Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 4, 2009, 09:32 PM   #1
doctorbighands
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Help installing OS X on iBook G4

I have original install discs for OS X 10.1 and 10.3 (Panther). There is one 10.1 disc and three Panther discs. The Panther CD labeled "Disc 1" says "Upgrade Disc" on it. Does that mean I have to have another version of OS X installed in order to use it?

The 10.1 CD won't boot. I hold down option at boot, and it doesn't even show up.

The Panther CD 1 gets me as far as the dreaded circle-slash.

How on earth do I get OS X installed on this machine?

I managed to get Linux installed on this machine without a hitch. Why is it so much harder to install a _native_ operating system?

Any help you can offer will be appreciated. Thank you.

Frustrated,
-Nick
doctorbighands is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2009, 09:35 PM   #2
SkyBell
macrumors 603
 
SkyBell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by doctorbighands View Post
I have original install discs for OS X 10.1 and 10.3 (Panther). There is one 10.1 disc and three Panther discs. The Panther CD labeled "Disc 1" says "Upgrade Disc" on it. Does that mean I have to have another version of OS X installed in order to use it?

The 10.1 CD won't boot. I hold down option at boot, and it doesn't even show up.

The Panther CD 1 gets me as far as the dreaded circle-slash.

How on earth do I get OS X installed on this machine?

I managed to get Linux installed on this machine without a hitch. Why is it so much harder to install a _native_ operating system?

Any help you can offer will be appreciated. Thank you.

Frustrated,
-Nick
Well, it won't load 10.1 because, IIRC, it originally came with 10.3. And you can't load 10.3 because those are just upgrade discs.
__________________
MR's PowerPC Fangirl
eMac 1.42 GHz G4 - 10.4.11
iBook G4, iBook G3 (x2) iMac G3 (x2, Gone )
Black MacBook C2D 2.2 GHz - 10.6.8 / Windows 7
SkyBell is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2009, 09:47 PM   #3
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cassie View Post
Well, it won't load 10.1 because, IIRC, it originally came with 10.3. And you can't load 10.3 because those are just upgrade discs.
There is a way to make a regular install disc from an upgrade disc. First you need to create a copy of the 1st 10.3 install disc onto your computer. Once you've done that you need to delete the file that checks for a previous install on the iBook. Once you've done this, re-burn a copy onto a CD and bingo! You have a real install disc. I've done this with 10.3 upgrade CDs. To find this file, do the following:
Open the CD and open the System>Installation>Packages>Essentials.pkg (right click, select "Show Package Contents" >Contents>Resources> and then delete the file called "CheckForOSX.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.16, Dual 2.0 G5, Dual 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2009, 10:12 PM   #4
doctorbighands
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hrududu View Post
There is a way to make a regular install disc from an upgrade disc. First you need to create a copy of the 1st 10.3 install disc onto your computer. Once you've done that you need to delete the file that checks for a previous install on the iBook. Once you've done this, re-burn a copy onto a CD and bingo! You have a real install disc. I've done this with 10.3 upgrade CDs. To find this file, do the following:
Open the CD and open the System>Installation>Packages>Essentials.pkg (right click, select "Show Package Contents" >Contents>Resources> and then delete the file called "CheckForOSX.
This sounds wonderful. The only problem is that I only have access to Windows and Linux machines; I've just tried to view the disc contents on both, and neither one will show the contents. ARGH!!

If only I had access to a functional Mac, I could do this. I guess I'm going to have to wait.

Thank you, though, for the tip. I do really appreciate it.
doctorbighands is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 5, 2009, 05:38 PM   #5
Hrududu
macrumors 68000
 
Hrududu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Wichita KS
If you have an OS 9 computer, you can access the files in 9 too. Good luck with everything.
__________________
Quad 2.5 G5, MBP 2.16, Dual 2.0 G5, Dual 1.42 MDD, 17 PowerBook 1.67, 12" PowerBook 1.5, TiBooks 867 & 667, iMac G3 500, Cubes 500 & 450, B&W G3 450 & 350, iBook 300's & 366, Beige G3 350, PDQ G3 233
Hrududu is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 8, 2009, 11:38 PM   #6
doctorbighands
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Okay, so I finally got my hands on a full retail version of Panther. I was excited, thinking I could FINALLY get OS X installed on this blasted machine. I inserted the disc 1, let it try to boot, and...

...circle slash.

What is the deal here? Any help is very much appreciated.
doctorbighands is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2009, 12:12 AM   #7
kryptonianjorel
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Hmm, does the CD spin up at all? I'm leaning towards there being a problem with your CD drive. Try holding Option when you turn it on, and see if the computer can see that you have a CD in.

circle-slash typically means that a boot/system file cannot be found. Shouldn't be a problem because they are on the install CD, but if it's only looking at the HD, the of course it will circle-slash
__________________
MBP 15.4/2.66/2x2GB/320/SD/GLSY
Mini 1.66CD/1GB/80GB/SD/GMA950/AP/BT
iPod Touch 2nd Gen, 16 GB, OS 3.0
iPod 5th Gen, 60 GB

Last edited by kryptonianjorel; Aug 9, 2009 at 12:14 AM. Reason: adding
kryptonianjorel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2009, 12:15 AM   #8
doctorbighands
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
I know there's nothing wrong with the optical drive, because I used it to install Linux.

The disc spins up when I press and hold C (or when I hold Option and select the disc), I see the apple logo, then I see the circle-slash.
doctorbighands is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2009, 12:28 AM   #9
kryptonianjorel
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Ok, I was doing some searching on your problem. Someone suggested resetting the NVRAM. when you boot hold apple-option-p-r and wait for everything to start. let go of the keys after the 3rd chime
__________________
MBP 15.4/2.66/2x2GB/320/SD/GLSY
Mini 1.66CD/1GB/80GB/SD/GMA950/AP/BT
iPod Touch 2nd Gen, 16 GB, OS 3.0
iPod 5th Gen, 60 GB
kryptonianjorel is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2009, 12:53 AM   #10
doctorbighands
Thread Starter
macrumors newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by kryptonianjorel View Post
Ok, I was doing some searching on your problem. Someone suggested resetting the NVRAM. when you boot hold apple-option-p-r and wait for everything to start. let go of the keys after the 3rd chime
Hmm...I tried this, and I still get the circle-slash. Thank you for the suggestion, though!
doctorbighands is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Aug 9, 2009, 01:11 AM   #11
kryptonianjorel
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Well my friend, I am out of feasible ideas. The only things i can think to do now are:

1. Use another mac to install 10.3 to a firewire drive and try to boot it with that
2. Download a copy of 10.3 or 10.4 and see if you have the same problem (for testing purposes only!!)
3. Replace the logic board

Of course, if you want to waste the time you can go to an Apple Store and see what they think
__________________
MBP 15.4/2.66/2x2GB/320/SD/GLSY
Mini 1.66CD/1GB/80GB/SD/GMA950/AP/BT
iPod Touch 2nd Gen, 16 GB, OS 3.0
iPod 5th Gen, 60 GB
kryptonianjorel is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Systems and Services > OS X

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ibook g4 not booting, HELP!!!!!! serithg PowerPC Macs 5 Oct 6, 2011 06:05 AM
Which External DVD Drive to Install Operation System on iBook G4? vja4Him PowerPC Macs 2 Mar 19, 2010 09:43 PM
problems installing tiger software on ibook G4 staceyk OS X 1 Nov 2, 2008 02:06 PM
Help install OS X on a PoweMac G4 AaronE PowerPC Macs 7 Nov 1, 2008 09:31 AM
installing OS X on a g4 jvaska Mac Help/Tips 5 May 27, 2002 04:47 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC