Go Back   MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old Apr 11, 2009, 02:09 PM   #1
MatchFrame
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Safely re-import at higher quality without losing track/album data?

I believe I want to re-import my entire library as Apple Lossless, but I want to make sure that I won't lose album art, track info, tags, etc?

I spent an absurd amount of time organizing and completing all the data in the library. If I re-import, will it save all this data or will I lose some or all of it?
__________________
2008 2.8 GHz Mac Pro, 10 GB RAM, HD 4870, 500GB Boot, 3.0TB Scratch, Intensity Pro; Dell 2408WFP Monitor; Edirol MA-15D Speakers
iPod Touch 8GB
MatchFrame is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 11, 2009, 02:37 PM   #2
Cynicalone
macrumors 68040
 
Cynicalone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Okie land
Sadly you will lose some track info,play counts etc. Since I assume you did change a few track names after importing? iTunes won't know what tracks to replace and will only replace the matching track's. You'll end up with some duplicates to clean out.

When I redid my library I went one disk at a time and cleaned up any mistakes as I went. It took some time but now all my CD's are reimported in lossless quality.
Cynicalone is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2009, 03:26 PM   #3
MatchFrame
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cynicalone View Post
Sadly you will lose some track info,play counts etc. Since I assume you did change a few track names after importing? iTunes won't know what tracks to replace and will only replace the matching track's. You'll end up with some duplicates to clean out.

When I redid my library I went one disk at a time and cleaned up any mistakes as I went. It took some time but now all my CD's are reimported in lossless quality.
The killer for me would be losing the album art. I'll probably try it with a few albums, and see what the hassle will be.

I think you have the right idea. Do it slowly over time and fix as you go. That's probably what I'll end up doing. Thanks!
__________________
2008 2.8 GHz Mac Pro, 10 GB RAM, HD 4870, 500GB Boot, 3.0TB Scratch, Intensity Pro; Dell 2408WFP Monitor; Edirol MA-15D Speakers
iPod Touch 8GB
MatchFrame is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 12, 2009, 10:35 PM   #4
ReggaeFire
macrumors 6502
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
I'm doing the same thing, what you need to do is make sure certain fields are the same before you re-import the CD, which will then prompt iTunes to ask if you want to replace an item which already exists. The key metadata points for this this seem to be track name, album name, track number, disc number. When you choose to replace it will embed all the metadata that exists in the track you are replacing. I run a script from Doug's itunes script site called "Copy Tag info Tracks to Tracks" and select everything in my AAC file, and copy it to the CD before I import (obviously it won't copy all the ID3 tags to the CD, but this ensures that the needed info corresponds). That being said, I still have on occasion the need to fix track numbers before the import. If you don't get the replace warning, then it's not going to copy over your existing data, instead just make a another copy of the same song in your iTunes.
ReggaeFire is offline   0 Reply With Quote
Old Apr 13, 2009, 12:26 AM   #5
MatchFrame
Thread Starter
macrumors member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Dallas, TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReggaeFire View Post
I'm doing the same thing, what you need to do is make sure certain fields are the same before you re-import the CD, which will then prompt iTunes to ask if you want to replace an item which already exists. The key metadata points for this this seem to be track name, album name, track number, disc number. When you choose to replace it will embed all the metadata that exists in the track you are replacing. I run a script from Doug's itunes script site called "Copy Tag info Tracks to Tracks" and select everything in my AAC file, and copy it to the CD before I import (obviously it won't copy all the ID3 tags to the CD, but this ensures that the needed info corresponds). That being said, I still have on occasion the need to fix track numbers before the import. If you don't get the replace warning, then it's not going to copy over your existing data, instead just make a another copy of the same song in your iTunes.
Thank you! That is exactly the info I needed to prepare for this process. I'm hoping it goes pretty easy.
__________________
2008 2.8 GHz Mac Pro, 10 GB RAM, HD 4870, 500GB Boot, 3.0TB Scratch, Intensity Pro; Dell 2408WFP Monitor; Edirol MA-15D Speakers
iPod Touch 8GB
MatchFrame is offline   0 Reply With Quote

Reply
MacRumors Forums > iPhone, iPod and iPad > iPod

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Similar Threads
thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
iPhone: How to safely update to iOS 7.0.4 from 5.1.1 without losing anything ? rak007 iOS 7 6 Oct 9, 2014 03:08 PM
Last track of album playing into first track of next album in iOS 7 Beta 4? omgwut iOS 7 3 Sep 23, 2013 06:28 AM
iPhone 3Gs - Can i safely update without losing unlock iMechanic iPhone Tips, Help and Troubleshooting 6 Dec 10, 2012 08:42 AM
Next iPhone to Have Thinner, Higher Quality Screen MacRumors MacRumors.com News Discussion 214 Jul 23, 2012 10:54 AM

Forum Jump

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:02 PM.

Mac Rumors | Mac | iPhone | iPhone Game Reviews | iPhone Apps

Mobile Version | Fixed | Fluid | Fluid HD
Copyright 2002-2013, MacRumors.com, LLC