Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 17, 2009, 07:25 AM   #1
Mork
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
How much memory can I put in my 15" MacBook Pro

I have a new 15" (unibody) MacBook Pro running 10.5.6. with 4 GB

Is it possible to add more memory beyond this 4GB? I read somewhere that I could have 4 GB and a 2GB module = 6 GB.

Has anyone done this successfully?

I seem to recall that the max advertised memory amount was 4 GB.

Thanks for any replies.

-- M
Mork is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2009, 08:23 AM   #2
Patriks7
macrumors 65816
 
Patriks7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Batcave
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mork View Post
I have a new 15" (unibody) MacBook Pro running 10.5.6. with 4 GB

Is it possible to add more memory beyond this 4GB? I read somewhere that I could have 4 GB and a 2GB module = 6 GB.

Has anyone done this successfully?

I seem to recall that the max advertised memory amount was 4 GB.

Thanks for any replies.

-- M
Max advertised is 4GB, but that doesn't mean it can't take more. In fact, if you would have done some search, one of the first threads to show up is a very, very, very (very, very) long thread on this.
__________________
iPhone 5 | iPad rMini | iPod Nano | Canon 40D
MacBook Pro Retina 13" | MacBook Pro Unibody 15"
Patriks7 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2009, 08:42 AM   #3
Mork
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Thanks.
Mork is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2009, 12:43 PM   #4
Jurwin
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: On the other side of crazyness. You know, the sane part.
This has been discussed to death. The 15 inch unibody for now can only use max 6 gig of ram successfully.
__________________
MR's Intel Fanguy
15" MacBook Pro 2.5 GHz
Times on time-out: 5
Jurwin is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2009, 12:55 PM   #5
Mork
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurwin View Post
This has been discussed to death. The 15 inch unibody for now can only use max 6 gig of ram successfully.
Sorry about the duplicate post!!!!
Mork is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2009, 01:10 PM   #6
xoggyux
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mork View Post
I have a new 15" (unibody) MacBook Pro running 10.5.6. with 4 GB

Is it possible to add more memory beyond this 4GB? I read somewhere that I could have 4 GB and a 2GB module = 6 GB.

Has anyone done this successfully?

I seem to recall that the max advertised memory amount was 4 GB.

Thanks for any replies.

-- M
It could take 6GB (1x2GB and 1x4GB) but it does not wort the upgrade, 4GB modules are very expensive and anyway if you do upgrade to 6GB you lose the dual channel so you actually end up with an slower system with 6GB specially since you will hardly use more than 4GB at any given time (or I am wrong?) If you are looking for performance consider SSD drives after all OS X uses a great deal of virtual memory and the extra performance of SSD over HDD would help a lot (not to mention booting and loading times)
Take a look at this thread for a cheap SSD:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=661948

or if money is not an issue then take a look at Intel's and Samsungs'
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4gb RAM, 128gb SSD
xoggyux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2009, 01:57 PM   #7
jjahshik32
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
6GB Max. 17" Unibody can go up to 8GB.
__________________
http://www.steve-yi.com
jjahshik32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2009, 04:49 PM   #8
ayeying
macrumors 601
 
ayeying's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Yay Area, CA
Send a message via AIM to ayeying
Quote:
Originally Posted by xoggyux View Post
It could take 6GB (1x2GB and 1x4GB) but it does not wort the upgrade, 4GB modules are very expensive and anyway if you do upgrade to 6GB you lose the dual channel so you actually end up with an slower system with 6GB specially since you will hardly use more than 4GB at any given time (or I am wrong?) If you are looking for performance consider SSD drives after all OS X uses a great deal of virtual memory and the extra performance of SSD over HDD would help a lot (not to mention booting and loading times)
Take a look at this thread for a cheap SSD:
http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=661948

or if money is not an issue then take a look at Intel's and Samsungs'
without dual channel, an user who does not need or even use the entire 6GB of ram would have a very slight slower experience vs someone with dual channel. However, if your line of work requires the ram, then you'll see a drastic improvement due to the extra 2GB of physical ram.
__________________
MacBook Pro | 2.6GHz Quad Core i7, 16GB DDR3L, 1TB SSD, Intel Iris Pro + GT750M 2GB, 10.10.1, 8.1
iPhone 6+ | Gray, 128GB, T-Mobile, iOS 8.1.2
iPad Air 2 | Gray, 128GB, iOS 8.1.2
ayeying is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2009, 05:15 PM   #9
jjahshik32
macrumors 603
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayeying View Post
without dual channel, an user who does not need or even use the entire 6GB of ram would have a very slight slower experience vs someone with dual channel. However, if your line of work requires the ram, then you'll see a drastic improvement due to the extra 2GB of physical ram.
I also read in a hardware review where with 8gb of RAM, each core couldnt handle 4gb each that well either. So its kind of a similar situation of the 6GB of RAM as well.
__________________
http://www.steve-yi.com
jjahshik32 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2009, 05:17 PM   #10
Mork
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Maybe with 10.6 things will improve?

I read that 10.6 should be able to actually address 16,000 GB.
Mork is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2009, 05:42 PM   #11
xoggyux
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayeying View Post
without dual channel, an user who does not need or even use the entire 6GB of ram would have a very slight slower experience vs someone with dual channel. However, if your line of work requires the ram, then you'll see a drastic improvement due to the extra 2GB of physical ram.
The thing is that if you would do something that requires that awful amount of ram to begin with (6GB++) you would start by buying a better laptop (definitively 17" that can handle the 8GB and therefore also the dual channel)
__________________
MacBook Pro 2.4Ghz Intel Core 2 Duo, 4gb RAM, 128gb SSD
xoggyux is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2009, 07:44 PM   #12
Mork
Thread Starter
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Right, agreed.

When I bought the 15", it had just come out and may be all I ever really need. I really wanted the 17" so maybe in a few months with 10.6 and things stabilize a bit....

Thanks.
Mork is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Notebooks > MacBook Pro

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
16GB Memory on Macbook pro 15" i5 2.4 nilsi MacBook Pro 2 May 18, 2014 12:16 AM
Will I be able to put non-ECC memory in my late 2013 Mac Pro? Pseud0 Mac Pro 3 Jan 20, 2014 08:08 AM
Retina MacBook Pro 13" processor vs memory Ianwbz MacBook Pro 13 Oct 27, 2013 11:14 AM
Can you put 16GB RAM in a 2010 15" MacBook Pro? Siderz MacBook Pro 5 Jun 9, 2013 05:13 PM
To add a SSD to Macbook Pro, put to the DVD-ROM tray, or put to original HD place? oldguru MacBook Pro 6 Mar 14, 2013 05:48 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:19 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC