Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 14, 2009, 02:28 PM   #1
thebigb010
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Power supply for Cinema Display...

Have an older Apple Cinema LCD Display 22" (M5662) which is missing the power supply.

Now the back of the display says "16 vdc 3.875amp max"

The power connector is round with 3 pins (2 large and 1 small).

Would anyone have a diagram of the pinouts so as I could build my own power supply. Also where it says "3.875 amps max" what would be the normal amp load off this thing?

Thanks in advance.

B
thebigb010 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 02:31 PM   #2
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Could have sworn that it was built in and that you only need a cable.
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 03:16 PM   #3
edgew8
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post
Could have sworn that it was built in and that you only need a cable.
Maybe he is talking about the power inverter?

OP you need to go to a Macparts website and see if you can dig up a new or used inverter, not a power supply. I seriously doubt you will be able to "make your own"..sorry
__________________
2ghz iMac G5 20"/ 4gb iPod nano 3rd gen:apple/ Macbook Pro 15"
edgew8 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 03:18 PM   #4
thebigb010
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post
Could have sworn that it was built in and that you only need a cable.
Maybe, I am a bit confused myself.

There is a cable out of the monitor that brakes out to 3 connectors...

1 = USB
2 = DVI
3 = POWER???? (round with 3 pins - 2 large and 1 small)

I tried plugging the DVI into my MacPro thniking maybe power was included - no go.

I keep reading about ADC that did have power.

The DVI connector I have is called "DVI-D Dual Link" "Three rows of eight pins and a solitary flat blade"
Attached Images
 
thebigb010 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 03:19 PM   #5
thebigb010
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by edgew8 View Post
Maybe he is talking about the power inverter?

OP you need to go to a Macparts website and see if you can dig up a new or used inverter, not a power supply. I seriously doubt you will be able to "make your own"..sorry
Inverter??? Please explain.

B
thebigb010 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 14, 2009, 04:19 PM   #6
iToaster
macrumors 68000
 
iToaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: In front of my MacBook Pro
Can you post a picture of this?
__________________
MacBook Pro | 2.66 i7 | 8GB | 1TB | Matte HR | iPhone 5S | 64 GB | iPad WiFi | 64 GB
iToaster is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2009, 07:17 AM   #7
peskaa
macrumors 68020
 
peskaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London, UK
DVI doesn't carry power - only ADC did that, which is the two models after your screen. So yes, you need a power block.

Looks like you may have to eBay one.
__________________
rMBP 15"(2012) 2.3 i7 | 16GB | 256GB | 650M
iMac 27"(2011) 3.1 i5 | 8GB | 1TB | 6970M
DS211j 2x2TB
peskaa is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 15, 2009, 12:30 PM   #8
OllyW
Moderator
 
OllyW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: The Black Country, England
You need this power supply.

One for sale here.
__________________
Some Apple stuff
Some other stuff
https://soundcloud.com/disco-tramps
OllyW is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2011, 08:03 AM   #9
awab
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
want to build a powersupply for a 22 cinema display

have the same problem.
To buy via ebay cost approx. 50-70 us. its more then the hole display


Have an older Apple Cinema LCD Display 22" (M5662) which is missing the power supply.

Now the back of the display says "16 vdc 3.875amp max"

The power connector is round with 3 pins (2 large and 1 small).

Would anyone have a diagram of the pinouts so as I could build my own power supply. Also where it says "3.875 amps max" what would be the normal amp load off this thing?

Thanks in advance.
awab is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power adapter for 20" Cinema Display Dr Charter Mac Peripherals 4 Jan 27, 2014 09:32 PM
Any ADC Card will Power 23'' Cinema display SimonUK5 PowerPC Macs 17 Oct 11, 2013 09:38 PM
Best uninterruptible power supply (UPS) for MacBook Pro + Cinema Display? umbilical MacBook Pro 5 Jul 15, 2013 12:06 PM
23" Cinema HD Display power issues dulo117 Mac Peripherals 0 Jan 9, 2013 09:58 AM
LED Cinema Display power off? mobile23 Mac Peripherals 1 Jul 30, 2012 08:42 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:05 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC