Register FAQ / Rules Forum Spy Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read
Go Back   MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 6, 2009, 08:17 PM   #1
groovdudeyo
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Power mac g4

is this thing any good my grandpa just got it from his old office and its never been opened its missing the power cord but it looks like i could use a different one that fits is this safe? how long does it take to install all the stuff it looks like it has TWENTY MILLION DISKS. thanks
__________________
You keep on using that word, I do not think it means what you think it means.
groovdudeyo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 11:28 AM   #2
groovdudeyo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Okay maybe I should be a little more clear I want to know if I have to buy specific power cord or can I just use one that fits. It appears that it uses the same power cord that most pcs use (this is my first mac). Also is this gonna be a really suckish computer by todays standards I dont have the power cord so of course I cant use it yet. It is the 2003 model I think and costed $10000 at the time so im hoping its pretty pimped out still. And if I were to try to sell it how much could I get (range). I might say its got a ghost attached or something
__________________
You keep on using that word, I do not think it means what you think it means.
groovdudeyo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 11:41 AM   #3
SmurfBoxMasta
macrumors 65816
 
SmurfBoxMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: If you come into the forest really late at night, I might tell you...or nOt :)
 
A standard peecee power cord will work. Once you get it booted up, look for the little apple in the top left corner of the screen and click on "about this mac". There you can get some basic specs on the machine such as cpu, ram and OS version......

then click on the "more info" button, which will open the System Profiler and there you can get detailed info on all system components, hardware ect.......

then post back with the details and we can tell you whazzuppppwitdamachine
__________________
Please don't judge me...I was created to be AWESOME, not perfect
SmurfBoxMasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 11:43 AM   #4
GGGUUUYYY
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Does it have a mirror drive door?
GGGUUUYYY is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 11:43 AM   #5
Shake 'n' Bake
macrumors 68020
 
Shake 'n' Bake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany
Yes you can use any cord that fits. The ones from Apple look really cool though.

We could better appraise your PM if you booted it up (it has all those discs installed).

Follow the setup instructions and log in.

Then click on the Apple icon (that's the Apple Menu) and click "About this Mac".

Tell us what it says.

Hope I can help!
__________________
Mid-'07 2 GHz Mac mini (10.6.6), Dell Studio 540 C2Q (W7), Samsung N130 (Natty), Dimension 4300s inside a 4400 case (Natty)
Check out my blog!
Shake 'n' Bake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 11:46 AM   #6
groovdudeyo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
well since it should be a couple hours before i can boot it up just tell me are power mac g4s ever suckish? also can it run leopard or whatever?
__________________
You keep on using that word, I do not think it means what you think it means.
groovdudeyo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 11:50 AM   #7
SmurfBoxMasta
macrumors 65816
 
SmurfBoxMasta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: If you come into the forest really late at night, I might tell you...or nOt :)
 
If it is indeed a 2003 model, then it should be an early Mirrored Drive Door (MDD) model (there were several released that year) any of which are perfectly capable of running leopard, if it has sufficient ram, hdd space, and video card...........

Depending on what you wanna use it for, it will NOT be suckish at all
__________________
Please don't judge me...I was created to be AWESOME, not perfect
SmurfBoxMasta is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 12:01 PM   #8
Shake 'n' Bake
macrumors 68020
 
Shake 'n' Bake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany
The Power Mac G4 will work super well. Before I got my mac mini, I was looking for a dual 1 GHz G4. That'll run Leopard just fine.

They're some of the best looking computers ever too.
__________________
Mid-'07 2 GHz Mac mini (10.6.6), Dell Studio 540 C2Q (W7), Samsung N130 (Natty), Dimension 4300s inside a 4400 case (Natty)
Check out my blog!
Shake 'n' Bake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 12:04 PM   #9
groovdudeyo
Thread Starter
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shake 'n' Bake View Post
The Power Mac G4 will work super well. Before I got my mac mini, I was looking for a dual 1 GHz G4. That'll run Leopard just fine.

They're some of the best looking computers ever too.
It does look pretty cool and i guess i must have the 2002 model then cuz no mirror door thingy.
__________________
You keep on using that word, I do not think it means what you think it means.
groovdudeyo is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 12:12 PM   #10
Shake 'n' Bake
macrumors 68020
 
Shake 'n' Bake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany
This (http://support.apple.com/kb/HT3082?viewlocale=en_US) and this (http://support.apple.com/kb/TA25585?viewlocale=en_US) will help you figure out which PM you have. Look for similarities between the computer and the pictures.

Let us know what you have when you find out!

PS: The model # would be the easiest thing to use. It is a sticker on the back somewhere.
__________________
Mid-'07 2 GHz Mac mini (10.6.6), Dell Studio 540 C2Q (W7), Samsung N130 (Natty), Dimension 4300s inside a 4400 case (Natty)
Check out my blog!

Last edited by Shake 'n' Bake; Apr 7, 2009 at 12:39 PM.
Shake 'n' Bake is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 12:27 PM   #11
kindablue09
macrumors regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Only downside is that it cannot run certain games that require intel (if thats what you planned on pimpin it out for)
__________________
I can ride my bike with no handle bars
kindablue09 is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 7, 2009, 12:32 PM   #12
Shake 'n' Bake
macrumors 68020
 
Shake 'n' Bake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Albany
Quote:
Originally Posted by kindablue09 View Post
Only downside is that it cannot run certain games that require intel (if thats what you planned on pimpin it out for)
Other than that, there's really nothing you can't do on a G4. It is amazing how the Apple hardware lasts so much longer then PC hardware.

It holds its value much longer as well. I've got one of the original iMacs and I wonder what that will be worth in 10 years...
__________________
Mid-'07 2 GHz Mac mini (10.6.6), Dell Studio 540 C2Q (W7), Samsung N130 (Natty), Dimension 4300s inside a 4400 case (Natty)
Check out my blog!
Shake 'n' Bake is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > Apple Hardware > PowerPC Macs

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Original Power Mac G4 Power Cable ChrisFerri Apple Collectors 21 Jul 5, 2014 11:41 AM
Power Mac G5 power issues - Red lights on CPUs gavinstubbs09 PowerPC Macs 10 Mar 23, 2014 05:34 PM
Blinking power LED on Power Mac G5 honam1021 PowerPC Macs 27 Jun 29, 2013 03:47 AM
Power Mac G3 doesn't power up at all JCLrox PowerPC Macs 3 Nov 19, 2012 07:34 PM
Power Mac G5 2.3 Ghz Wont Power On hectbp PowerPC Macs 15 Jun 28, 2012 03:57 PM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC