Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 24, 2009, 11:57 PM   #1
iSaygoodbye
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: a boat
Send a message via AIM to iSaygoodbye
powermac g4 quicksilver

would a powermac g4 quicksilver with a 1ghz g4 processor and 765 mb of ram run leopard reasonably fast?
iSaygoodbye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2009, 12:00 AM   #2
aibo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southern California
Nope. I had a G4 Digital Audio (same as Quicksilver) with a 1.33GHz/2MB L3 upgrade, 1.5GB RAM, Radeon 9800, SATA card, etc and installing Leopard on it was what made me realize it was finally time for a new machine. I would not go beyond Tiger even on the fastest G4. It's just painfully slow.
__________________
2008 Mac Pro | 8-core 2.8GHz Xeon | R4870 OEM | 14GB RAM | Intel X25-M | (4)WD2TB | Dell 30" LCD
iPhone 3G S⃣ | 16GB | Factory Unlocked
iPad | 32GB | Wi-Fi
aibo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2009, 12:23 AM   #3
iSaygoodbye
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: a boat
Send a message via AIM to iSaygoodbye
Quote:
Originally Posted by aibo View Post
Nope. I had a G4 Digital Audio (same as Quicksilver) with a 1.33GHz/2MB L3 upgrade, 1.5GB RAM, Radeon 9800, SATA card, etc and installing Leopard on it was what made me realize it was finally time for a new machine. I would not go beyond Tiger even on the fastest G4. It's just painfully slow.
alright thanks. does it run tiger pretty decent?
iSaygoodbye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2009, 12:26 AM   #4
Davy.Shalom
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
These machines run tiger fine, just don't try running PS on it. Don't spend over $200 with a computer of those specs.

For word processing, email, internet, itunes, and IM that computer is fine.
__________________
-Macbook Pro 13" 2.9 GHz i7, 16 GB RAM, 750 GB HD
-Mac Pro 8 core (3 GHz Xeon), 10 GB RAM, ATI Radeon X1900
-PowerMac G5: 2 x 2.3 GHz, 14 GB RAM, 1.5 TB HD
Davy.Shalom is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2009, 12:57 AM   #5
iSaygoodbye
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: a boat
Send a message via AIM to iSaygoodbye
Quote:
Originally Posted by Davy.Shalom View Post
These machines run tiger fine, just don't try running PS on it. Don't spend over $200 with a computer of those specs.

For word processing, email, internet, itunes, and IM that computer is fine.
im getting it for 45$
iSaygoodbye is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2009, 01:11 AM   #6
aibo
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Southern California
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironspider View Post
alright thanks. does it run tiger pretty decent?
Yup, Tiger runs very well.
__________________
2008 Mac Pro | 8-core 2.8GHz Xeon | R4870 OEM | 14GB RAM | Intel X25-M | (4)WD2TB | Dell 30" LCD
iPhone 3G S⃣ | 16GB | Factory Unlocked
iPad | 32GB | Wi-Fi
aibo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2009, 01:28 AM   #7
chuckcalo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Weird, newer releases are suppose to run better on older macs. Well at least, that's the case with Windows!
chuckcalo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2009, 08:13 AM   #8
SmurfBoxMasta
macrumors 65816
 
SmurfBoxMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: If you come into the forest really late at night, I might tell you...or nOt :)
 
see vendor information in user profile
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironspider View Post
im getting it for 45$
Well then at the very least, mAxDaRam 4 sure.....regardless of what OS you put on it.

If this will be your only machine, and you will be keeping it for a good while, and you can't get a new(er) one, then you may wanna consider spending some more $$ to beef it up some......but beware, it will NEVER be a speed demon no matter what you do to it, but at least it will be useable for most average everyday tasks.....

1) add an SATA controller card & HDD.......big speeeed boost for ~$150

2) Get a Radeon 9800.... ~$75-100 for a flashed peecee version...will speed up the GUI, window server, and screen rendering, etc

3) cpu ugrade: Big bucks! ($3-600), but can take you as far as DUAL 1.8GHZ.......

otherwise save your $$ and buy a newer model that is faster all around and more up to date from the beginning

ps: I have Leopard running just fine on my QS 1.6ghz/1.5GB/Radeon9800/Raptors.......but the hardest thing I do with it is run CS3 PS and a few other apps.......
__________________
Please don't judge me...I was created to be AWESOME, not perfect
SmurfBoxMasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2009, 08:40 AM   #9
GGGUUUYYY
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironspider View Post
would a powermac g4 quicksilver with a 1ghz g4 processor and 765 mb of ram run leopard reasonably fast?
I have a 1.25ghz, 1.5gb of ram, MDD running leopard perfect. if you have the disk already give it a try don't go out and buy it though.


Quote:
These machines run tiger fine, just don't try running PS on it. Don't spend over $200 with a computer of those specs.

For word processing, email, internet, itunes, and IM that computer is fine.
I ran photoshop 7 on an old 466Mhz g4 with 768mb ram and i had no problems.
GGGUUUYYY is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2009, 09:12 AM   #10
Macman756
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Atlanta, GA
Send a message via AIM to Macman756
Quote:
Originally Posted by ironspider View Post
im getting it for 45$
I'll pay that! But I had a 1.33Ghz Powerbook with 1GB RAM, Leopard ran great. What video card is in there? If its 64mb, your fine.
Macman756 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2009, 02:50 PM   #11
iSaygoodbye
Thread Starter
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: a boat
Send a message via AIM to iSaygoodbye
Quote:
Originally Posted by Macman756 View Post
I'll pay that! But I had a 1.33Ghz Powerbook with 1GB RAM, Leopard ran great. What video card is in there? If its 64mb, your fine.
the ad on cragslist didnt specify ill ask the person
iSaygoodbye is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Powermac G4 Hackintosh advice? Qwertyfish11 PowerPC Macs 13 Jul 11, 2011 09:15 PM
Powermac G4 QuickSilver and Powermac g4 agp calb818 PowerPC Macs 17 Jan 24, 2011 02:14 PM
Apple powermac G4 quicksilver joshj928 Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 2 Feb 3, 2004 05:56 PM
Deck the Halls of my Powermac G4 Quicksilver ($500 mac) codycartoon Macintosh Computers 10 Dec 11, 2003 05:41 PM
PowerMac G4 Quicksilver 733Mhz For Sale MPTV-Ti Marketplace Archive 1 (Posts count) 2 Jun 19, 2002 09:27 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC