Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 1, 2009, 07:58 AM   #1
kguess
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Digi 003 issues

i'm using digidesign's digi 003 rack version. it works well, but it's quirky. one of the quirks i'm sure hoping i can find a way to fix. for no apparent reason, sometimes the core audio manager can't find the digi 003. the audio manager says the 003 is in use. by what, i have no idea. thus, to use the 003 again, i have to shut everything down and restart. my computer automatically shuts down each night and restarts each morning. the first time i tried to play some audio, i had this problem. does anyone else have this problem or a solution? i have followed (begrudgingly) digidesign's requirements regarding energy saver settings.

thanks.
kguess is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2009, 12:33 AM   #2
Dr Sound
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Roxborough Park Colorado
Send a message via AIM to Dr Sound
Does Itunes open when your computer Turns on??

That error message usually means you have your 003 as your system Main Output.. So that when you play Itunes it plays thru your 003..

That is OK..

The problem you run into is when you have Pro-tools and some other Non-rewire App Both using your 003 as outputs at the same time..
Dr Sound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 6, 2009, 03:41 AM   #3
WinterMute
Moderator emeritus
 
WinterMute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: London, England
Send a message via AIM to WinterMute Send a message via MSN to WinterMute
Yes, this is due to Digi's Core Audio manager only being a single client app, and occasionally it gets hijacked by stuff like iTunes (and others) and doesn't release if the app is closed.

Cycle the 003 off and on after closing the other app, that should reconnect it.
__________________
"Everything in excess, moderation is for monks..." Lazarus Long
--
PotPPP, MoDTPPP
WinterMute is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 18, 2009, 07:52 AM   #4
kguess
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
digi 003 issues

thanks for the replies. yes, itunes opens automatically when my computer starts up. but i'm not talking about using pro tools. it's like this: i start my computer, i go to play something in itunes and the core audio manager can't connect to digi 003; either it can't be found or it's in use. other times it's like this: i've used it merely to play music through my stereo. then later, having opened no other applications using sound, digi 003 can't be found.

about cycling the 003 on and off, according to digidesign, one is supposed to shut down the computer to do this. are you saying this is not necessary?
kguess is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 19, 2009, 03:37 PM   #5
Dr Sound
macrumors member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Roxborough Park Colorado
Send a message via AIM to Dr Sound
I am guessing your 003 is always plugged in and on when you computer is on Correct??
.
I am pretty sure that even when itunes is not playing music its still taking your Core Audio from your 003. This could cause a problem with any programs (audio0 unless you Shutdown I-tunes when your computer starts up..
Dr Sound is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Oct 4, 2013, 09:01 PM   #6
Chuckk1
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Digi 003 goes nuts when i play keyboard

I'm using a Roland JV-90 as a controller. My midi "chain" is: JV-90 > DIGI 003 > Roland SP-700 > Korg M3R. When I start playing the keyboard, after a few seconds (or keystrikes), the input buttons on the 003 start switching on & off by themselves at random!! HELP! Is it some kind of MIDI control info being sent by the keyboard or either the SP-700 or M3R?
Chuckk1 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Special Interests > Digital Audio

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Network Issues: Library Streaming issues caused by multi router set-up taylord22 Mac Peripherals 0 Jan 3, 2014 12:34 PM
2013 Mac Pro / firewire adapter / 003 console Lastmboy Mac Pro 4 Jan 2, 2014 10:22 PM
Apple Releases Security Update 2013-003 for OS X Snow Leopard, Lion and Mountain Lion MacRumors Mac Blog Discussion 28 Jul 9, 2013 08:37 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC