Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

uaecasher

macrumors 65816
Original poster
Jan 29, 2009
Stillwater, OK
Sorry if this was the wrong forum

hello,
I'm a high school student that want to take software engineering as a career path, i already know some scripting languages like PHP and javascript and considering to go to a university for education however some people tell me not to go to software engineer path as they claim that nowadays anyone can read some programming and system analyses (analyses, design, implementation , testing and documentation) books and be able to develop books. i don't think that these books can make real software engineers do you agree and what university teach that books don't?

my other concern is that my teacher say that software development is not as profitable and telling me to go to hardware engineering path, is it true?

thank you

MrFusion

macrumors 6502a
Jun 8, 2005
West-Europe
There is a difference between programming for fun (working on your own projects), understanding how computers and software work and doing it for a living. Imagine having to program someone's idea of a software the entire day long. it will take the joy of it quickly.

On the other hand, if you are technically inclined and like to program as a hobby/passion, you could chose something more engineering like. You will still do enough programming (if you want to), but not so much as to take the joy out of it. Being able to program well will get you noticed in such environments.

Despite all the advice of your teachers and us here, do want _you really want_ to do in college. Between beginning and end, there is a long time. You have to keep your motivation high, so you need to do something you really like and write down a few reasons why you are doing something.