply for a 22 cinema display

have the same problem.
To buy via ebay cost approx. 50-70 us. its more then the hole display


Have an older Apple Cinema LCD Display 22" (M5662) which is missing the power supply.

Now the back of the display says "16 vdc 3.875amp max"

The power connector is round with 3 pins (2 large and 1 small).

Would anyone have a diagram of the pinouts so as I could build my own power supply. Also where it says "3.875 amps max" what would be the normal amp load off this thing?

Thanks in advance.
awab is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange feedback into power supply from MBP di1in MacBook Pro 9 Jul 1, 2012 03:24 AM
Power Supply Failure in 2010 MP Hexacore telequest Mac Pro 13 Nov 21, 2011 12:43 PM
2011 Cinema Displays -BigMac- Mac Peripherals 40 Jul 14, 2011 05:21 AM
buzzing power supply loungecorps Mac Pro 1 Feb 27, 2011 04:38 PM
PowerBook 17" 1.67 blows power supplies MacWabbit PowerPC Macs 1 Nov 17, 2010 07:02 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:35 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC