Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

collegeisamovie

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 7, 2009
When I look at "About This Mac" it says that I have a 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo. I originally had two 1GB sticks. When I installed two 2GB RAM sticks, it wouldn't boot. Just for fun, I tried putting one 2GB and one 1GB stick inside, and it boots fine.

crucial.com says that I can have up to 4GB: http://www.crucial.com/uk/store/listparts.aspx?model=iMac 2.4GHz Intel Core 2 Duo (20-inch - 667MHz)

But the guides say that it depends on if I have Merom w/ Santa Rosa chipset or not:
http://guides.macrumors.com/Understanding_Intel_Mac_RAM

But I read somewhere else that even if I install two 2GB sticks that it will just ignore the power of the second one and default to 3GB.

Any help anyone can provide would be great. I'm fairly new at this sort of thing.

DoFoT9

macrumors P6
Jun 11, 2007
London, United Kingdom
can you please provide some more information about your computer!!

we cant work with "2.4GHz Core 2 Duo". we need more, what type of CPU is it? what is the FSB of the machine?? etcetcetc

collegeisamovie

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 7, 2009
@BlueRevolution—I will try that now and let you know.

Here's my hardware overview:

2b1b18c059638a374159546455d2ed48.png

collegeisamovie

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 7, 2009
I tried swapping out one of the 2GB sticks for the other. They both work with the other slot being occupied with a 1GB stick. I'm going to try one more time to place both 2GB sticks in. I'll be back in a minute to let you know what happens.

Thanks guys.

Cave Man

macrumors 604
ut I read somewhere else that even if I install two 2GB sticks that it will just ignore the power of the second one and default to 3GB.