Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 17, 2009, 03:11 PM   #1
rshire
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Screenshot not working

I have been using the basic screenshot function (command, shift, 4) on my iMac for a long time now, and suddenly just this week it started returning only a black screen. Somehow it isn't taking a picture of what I selected and is merely saving a picture of a black screen on my desktop!! This is killing me because I use screenshots so frequently -- does anyone know what's wrong? Thanks
rshire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2009, 03:25 PM   #2
kastenbrust
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Korea
Screenshot is: Command + Shift + 3, It will save a shot of your screen on your desktop.

Control + Shift + 4 = Screenshot of Specific Region, so if you dont choose a region you will just get black or random looking photos.

Last edited by kastenbrust; Mar 17, 2009 at 03:47 PM.
kastenbrust is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2009, 03:30 PM   #3
rshire
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Yeah I tried that as well, and it's still showing the same empty, black shot as with the more area specific screenshot!
rshire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2009, 03:51 PM   #4
kastenbrust
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: North Korea
Go to the terminal and type:
(you can copy and paste it)

defaults write com.apple.screencapture disable-shadow -bool true

now log out and log back in again
let me know if that worked!
kastenbrust is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 17, 2009, 04:15 PM   #5
rshire
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
AWESOME!! That worked right away. I have no idea why it was doing that. . . . Thank you so much for your help!
rshire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2009, 07:58 AM   #6
bravenewniche
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Not sure how to work Terminal

Been having the same black screen - hope this will work, but I'm such a newbie with Terminal that I don't know what you mean about logging in and out.

When I open Terminal, I seem to be logged in already, or do you mean logging off my system completely as a user and then logging back in (my Mac has simply worked for the last year so I never log off and on - unlike my Windows machine :-) )
bravenewniche is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2009, 08:24 AM   #7
scienide09
macrumors 65816
 
scienide09's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Canada
Try opening Terminal, then entering the command exactly as written. Then, close terminal, and log out of your user account for the computer. Finally, log in to your user account and try taking screenshots again.
__________________
I'm a librarian.
iMac 27" i7 2.8 | mid-2011 MBA | iPhone 8GB (original) | iPhone 5 (black) | Backup: RAID-1 640GB NAS.
scienide09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2009, 09:55 AM   #8
angelwatt
Moderator emeritus
 
angelwatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by bravenewniche View Post
Been having the same black screen - hope this will work, but I'm such a newbie with Terminal that I don't know what you mean about logging in and out.

When I open Terminal, I seem to be logged in already, or do you mean logging off my system completely as a user and then logging back in (my Mac has simply worked for the last year so I never log off and on - unlike my Windows machine :-) )
It means logging in/out of your computer account. This step is needed because of the changes it makes to the OS. There's likely a Terminal command to restart something without needing to logout, but logging out is the easiest method. You can try the following Terminal command if you want to avoid logging out.
Code:
killall -HUP SystemUIServer
angelwatt is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 30, 2009, 12:08 PM   #9
bravenewniche
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Thanks everyone! I did the user log off method, and sure enough, when I logged in again, no more black screens.

I'm assuming that it was trying to apply a "shadow" and all I was getting was the shadow part... but why all of a sudden was it applying the shadow, or has it been applying a shadow all along and then the process of applying it gets fouled up some how...

Curious in Vancouver

Last edited by bravenewniche; Apr 30, 2009 at 12:09 PM. Reason: bad grammar
bravenewniche is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 17, 2009, 11:03 PM   #10
makbook
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Black, now Blue!?

Hi, I have a macbook aluminum unibody (late 2008), (with a nVidia graphics chip) and i am running OS X 10.5.7

I had the same black screenshot problem, and when i tried the terminal command, i logged out and logged back in, and then i took both a cross-hair (command-shift-4) and a full screenshot, and now, instead of black, my screenshots turn out all blue! HELP! PLEASE! I NEED SCREENSHOTS! Thanks!

P.S. There was a gray frame around the middle of the full screen shot. Does this matter?
makbook is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 18, 2009, 02:21 AM   #11
MacDawg
macrumors P6
 
MacDawg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: "Between the Hedges"
Quote:
Originally Posted by makbook View Post
Hi, I have a macbook aluminum unibody (late 2008), (with a nVidia graphics chip) and i am running OS X 10.5.7

I had the same black screenshot problem, and when i tried the terminal command, i logged out and logged back in, and then i took both a cross-hair (command-shift-4) and a full screenshot, and now, instead of black, my screenshots turn out all blue! HELP! PLEASE! I NEED SCREENSHOTS! Thanks!

P.S. There was a gray frame around the middle of the full screen shot. Does this matter?
You can try
resetting the PRAM

Woof, Woof - Dawg
MacDawg is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 15, 2010, 03:03 PM   #12
PrplPplEater
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area
Send a message via AIM to PrplPplEater
I am having the same issue. I tried both the terminal solution and resetting the PRAM but they still come out all black. Anyone have a solution here?
PrplPplEater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 16, 2010, 02:38 AM   #13
PrplPplEater
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Bay Area
Send a message via AIM to PrplPplEater
Solution

I finally have a solution for this, if anyone else is having issues. Somehow my display settings had gone screwy.. all I had to do was change my screen resolution and then change it back. I don't know why this happened, so unfortunately I can't give you a way to prevent it.
PrplPplEater is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2011, 02:46 PM   #14
HardyMacia
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
My issue was I was Screen Sharing to another computer. Once I quit out of the remote computer it screen capture worked again.
__________________
Hardy Macia
Catamount Software
HardyMacia is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2011, 06:27 AM   #15
MarkH356
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
I tend to use the GRAB utility. It lets you do a screen shot, window shot or choose just a bit of the screen. Handy part is the timed screen shot.
MarkH356 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Resolved: YouTube not working on Safari? deannnnn OS X 40 Dec 5, 2013 03:25 PM
Java Applet not working on Lion jake4ever Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 19 Feb 1, 2013 09:44 AM
iPhone 4 ringer not working Causality iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 3 Oct 20, 2012 01:07 AM
Youtube not working in Safari? Hyde244 Mac Applications and Mac App Store 12 Nov 16, 2011 11:12 PM
Cydia not working day 2! almac04 Jailbreaks and iOS Hacks 18 Jun 12, 2011 01:22 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:03 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC