Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 27, 2009, 01:39 PM   #1
CamCracker
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
My iPod Classic does the reboot loop and wont restore when I try to restore it. Help!

I received an ipod classic from a friend (broken.) It does a constant reboot loop over and over, off and on. I have tried installing 1.1, 1.1.1, and 1.1.2 firmware on it, and everytime it restores on the iPod Classic, it shows the moving bar (you know, when you restore it) on the iPod's screen. It gets about 3/4 done and then does the reboot loop again. I have tried uninstalling itunes. flushing dns. hitting it on my hand and everything I could find. I have a computer I got that has administrative blocks on it with itunes. I have downloaded the latest (1.1.2) firmware file. I try to restore it on that computer. It cant connect to the net. I did diagnostics and it is all fine. I tried shift and then choose restore on the blocked computer and it says it cant find the firmware file. I tried looking for a spot to put the firmware file in that would make sense, but the computer has blocks, so it wont let me put anything anywhere except on the desktop and in my documents. What do I do?

Any help solving this would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks so much for anyone who helps!
CamCracker is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2009, 05:17 PM   #2
JediMeister
macrumors 68040
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
At this point, if you cannot reload/restore the iPod firmware on it, its a hardware issue. Unless you feel comfortable enough taking it apart with instructions from ifixit.com save yourself a headache and bring it to an Apple retail store.
JediMeister is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2010, 07:05 PM   #3
chriskeates
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
To fix it

If you haven't already returned it, what i did with mine was hit repeditly on the back until it showed a white screen with the do not disconect symbol.
(i had it plugged into a windows vista computer)
chriskeates is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 14, 2010, 09:30 PM   #4
PhelpsiPhan
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: New Jersey
I would leave it alone, not worth fixing, buy a new one
__________________
13" MacBook Pro, 2.26 GHz, 4 GB Ram, 500 GB HD, Hengedock
32 GB iPad Wifi, 16 GB iPhone 4, Orange iPod Shuffle 4G, Airport Express
PhelpsiPhan is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will there ever be a new iPod Classic? ManuelGnR iPod 38 Dec 2, 2012 09:04 PM
error code 11 on itunes when i try to restore it? arctyler iPod touch 3 Oct 21, 2011 02:54 PM
Registered UDID for iOS5 B4. When I try to restore using it, I get error :O NiomiWest iPhone 0 Aug 7, 2011 02:36 PM
Was the iPod Classic 5th Gen made by HP? cootersgarage6 iPod 1 Jan 30, 2011 12:09 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC