Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Mar 31, 2009, 10:44 PM   #1
integrat.ethis
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Connect LED Cinema Display to a PC Using Apple ATI Radeon 4870

The ridiculously long thread title pretty much says it all. Is it possible to buy one of Apple's ATI Radeon 4870 cards with the mini-display port connection, install them in a PC, and then use the LED Cinema Display with a PC?

EDIT 5/31/09: Looks like you can! See my last post for details...

Last edited by integrat.ethis; May 31, 2009 at 11:21 PM.
integrat.ethis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2009, 11:14 PM   #2
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by integrat.ethis View Post
The ridiculously long thread title pretty much says it all. Is it possible to buy one of Apple's ATI Radeon 4870 cards with the mini-display port connection, install them in a PC, and then use the LED Cinema Display with a PC?
NO. Your PC uses BIOS, while the Mac HD4870 would contain EFI based firmware. Unfortunately, the two different firmware specs aren't compatible with one another.
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2009, 11:41 PM   #3
pastrychef
macrumors 68020
 
pastrychef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York City, NY
I'm quite certain it will work. Apple's 4870 contians EFI and BIOS firmware. When plugged in to a regular PC, it should just ignor the EFI part.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.2x8 - 48GB - GTX 680 - Crucial M4 SSD - Dell 3007WFP-HC
Alu MacBook 5,1 2GHz C2D - 8GB - 9400M
Mac mini 2.33GHz C2D - 4GB - GMA950 - 2 Drobos - SS4200 (unRAID)
iPhone 5 + iPhone 4 S⃣
pastrychef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2009, 12:44 AM   #4
integrat.ethis
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
NO.
Quote:
I'm quite certain it will work.
I love the internet.
integrat.ethis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2009, 01:58 PM   #5
pastrychef
macrumors 68020
 
pastrychef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York City, NY
Unfortunately, I don't have a PC, otherwise, I would test it for you.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.2x8 - 48GB - GTX 680 - Crucial M4 SSD - Dell 3007WFP-HC
Alu MacBook 5,1 2GHz C2D - 8GB - 9400M
Mac mini 2.33GHz C2D - 4GB - GMA950 - 2 Drobos - SS4200 (unRAID)
iPhone 5 + iPhone 4 S⃣
pastrychef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2009, 04:13 PM   #6
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastrychef View Post
I'm quite certain it will work. Apple's 4870 contians EFI and BIOS firmware. When plugged in to a regular PC, it should just ignor the EFI part.
The HD3870 does, but the HD4870?
As it's offered by Apple, I'd think this wasn't done. If it where directly by ATI, then I'd expect it.

I've not seen any spec listing BIOS support for it anywhere. Do you have a link by chance?
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastrychef View Post
Unfortunately, I don't have a PC, otherwise, I would test it for you.
I do. Mind sending one my way?
(I actually have an HD4870 in it now, so I wouldn't even need to install any drivers).
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2009, 04:42 PM   #7
pastrychef
macrumors 68020
 
pastrychef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York City, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by nanofrog View Post
The HD3870 does, but the HD4870?
As it's offered by Apple, I'd think this wasn't done. If it where directly by ATI, then I'd expect it.

I've not seen any spec listing BIOS support for it anywhere. Do you have a link by chance?

I do. Mind sending one my way?
(I actually have an HD4870 in it now, so I wouldn't even need to install any drivers).
I don't have a link, however, when we boot in to Bootcamp, isn't it using the Bios part of it? That's why video cards that have no EFI support at all still work in Bootcamp.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.2x8 - 48GB - GTX 680 - Crucial M4 SSD - Dell 3007WFP-HC
Alu MacBook 5,1 2GHz C2D - 8GB - 9400M
Mac mini 2.33GHz C2D - 4GB - GMA950 - 2 Drobos - SS4200 (unRAID)
iPhone 5 + iPhone 4 S⃣
pastrychef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2009, 05:21 PM   #8
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by pastrychef View Post
I don't have a link, however, when we boot in to Bootcamp, isn't it using the Bios part of it? That's why video cards that have no EFI support at all still work in Bootcamp.
Mac's have BIOS emulation built into it's EFI. But not the other way around.

If the graphics card has EFI only, a PC can't load the firmware, as BIOS hasn't included an EFI Emulator. That's what Vanilla Kernel does, and why a hack can be made with a little effort. But not "out of the box".

As I've not seen BIOS support listed in the spec, the Mac version used in a PC won't work.

(A link indicating the Mac HD48770 supports BIOS is what I was looking for. So far, I've not found one). So it looks like no Mini DisplayPort (native, no adapters) in a PC.
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2009, 05:47 PM   #9
integrat.ethis
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
So, then, it sounds like my best hope would be getting a graphics card with Display Port, and then scouring the internet for a DP to mini-DP adapter? I'm guessing such an adapter is very, very possible. And though I haven't looked at the spec at all, I'd hope that it would be possible to make an adapter myself, since I'm a little handy in electrical engineering.
integrat.ethis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2009, 06:57 PM   #10
nanofrog
macrumors G4
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by integrat.ethis View Post
So, then, it sounds like my best hope would be getting a graphics card with Display Port, and then scouring the internet for a DP to mini-DP adapter? I'm guessing such an adapter is very, very possible. And though I haven't looked at the spec at all, I'd hope that it would be possible to make an adapter myself, since I'm a little handy in electrical engineering.
They aren't currently available, so if you can find the parts (Mini DisplayPort connector), DIY is the only way ATM.

Spec wise, it's easy. Same electrical spec, just a smaller port.

Let us know if you locate the Mini DisplayPort connector, as other members may be interested.
nanofrog is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2009, 11:40 PM   #11
MVApple
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by integrat.ethis View Post
So, then, it sounds like my best hope would be getting a graphics card with Display Port, and then scouring the internet for a DP to mini-DP adapter? I'm guessing such an adapter is very, very possible. And though I haven't looked at the spec at all, I'd hope that it would be possible to make an adapter myself, since I'm a little handy in electrical engineering.
Making your own adapter sounds like an adventure.

All I can say is that mini-display port is very very new and adapters are just starting to trickle in. Today I received my male displayport to female hdmi adapter and seeing my macbook and movies on the big screen was nice.
MVApple is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2009, 11:01 AM   #12
sboerup
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Sorry if I'm naive here, but couldn't you get any standard PC video card that has DVI, then buy apples DVI->Mini DisplayPort for $29 and be up and running? Assuming the 24" ACD does not need Dual Link DVI but only single (Dual Link MDP adapter is $99).

Is the ACD proprietary to Apple GPU connections?
__________________
 3.0ghz 8-core nMP | 32GB | 1TB SSD | D500 // iMac 27" // Macbook Pro 15" | MBa 13" // Mac Mini 2011 // iPhone 5s // iPad MR // ATV
sboerup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2009, 11:11 AM   #13
Tallest Skil
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 1 Geostationary Tower Plaza
Quote:
Originally Posted by sboerup View Post
Sorry if I'm naive here, but couldn't you get any standard PC video card that has DVI, then buy apples DVI->Mini DisplayPort for $29 and be up and running? Assuming the 24" ACD does not need Dual Link DVI but only single (Dual Link MDP adapter is $99).
No.

Quote:
Is the ACD proprietary to Apple GPU connections?
Yes.
Tallest Skil is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2009, 12:03 AM   #14
integrat.ethis
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tallest Skil View Post
Yes.
Now when you say that, you don't really mean Apple GPUs, but just the mini-display port connection (Display Port protocol), right?
integrat.ethis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2009, 12:26 PM   #15
sboerup
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Wow, so not only is Mini DisplayPort only being used by Apple, in order to use the new ACDs, you MUST use it on an Apple Computer? This sounds like hogwash to me . . .
__________________
 3.0ghz 8-core nMP | 32GB | 1TB SSD | D500 // iMac 27" // Macbook Pro 15" | MBa 13" // Mac Mini 2011 // iPhone 5s // iPad MR // ATV
sboerup is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2009, 11:17 PM   #16
integrat.ethis
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Found this thread on the official apple support forums... apparently it actually does work!

Quote:
Following your advice I purchased the $150 "NVIDIA GeForce GT 120 Graphics Upgrade Kit for Mac Pro (early 2009)" that you referred to above and installed it into a Dell Studio Desktop Slim 540s running Windows Vista Ultimate SP1 x64.

It worked right out of the box on startup! It actually worked so well that I was confused at first because my Dell monitor was blank on both the VGA and HMDI inputs - this is because Windows was ignoring the Dell monitor and sending the video signal directly to the ACD.

I am very pleased to say that I have a Windows machine with a Mini DisplayPort outputting directly to a 24" Apple Cinema Display. I did not have to download any NVIDIA drivers and was able to get a 1920 x 1200 resolution using the standard Windows settings that you get by right-clicking on the desktop.
http://discussions.apple.com/thread....19902&tstart=0
integrat.ethis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2009, 07:20 AM   #17
pastrychef
macrumors 68020
 
pastrychef's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: New York City, NY
Quote:
Originally Posted by integrat.ethis View Post
Found this thread on the official apple support forums... apparently it actually does work!



http://discussions.apple.com/thread....19902&tstart=0
Like I said, I'm quite certain it will work.
__________________
Mac Pro 5,1 3.2x8 - 48GB - GTX 680 - Crucial M4 SSD - Dell 3007WFP-HC
Alu MacBook 5,1 2GHz C2D - 8GB - 9400M
Mac mini 2.33GHz C2D - 4GB - GMA950 - 2 Drobos - SS4200 (unRAID)
iPhone 5 + iPhone 4 S⃣
pastrychef is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2009, 10:48 AM   #18
rtheb
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by integrat.ethis View Post
Found this thread on the official apple support forums... apparently it actually does work!



http://discussions.apple.com/thread....19902&tstart=0

You forgot to mention to the "HACKSAW"

Quote:
The only issue I ran into was the fact that the graphics card is physically wider than the Dell computer. I had to use a hacksaw to cut off 1/4" of the rear-facing plate (where the DVI and Mini DisplayPort outputs reside) just so I could fully seat it into the PCI port - otherwise, all of the pins would not contact each other. Because of this I can not reseal the desktop panel and the internal components will now be exposed. This will probably not affect normal-size desktop computers.
rtheb is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2009, 10:53 AM   #19
integrat.ethis
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtheb View Post
You forgot to mention to the "HACKSAW"
Oh, that just makes it all the more hardcore. He said this probably wouldn't be an issue for normal PCs, so I'm not too worried about it.
integrat.ethis is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2009, 01:22 PM   #20
alphaod
macrumors Core
 
alphaod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: 上海 (Shanghai)
Quote:
Originally Posted by integrat.ethis View Post
Oh, that just makes it all the more hardcore. He said this probably wouldn't be an issue for normal PCs, so I'm not too worried about it.
Except Dell chassis are normal in size…
__________________
Mac Pro | iMac | Mac mini | MacBook Pro | MacBook Air | iPad | iPhone | iPod
alphaod is online now   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2009, 01:53 PM   #21
TheStrudel
macrumors 65816
 
TheStrudel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
The 4870 does have BIOS, I think, usable in a PC. Those of us who flashed essentially edited our ROM by adding the EFI portion to ours. I think - but don't know, The Rominator and Netkas could tell you better - that the EFI essentially launches the BIOS portion, so using the 4870 to get MDP working might potentially work.

Now, as another solution entirely, check monoprice for MDP adapters. They've got a couple already and are working on others.
__________________
2.8 Penryn Octad MP+10GB RAM+Flashed 4870+OCZ Vtx2+Blu-ray+DS-263N+NEC20"+DellU2211h
NikonD80+Glass, Canon XF100
Video Editing+Photography+Design
TheStrudel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2009, 04:48 PM   #22
hitekalex
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheStrudel View Post
Now, as another solution entirely, check monoprice for MDP adapters. They've got a couple already and are working on others.
MonoPrice doesn't carry any DP-to-MDP adapters.. they only have HDMI/DVI/VGA ones, which doesn't help. I e-mailed them inquiring about MDP-DP earlier, and the response was these adopters don't exist

http://www.monoprice.com/products/su...04&cp_id=10428
hitekalex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2009, 06:50 PM   #23
TheStrudel
macrumors 65816
 
TheStrudel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Given how few video cards have displayport out at this point, I was thinking of the adapters they do have. I didn't think he had a DP out.
__________________
2.8 Penryn Octad MP+10GB RAM+Flashed 4870+OCZ Vtx2+Blu-ray+DS-263N+NEC20"+DellU2211h
NikonD80+Glass, Canon XF100
Video Editing+Photography+Design
TheStrudel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2009, 08:35 PM   #24
hitekalex
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Chicago, USA
Well, the adapters that they do have won't help attach a PC to LED Cinema Display. You can't use DVI/HDMI video cards to connect to LED-CD, the DVI-MDP adapter is of no use here.
hitekalex is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2010, 03:58 PM   #25
bobbba
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
I tried it with a Radeon 5850 and mini display port to display port adaptor but no joy.

I got it to work with Atlona DP200 but it wan't perfect. It wouldn't always come on when the PC was woken from sleep.

Finally resorted to a Radeon 5870 eyefinity and everything is good now!
bobbba is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > Mac Peripherals

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Flashing a Saphire ATI Radeon HD 4870 to Mac npaisnel Mac Pro 5 Dec 8, 2013 06:17 PM
MacPro4,1 with ATI Radeon HD 4870 AND GTX 670? Atomino Mac Pro 21 Jun 12, 2013 04:47 AM
Apple LED Cinema Display or not? silvercircle Mac Peripherals 6 Feb 10, 2013 12:09 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:46 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC