Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Iiwii

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 7, 2008
ok so this might sound like a silly question, but im not really good with hardware stuff, would a g4powerbook be way better than a netbook, im assuming yes, but the thing that confuses me is that netbooks have a 1.6ghz intel atom processor and around 1-2gb ram, and this g4 12" laptop i want to pick up is 1.5ghz and 512mb ram, lets say if i wanted to run itunes or ableton line just to mess around??
i only want it to goof off a bit in ableton live and listen to music in itunes, maybe watch some movies, prefer hd rips ;-p
would either of them be able to do that, and if so which would be better
i know netbooks use windows, but i saw somewhere you can install mac os, and thats what i would do, if the netbook is more powerful, thanks
and sorry for the silly noob question ;-o

SkyBell

macrumors 604
Sep 7, 2006
Texas, unfortunately.
ok so this might sound like a silly question, but im not really good with hardware stuff, would a g4powerbook be way better than a netbook, im assuming yes, but the thing that confuses me is that netbooks have a 1.6ghz intel atom processor and around 1-2gb ram, and this g4 12" laptop i want to pick up is 1.5ghz and 512mb ram, lets say if i wanted to run itunes or ableton line just to mess around??
i only want it to goof off a bit in ableton live and listen to music in itunes, maybe watch some movies, prefer hd rips ;-p
would either of them be able to do that, and if so which would be better
i know netbooks use windows, but i saw somewhere you can install mac os, and thats what i would do, if the netbook is more powerful, thanks
and sorry for the silly noob question ;-o

If you want an optical drive and a half decent graphics card, you should probably get the PowerBook. But I don't know how they compare to netbooks with HD video.

63dot

macrumors 603
Jun 12, 2006
norcal