Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

mansa

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 14, 2009
This might be a stupid question but bare with me I am a newbie.

I just bought a mac book with a 320GB HD but it says the disk capacity is only 297GB. I was wondering why this is.

Help Much appreciated.

GfulDedFan

macrumors 65816
Oct 17, 2007
Indiana
It's a math thing. It has to do with the fact that 1000 does not equal 1024. Point is, everything is normal with your 320GB HD showing as about 297.77.

If you need a full explanation or a need to confirm the fact that everything is normal, click the MRoogle link in my signature and search the topic because it's been discussed several times. -GDF

Scippy

macrumors regular
Jan 12, 2009
Somewhere
Wikipedia gives a good explanation.

Since the early 2000s most consumer hard drive capacities are grouped in certain size classes measured in gigabytes. The exact capacity of a given drive is usually some number above or below the class designation. Although most manufacturers of hard disk drives and flash-memory disk devices define 1 gigabyte as 1,000,000,000 bytes, the computer operating systems used by most users usually calculate size in gigabytes by dividing the total capacity in bytes (whether it is disk capacity, file size, or system RAM) by 1,073,741,824. This distinction is a cause of confusion, as a hard disk with a manufacturer-rated capacity of 400 gigabytes may be reported by the operating system as only 372 GB large, depending on the type of report.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gigabyte#Gigabytes_vs._gigabits

reebzor

macrumors 6502a
Jul 18, 2008
Philadelphia, PA
basically, to dumb it down even more: Your drive is 320,000,000,000 bytes, which in fact equals about 297gb, but for simplicity purposes they say it equals 320gb.

mansa

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 14, 2009