Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 25, 2009, 08:38 AM   #1
MIDI_EVIL
macrumors 65816
 
MIDI_EVIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
PowerBook G4 + HDV + 24" display?

Hi all,

I'm currently editing (no rendering or encoding) 1080i HDV from both a Sony HVR-A1E and a Canon HV30... on a PowerBook G4 with 1.67 cpu and 1.5GB of RAM.

I can cut and arrange footage quite happily on this machine, I have an 8-Core Mac Pro at work for the heavy work.

Now, I'm still working on the PowerBook's 15" display. I was hoping to purchase a 24" monitor to aid my home workflow.

I know the PowerBook can output to a 30" Apple Cinema display, but can it also power a display (24") and the HDV content running on the new display? The capture scratch, is running on a 500GB LaCie with FW800

Hope this is clear?
__________________
Too many cameras!

Last edited by MIDI_EVIL; Mar 25, 2009 at 08:39 AM. Reason: Added specifics
MIDI_EVIL is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2009, 08:45 AM   #2
SmurfBoxMasta
macrumors 65816
 
SmurfBoxMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: If you come into the forest really late at night, I might tell you...or nOt :)
 
If it can run a 30" display, it will have no problems running a 24" one.....assuming of course, that the 24" has the proper type of connector/adapter......
__________________
Please don't judge me...I was created to be AWESOME, not perfect
SmurfBoxMasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 25, 2009, 08:52 AM   #3
MIDI_EVIL
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
MIDI_EVIL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: UK
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmurfBoxMasta View Post
If it can run a 30" display, it will have no problems running a 24" one.....assuming of course, that the 24" has the proper type of connector/adapter......
Yes, you're right... but what I was wondering is wether the PowerBook can output HDV video on a secondary 24" display?

EDIT: The display. HP LP2475W

http://www.jigsaw24.com/default.aspx...EM=JIGSX016ATA
__________________
Too many cameras!

Last edited by MIDI_EVIL; Mar 25, 2009 at 09:01 AM.
MIDI_EVIL is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MBA 11" daisy chain 30" + 27" mini display port cinema display sffa MacBook Air 1 Apr 24, 2014 03:39 AM
Question on Apples Old 27" cinema display (DVI) vrs New 27" Thunderbolt display between2tides Mac Peripherals 5 Feb 28, 2014 12:40 PM
I currently use "Target Display Mode" to share iMac display with my pc.... chillwill iMac 2 Feb 12, 2013 04:22 PM
Display detected but display says "No Signal"? gnx100 MacBook Pro 2 Jan 24, 2013 06:43 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC