Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 1, 2009, 03:56 PM   #1
raymondu999
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Swap memory?

Hi there.

I searched and all I could find were people swapping their computers for new computers. Lol. So... here goes. My MacBook Pro (not shut down, only slept/awoken) for the past several months, is still running strong. That part is good. However, it seems that I noticed my swap file usage was already 997MB!!! Yikes Now, question is, is it possible for me to clear the swap without fully rebooting my computer?

Thanks...
__________________
iPhone 5 64GB black
iPad Air Wifi+3G 64GB black
15" 2.6GHz Core i7 Retina MBP
11" 1.3GHz Core i5 2013 MBA
raymondu999 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2009, 04:05 PM   #2
flopticalcube
macrumors G4
 
flopticalcube's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: In the velcro closure of America's Hat
Swap files are supposed to be large. They can get to several GB. Don't worry about it. As an aside, why do you not want to reboot?
__________________
Read the Rules / Search the Forums / Use a Descriptive Title
Mac Won't Boot?
flopticalcube is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2009, 04:09 PM   #3
raymondu999
Thread Starter
macrumors 65816
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
It's not that I don't want to shut down lol. But it's just far more practical just putting her to sleep and awakening her. But wouldn't the swap file be eating up space and I would have decreased amounts of free memory?
__________________
iPhone 5 64GB black
iPad Air Wifi+3G 64GB black
15" 2.6GHz Core i7 Retina MBP
11" 1.3GHz Core i5 2013 MBA
raymondu999 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 1, 2009, 04:09 PM   #4
spinnerlys
Guest
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: forlod bygningen
If it's 997MB after weeks/months than that is okay. No need to worry.

Don't you reboot after system updates?
spinnerlys is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2009, 04:01 AM   #5
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by spinnerlys View Post
If it's 997MB after weeks/months than that is okay. No need to worry.

Don't you reboot after system updates?
hmm how about:

page ins: 3.1gb
page outs: 1.82gb
swap used: 2.22gb

after about 4 days?? think i need more RAM lol?? ;p
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2009, 04:54 AM   #6
Matek
macrumors 6502a
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
If the swap file is active, this doesn't mean you're running out of memory. It's a common misconception. Even when the system still has free memory, it will sometimes start swapping if it doesn't have more important things to do. It's copying the current contents of memory into swap.

The reason it's doing this is the following - imagine you have 4 gigabytes of ram and nearly all of it is full. You open a very large image in Photoshop and you immediately need about a gigabyte of ram. Because your ram is full, 1 GB of it needs to be swapped to the hard drive to clear memory up for Photoshop. If swap only kicked in at this point, you would have a gigabyte of data to move to the hard drive. If that drive can write at 50 MB/s, your machine would be completely unusable for 20 seconds!

But because swap starts copying memory contents to the hard drive long before your memory is filled, you can clear the memory for photoshop instantly and don't need to wait for 20 seconds, your backup was created in advance.

Hope that was clear enough .
Matek is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 23, 2009, 05:05 AM   #7
DoFoT9
macrumors P6
 
DoFoT9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Singapore
Send a message via AIM to DoFoT9 Send a message via MSN to DoFoT9 Send a message via Skype™ to DoFoT9
Quote:
Originally Posted by Matek View Post
If the swap file is active, this doesn't mean you're running out of memory. It's a common misconception. Even when the system still has free memory, it will sometimes start swapping if it doesn't have more important things to do. It's copying the current contents of memory into swap.

The reason it's doing this is the following - imagine you have 4 gigabytes of ram and nearly all of it is full. You open a very large image in Photoshop and you immediately need about a gigabyte of ram. Because your ram is full, 1 GB of it needs to be swapped to the hard drive to clear memory up for Photoshop. If swap only kicked in at this point, you would have a gigabyte of data to move to the hard drive. If that drive can write at 50 MB/s, your machine would be completely unusable for 20 seconds!

But because swap starts copying memory contents to the hard drive long before your memory is filled, you can clear the memory for photoshop instantly and don't need to wait for 20 seconds, your backup was created in advance.

Hope that was clear enough .
very clear, and while i understand how swap works and all, i still have a fair amount of ins/outs there. the work that i am doing on my computer is becoming unusable - its almost unbearable!! need a faster computer haha.

laptops definately werent made for multitasking i can tell you that!
__________________
Official MacRumors IRC @ irc.krono.net #macrumors (Or http://kewlirc.net:9090/)
2012 2.5GHz Mac Mini Dual - 16GB RAM
Win8 PC - i5-3570k - 16GB RAM - SSD
DoFoT9 is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > Mac Basics and Help

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I reduce memory swap? jdadler iMac 8 Feb 3, 2014 10:53 AM
Memory Swap samleemc MacBook Pro 1 Dec 14, 2013 10:08 PM
mac pro's physical memory not being used -- 40+GB Swap Files.... any ideas? StaticMotions Mac OS X 10.7 Lion 2 Nov 7, 2013 04:56 PM
Can I swap memory? dubaimac iMac 2 Mar 29, 2013 11:52 AM
Virtual Memory Swap Page-in Page-out Question elberto1 MacBook Pro 5 Sep 10, 2012 08:21 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:07 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC