Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 22, 2009, 04:47 PM   #1
FearNo1
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
iphone on cricket?

Is it possible that an unlocked iphone 3g can work on cricket's network? cricket plans are very affordable, e.g. unlimited voice, text, data for $50 per month. I talked to the cricket sales rep. They indicated that the voice, text will work but the 3g data may be crippled some. Any assistance would be great. TIA
FearNo1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2009, 05:05 PM   #2
TexanMan05
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by FearNo1 View Post
Is it possible that an unlocked iphone 3g can work on cricket's network? cricket plans are very affordable, e.g. unlimited voice, text, data for $50 per month. I talked to the cricket sales rep. They indicated that the voice, text will work but the 3g data may be crippled some. Any assistance would be great. TIA
As long as Cricket has a SIM card then I'm sure an unlocked iPhone would work just like it would on any other network. Like the rep said, 3G may not be there all the time but everything else should work fine.
__________________
MacBook
iPhone 3G
iPhone
TexanMan05 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2009, 05:50 PM   #3
iFerd
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Cricket is CDMA. You won't be able to use any GSM phone on that, including the iPhone.

From their web site: "Transferring Service to Cricket®
If I transfer my wireless number to Cricket®, can I use the cell phone I already have?

You must have a Cricket® phone in order to use Cricket® service. Cricket® service uses a digital network that operates on Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) technology."
iFerd is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2009, 05:58 PM   #4
stoox
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Cricket is pretty picky on phones...
I Don't want to unlock my phone but i do want to use a different network because at&t is terrible.
__________________
13'' Macbook 2.2 Ghz, 4GB ram, 120GB Hd(soon to be upgraded..again) 8GB iphone, 80 Gig 5th gen ipod classic.
stoox is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2009, 05:59 PM   #5
jmann
macrumors 604
 
jmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On a bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
Send a message via Skype™ to jmann
Quote:
Originally Posted by stoox View Post
Cricket is pretty picky on phones...
I Don't want to unlock my phone but i do want to use a different network because at&t is terrible.
You can use an unlocked iPhone on T-Mobile. They are great.
__________________
Come to my Twitter, it's warm and has chairs.
jmann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 22, 2009, 06:55 PM   #6
TexanMan05
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by iFerd View Post
Cricket is CDMA. You won't be able to use any GSM phone on that, including the iPhone.

From their web site: "Transferring Service to Cricket®
If I transfer my wireless number to Cricket®, can I use the cell phone I already have?

You must have a Cricket® phone in order to use Cricket® service. Cricket® service uses a digital network that operates on Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) technology."
Well, there ya go. SO the answer is No.
__________________
MacBook
iPhone 3G
iPhone
TexanMan05 is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 02:11 AM   #7
eke2769
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Help

Quote:
Originally Posted by FearNo1 View Post
Is it possible that an unlocked iphone 3g can work on cricket's network? cricket plans are very affordable, e.g. unlimited voice, text, data for $50 per month. I talked to the cricket sales rep. They indicated that the voice, text will work but the 3g data may be crippled some. Any assistance would be great. TIA
I am trying to do the same. Do you have any info on who or where I may speak with? please help.
eke2769 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 03:02 AM   #8
The Californian
macrumors Demi-God
 
The Californian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Surfers Paradise
That truly would be good news, but yah ... If it's CDMA then there's no chance it'll work with the iPhone.
__________________
Half of what I say is meaningless, but I say it so that the other half may reach you.
All I need are some tasty waves and a cool buzz and I’m fine.
The Californian is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 04:13 PM   #9
Clete2
macrumors 6502a
 
Clete2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Bloomington, Illinois
Where is Cricket offered? Funny name for a telecommunication company.
__________________
My Blog | My Photography Website
Clete2 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 04:14 PM   #10
jmann
macrumors 604
 
jmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On a bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
Send a message via Skype™ to jmann
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clete2 View Post
Where is Cricket offered? Funny name for a telecommunication company.
I live in Utah, and it is offered here.
__________________
Come to my Twitter, it's warm and has chairs.
jmann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 04:29 PM   #11
nick1516
macrumors 6502a
 
nick1516's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmann View Post
You can use an unlocked iPhone on T-Mobile. They are great.
Ya but i'm looking at their coverage chart and it looks like theres only a couple of spots with 3g, is this not true?
nick1516 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 04:31 PM   #12
jmann
macrumors 604
 
jmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On a bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
Send a message via Skype™ to jmann
It's doesn't matter, because T-Mobile's 3G network isn't compatible with the iPhone anyway. All you can get is edge.
__________________
Come to my Twitter, it's warm and has chairs.
jmann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 10:37 PM   #13
AiralynRose
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Send a message via AIM to AiralynRose
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clete2 View Post
Where is Cricket offered? Funny name for a telecommunication company.
Also offered in Western PA.
__________________
My iPhone Apps: www.amberback.com 32GB iPhone 4 Aluminum iMac Aluminum MacBook 120GB iPod Classic
AiralynRose is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 2009, 10:51 PM   #14
Primejimbo
macrumors 68030
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Chicago area
Quote:
Originally Posted by AiralynRose View Post
Also offered in Western PA.
We have them here in Chicago also, and so far never heard anything good about them.
Primejimbo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2009, 12:16 PM   #15
mrtune
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Are they building out their own network? Or are they some kind of MVNO, leasing space from verizon or sprint?
__________________
My Blog
mrtune is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 18, 2009, 12:36 PM   #16
joeshell383
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Leap/Cricket has been around since 1999. It is very similar to MetroPCS in its business model. I had service with it in 2003-2005 when I lived in areas that it served. For what it claims to offer, it is a good service. It is especially good for someone who stays in town and just needs a basic phone. It has been steadily growing since its inception. It emerged from bankruptcy a few years ago and seems to be doing OK.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cricket_Communications
www.mycricket.com

AN iPHONE CAN NOT BE USED ON CRICKET OR ANY OTHER NON-GSM PROVIDER.

Last edited by joeshell383; May 18, 2009 at 12:45 PM.
joeshell383 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 11:19 AM   #17
oneanonle
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
cricket service

Quote:
Originally Posted by iFerd View Post
Cricket is CDMA. You won't be able to use any GSM phone on that, including the iPhone.

From their web site: "Transferring Service to Cricket®
If I transfer my wireless number to Cricket®, can I use the cell phone I already have?

You must have a Cricket® phone in order to use Cricket® service. Cricket® service uses a digital network that operates on Code Division Multiple Access (CDMA) technology."
That is not true I have a verizon sprint smartphone that I had flashed over to cricket and it works just fine. All of my functions work perfectly. I've had it for two years now and have never had a problem with it and I don't use a card.
oneanonle is offline   -2 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 6, 2010, 11:53 AM   #18
Aero26
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Also offered in eastern PA. Philadelphia area.
Aero26 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2011, 09:34 PM   #19
Helixthree
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
CDMA Verizon flashed for Cricket

I recently bought a clean esn Verizon iphone 16g off craigslist. It was already jeilbroken on firmware 4.2.8 by the previous owner. I then used SSH to locate the VZW310.PRL file on the iphone and replace it with a cricket prl file that was renamed VZW310.PRL.

I then had to access the carrier.plist file and change a binary variable... reboot the phone, change the variable back, reboot the phone and then afterwards upon dialing *228 instead of Verizon's over the air activation greeting i receive the 'welcome to cricket activation greeting'

I currently use a Sprint HTC Evo 4G on a Sprint contract with 4g. I am intrigued by the idea of a cheap cricket iPhone. I have read that so far it only works on talk and text. A friend is going to give me a real cricket phone to activate a service plan on, before i switch the iPhone to it later this week.

Has anyone else done this... or gotten this far?

As i understand it after i associate it to a cricket account i should be able to receive calls and SMS only... data when connected to wifi...

I am located in Portland OR... and will be trying it on a plan soon. As i understand it i can get a talk/text unlimited plan for $25 a month and pay my bill in cash with no credit check or commitment.

http://theiphonewiki.com/wiki/index....8Incomplete%29

Last edited by Helixthree; Jun 10, 2011 at 09:46 PM. Reason: Additional Info
Helixthree is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2011, 02:55 PM   #20
Hueyfreeman
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2011
I see a lady on the bus with a phone that was clearly labeled cricket. It was an iphone four that much I am certain. It was also not a droid incredable nor is their any phones on cricket that look that much like an iphone
Hueyfreeman is offline   -4 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 12:34 AM   #21
jmann
macrumors 604
 
jmann's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: On a bump on a log in a hole in the bottom of the sea
Send a message via Skype™ to jmann
Quote:
Originally Posted by oneanonle View Post
That is not true I have a verizon sprint smartphone that I had flashed over to cricket and it works just fine. All of my functions work perfectly. I've had it for two years now and have never had a problem with it and I don't use a card.
That's because Verizon is CDMA too...
__________________
Come to my Twitter, it's warm and has chairs.
jmann is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 12:41 AM   #22
Drag'nGT
macrumors 68000
 
Drag'nGT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmann View Post
That's because Verizon is CDMA too...
I don't think they're getting it.
__________________
You had me at
In love with my rMBP.
Drag'nGT is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2011, 11:53 AM   #23
Gib
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hueyfreeman View Post
I see a lady on the bus with a phone that was clearly labeled cricket. It was an iphone four that much I am certain. It was also not a droid incredable nor is their any phones on cricket that look that much like an iphone
iPhone's are not allowed to be labelled by their carrier partners (http://www.macrumors.com/2011/01/12/...-negotiations/), so I doubt it would be labelled by a company Apple has no affiliation with... It was not an iPhone.
__________________
How is it everyone in my family has 3rd or 4th Generation iPads, I am still plugging away on my sluggish 1st Generation? Oh, yeah. I'm a school teacher.
Gib is offline   1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2011, 11:29 AM   #24
hdtravel
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Albuquerque NM
Cricket

The Verizon ( CDMA ) version of the iPhone 4 can definitely be unlocked and programmed to work on Cricket. You either have to have the expertise to do it yourself or find a Cricket dealer that will do it for you ( for a fee ).

Cricket is a very good budget carrier and both owns their own network and piggy backs on other CDMA carriers, so they do offer nationwide coverage.

Read about them at:

www.mycricket.com
__________________
13" MacBook
Mac Mini
iPad Wifi + 3G 64GB
32GB White iPhone 4 ( Factory Unlocked version )
hdtravel is offline   -1 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2012, 12:28 PM   #25
tiffers29
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
iphone on cricket

Quote:
Originally Posted by oneanonle View Post
That is not true I have a verizon sprint smartphone that I had flashed over to cricket and it works just fine. All of my functions work perfectly. I've had it for two years now and have never had a problem with it and I don't use a card.
you were able to use your verizon phone on cricket because it is a gsm carrier...no sim cards...at&t has sim cards as well as tmobile...those phones apparently cant be unlocked to use with a non sim card carrier.
tiffers29 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPhone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[FREE] Cricket T20 Alerts 2014 - World Cup and IPL Cricket Notifications for FREE novelaspect iPhone and iPod touch Apps 1 May 3, 2014 08:07 AM
iPhone 5 w/Cricket Smashin1821 iPhone 3 Jun 18, 2013 10:34 AM
Iphone 5 in cricket alexca0 iPhone 1 Oct 7, 2012 07:44 PM
Cricket iPhone 5 on Verizon? Blinny83 iPhone 1 Sep 15, 2012 03:19 AM
iPhone on Cricket cardinalryan iPhone 2 May 31, 2012 11:25 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC